Me, Myself, and My Flaws

50 55

Nobody's perfect.

The beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Does it ring a bell? Well, these are the words I often told myself everytime people would mock me because I am not pretty. I grew up full of insecurities.

I have 2 more siblings. I am the eldest and among us three, I would say that I am the ugly one. That's how other people made me feel of my self, that I am ugly. Unlike my sisters, I have dark complexion. And it is one of my flaws.

Dark Complexion

From Giphy App

I was often called "negra" and "aeta" because of the color of my skin. My classmates and even my playmates would make fun of me because of having a dark skin. There was an instance that one of my classmate in elementary told me that I don't belong in the city and I should have stayed in the mountains where people like me lives. I cried while most of my classmates were laughing. I was bullied, laughed at, because of my color. Even inside our house, my relatives would teased me that I am just adopted.

Flat Nose

From the time I was little, I knew that my nose is not beautiful. I have a flat nose. A typical Asian nose.

I remember one time, my mother went to her friend's house and she tagged me along. Her friend told me, "You know what Ne, you're actually not a bad looking girl, but you have a flat nose. Why don't you start pinching the bridge and tip of your nose, it might change because you're still young. "

I was only 8 at that time but I feel so offended. But yes, I followed what she told me. I started pinching my nose and even use clothespin and clip my nose with it. Because of that, my nose turns bloody red and swell. Then my mother asked me what did I do, so I told her that I pinched my nose using clothespin. She hugged me and told me to stop doing it. That I am pretty even if I have a flat nose. And then I cried.

"Pandak" or Midget and Fat

My height is 5" while my sisters were 5"3 and 5"6 and they're both skinny and faired skin. I don't know where I got my features but one thing is for sure, I am not blessed with good features.

That is the reason why I am so obssesed with high heels before. Because it somehow added to my height and I look slimmer when I wear those. I can wear a 7 inches high heels, may it be a slipper, rubber shoes or stilletos.

But one incident made me stop wearing it. I went to a mall with friends. And when it's time for us to go home I tripped off in the stairs because of my high heeled shoes. And how humiliating was that. After that incident, I never dared wearing high heeled shoes again.

I was in my twenties when I started to become more accepting of how I looked. I became more confident and didn't care what others have to say about me. They have nothing to do with my life anyway so why would I care.

If I may have to borrow Cristina Aguillera's song,

I am beautiful

No matter what they say

Words can't bring me down.

I am beautiful

In every single way

No words can't bring me down.

We are all beautiful, regardless of the color of our skin, the shape of our nose, height weight, bust size. We have to embrace our flaws and learn to love ourself. And thats all that matters.

--

This is my entry to @Theblackdoll 's writing prompt Insecurities.

Date Published: December 21, 2021

All Photos are mine unless stated otherwise

22
$ 8.77
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 14
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This may sound like the craziest thing, but I think you are an absolutely, remarkably beautiful woman, and you have NOTHING to be concerned about. Not from where I am sitting. If I were younger, and a single man, you would most definitely have been on my radar. 😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh, you made my heart skip a beat for a while, lol! Thank you Porwest...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can understand your pain, Ma'am. I was called many names when I was in school because of my long jaw. Long and big faces are always considered unattractive everywhere for some reason.

But eventually, as the people around me became more mature they started to realise their mistakes and apologised. The important thing is to love yourself no matter what other people say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's the key, accept and live yourself.

Nice to see you here Solumvis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have our own beauty hayaan muna sila Kung Ampang tingin sayo Pero may kasabihan nga tayo Kung pangit man ako saying paninginmas pangit kasakin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHHAHA, hayerp! But true ha, apir tqyo jan😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Liwat kaayo si Crizaah sa imo madam. You two look alike sa last photo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di jud na sya magsugot madam na liwat sya sa akua, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Ngano man? You two look alike jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda daw sya sa akin madams hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have our own beauty po and not all may not appreciate us but it's not our problem, it's their problem. hehe. atleast we appreciate ourselves and that's the most important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Jher. Tama ka we should appreciate our beauty so that others will see it too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all beautiful in our own way. And, di lang kasi hitsura ang basehan para masahi na maganda, good thing madams you learn to accept yourself na. Pero you know ang easy lang magsabi ma wag mainsecure blablablabla pero sa sarili ang hirap lang eapply. Ewan ko ba, hirap ako eapply sarili ko ee tsk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek madam, madali lang sabihin pero it takes a lot of courage bago magawa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right. This is you. No matter what happens, never underestimate your own existence & personality. Have faith. Well said, sweety

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Mr. Devil... I know that now..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all beautiful ate, we all have flaws in life and we must embrace it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup beh, we have to love ourself din..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish all our troubles were that easy, everyone has different features and everyone is beautiful in their own way and beauty is a relative thing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have overcome all of it but surrounding myself with people who accept me regardless of my looks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great and must have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfect nung song. Tama naman lahat tayo beautiful in our own way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yu, we just have to realize that. Naalala ko tuloy yung post mo sa noise about dun sa beauty magazine. Tayo lang din naman kasi ang naglilabel ng sarili natin ng panget or maganda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kids can be so cruel to each other. I’m sorry to hear you were bullied so much. I love people with dark complexion. When I was a teenager in Poland, all other girls would go to sun beds to make their skin tanned and I couldn’t afford it, so first days on the beach people would laugh at my super white skin. Now I laugh thinking about it.

I’m 5’3 and I also remember wearing high heels. Not anymore. Just can’t be bothered 😉

You’re beautiful just the way you are and I’m happy you realise it now 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess we are all not contented by how we look. Like you white people like your skin to be tanned while us who are dark skinned would do anything to have a fair skin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beauty is the beauty of hearts It's great to see you here my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hi thanks Angel..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree sis, as I used to be insecure with my nose too. Ang pango din kasