Modus Operandi

35 37
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago

On this beautiful planet of ours, there are so many people who will take advantage of others' weaknesses. We may call them scammers, con artists, or just plain thick-skinned people.

Yesterday, I went to my favorite bakery to buy freshly baked bread. They have many buyers because, no doubt, their bread are so good and also cheap. When I arrived, there was already a long queue of customers, and the three sellers were busy accommodating each customer. Then when my turn came, one seller asked what I wanted, and I told her this and that. And so while I was waiting for her, there was a middle-aged woman beside me buying two round cakes, and the other seller was accommodating. She was busy talking to the other woman, and she also talked a lot to the seller, asking prices for different breads and cakes. When I was about to pay, the other seller handed the two round cakes to the middle-aged woman, and she fled away. The seller was asking the other seller if that woman had given her payment for the cake that she had bought, and the other seller said she had not received any. So she chased the woman, but she already rode a tricycle. The seller was so pissed off that she talked to the other sellers about it. And worrisome can be seen on their faces because, obviously, they are going to pay for it.

I know the feeling. I have been played by thick-skinned people before, and not just once, but many times over.

--

I was 18 years old when I decided to live solo. So, with enough money in my pocket and a bag in my hand, I went out of my comfort zone and explored the dangerous world. Did I just sound so dramatic? CHAIZZ! The first job that I got was as a service crew in a Burger Machine store. Since it was my first job, I was full of enthusiasm and very friendly to my customers. I am on the graveyard shift, so my work starts from 6 p.m. until 6 a.m. I have no problem dealing with many customers at the same time because I am used to it. We always have this "Buy 1 Take 1 Promo", so we always expect many customers. That was when I experienced being bilked.

Photo Source

The Palit Pera Modus is

It was a fine evening, and I had so many customers at that time because of our promo. I think I was accommodating seven people with a minimum of three to four orders, so just imagine how busy I was. Then there is this man. He asked if he could exchange his paper bill for a small bill because he needed to pay for something. While I was busy flipping the burgers, he kept on insisting if he could and it was an emergency, so I stopped what I was doing and got his 500 pesos and changed them to small bills of the same value. Then I went back to cooking and he said that the money that I gave him was short of 100 pesos. I don't know what got into me, but I handed him another 100 pesos and then he left. Before I realized that I was being bamboozled, the man took off with my 100 pesos. Then the customers who were there at the time told me to not entertain those kinds of people again and to be more vigilant about those kinds of people.

The ATM

One night, I had a customer. She looks kind and decent by the way she is dressed. It was not a busy night for me, for I had her for a customer only. She ordered five burgers with drinks. And while I was cooking her orders, she was asking about personal stuff like, "Is it hard to work in a place like this?" because, according to her, she hadn't worked yet because her parents were well off and gave everything to her, things like that.The chit-chat continued until I was finally done with her orders, and when she was about to pay, she said that she had no bills in her wallet because she had forgotten to ask for money from her parents. But she had an ATM on her. She told me that she'd leave the atm for me while she headed back home and asked for money. The atm will be left as collateral for what she has bought. And I said, "YES!"

Hey, people, don't judge me. I was so naive at that time and didn't know how ATMs worked, hahaha! Okay, I admit it. I was so stupid at that time. I don't know where my brain was at that time, I think I left it at home, hhahaha!

A friend betrayed me. 

This is the most heartbreaking thing for me. While I was working at the said store, I met different people and made friends with them. One of them is an old street sweeper lady. She was sweet, kind, and friendly. She reminded me of my lola, so we always talked when we had a chance. She said that she was still working despite her age for her husband, who was very ill. We became friends, and I really treated her as my lola because I was away from home. Then this happened. One night, I was out of bread and needed to buy it at the convenience store just a few meters away from our store. Manang was there, and so I told her to look around the store for me for a while because I needed to buy something. I had a big red purse and left it at the table. After I bought the bread, I hurriedly went back to the store, where I saw Manang, hopping on a jeep with urgency, and she had my big red purse in her hand. Before I could even run after her, the jeepney was already far away.

I was surprised and hurt by her actions. I trusted her, but she betrayed me. In that purse was my allowance for two weeks and my monthly room payment for a month. She never returns to the place where she usually works. Of course, who would, right? I just told myself that maybe she really needed money for her husband.

--

Date Published: February 25, 2022

Lead Image from Google

 

 

19
$ 9.52
$ 9.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago

Comments

Grabe ang sakit sa dibdib nung sa last part ate. Kaya ang hirap na magtiwala sa mga tao talaga huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo beh, lalo na at pinagkatiwalaan ko sta talaga at di tinuring na iba..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi mo sinubukan ireklamo si manang ate? Kaya di ako nagtitiwala basta-basta e, nawalan nako ng 1900 nung g10 na ibabayad ko sana sa school dahil s aganyang bagay rin kaasar

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko na sya nakita sa pwesto na nililinis nya lage eh, sabi nun kasama nya eh sa iba na daw napwesto kaya hinayaan ko na lang. Inisip ko na lang n baka need nya talaga ang pera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambait mo teh 😭 sana nireklamo mo huhu baka gawin nya ulit yun sa iba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tingin ko eh di naman sya talaga ganun beh, kasi tagal din kami na lge nagkakausap eh. Or baka talaga naalapit lang sya sa akin kasi nga naalala ko sa kanya ung lola ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap rin isipin ate kasi medyo malapit sayo e, madaming reason pero sana nga kinailangan nya lang kaya nya nagawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo beh kaya pinagpasa Diyos ko na lang din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe makaninja moves. Jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku ang hirap kapag aanga anga sis, hahahaha.. Madali ka madali ng ninja moves😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, nagkalat talaga mga ganitong tao eh. Kakilala man or hindi, kaya dapat mas maging aware and observant pa tayo. Nakakainis man pero we can't do anything about them to change kasi sila makakagawa 'nun mismo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama ka beh and let the karma do the ganti for us..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit gaano kahirap ang buhay, hindi dapat ginagawang option ang pananamantala sa iba para lang matustusan ang sariling pangangailangan. Marami na po pala kayong naexperience na ganyan and alam ko na that served you a lesson po in life. Karma will hunt them down in the perfect time, they just need to wait for it to happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka kaso may mga tao talaga na ayaw lumaban ng patas sa buhay kaya karma na bahala sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Infairness madam masarap ang burger sa burger machine:) dami manloloko around the globe tlga:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naexperience ko na din Yan mommy nung nagwowork ako sa bentahan ng cellphone. Yung pinakamahal pa nadali nya. Ang galing nil e lilibangin ka talaga. Ayun ako nagbayad nun. Mga 4600 haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Baka nalimutan lang ung sa nauna madams ganyan ako minsan kala ko naiabot ko na ung bayad di os pala. Like nong nakaraang taon lang ahahahs, buti di namilit ung nagtitinda kasi ang alam ko talaga naabot ko na. At ito pa ha, nong inabot nya ung sukli na kala ko ay akin ako ang kumuha, kasi sa isip ko nabigay ko na talaga. Tapos OMG pag uwi sa bahay nasa bulsa ko ung 100 🙂🙂 ang hiya ko pramis ahahaha. Nong kinahapunan bumalik ako sa palengke tas binigay ko ung 100 🤧🤧 tas sabi ko lang kala ko pi kasi naibigay ko na ung bayad. And hiya ko talaga sa sarili ko aguyyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been swindled multiple times myself and it really hurts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my, so sorry for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far hindi pa naman ako naloko sis maliban sa mga nangutang na hindi nagbayad😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay mas msakit yun sis hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa online shopping app at sa relasyon ko pa lang po nararanasan maloko ate. Ang hirap na nga humanap ng pera pero may iilan paring nasisikmurang manloko para lang magkapera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako eh di pa naranasan maloko sa onlne shopinh sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friend's betrayal hurts much. I feel that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it will make you question yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami tlga mga opportunist at manloloko... Kya dapat jhndi magpakita na naive or innocent tyo.. Kc yun puntirya nla lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, mukha pa naman kasi akong anga anga noon hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sama po ng mga taong nag nang loloko sa mga tao. Di nila iniisip yung lolokohin nila at iniisip lang nila sarili nila. But maybe, mayroon naman silang reason pero masama padin naman iyong magloko sa mga tao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, whatever reason they have it will not justify their wrongdoings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganyang tao talaga sis,gusto nila yung madaliang pera n hindi iniisip na pinaghirapan ng iba ,kahit saan may mga ganyan talaga ,nakaka sad isipin na may mga taong ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh tapos minsan pinagkatiwalaan mo eh gaganunin ka pa. Kaya ipagpasa Diyos n lang at bahala na ang karma sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes people are just tempted to do actions that is immoral since they don't think any solution for the problems they have specially in financial matters however its still wrong since the money that was stolen was also needed by the owner. That's the reason why I didn't take my hand on my wallet or any money so that I can assure its safe. There are lots of scammers put there some of them are good at word manipulation that didn't know we already fall for their modus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree as if you are being hypnotized and follow everything they tell you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People nowadays are very selfish they only think about themselves just like the women who didn't pay the bill for 2 round cake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I feel sad to the three seller because it will be deducted to their salary..

$ 0.00
2 years ago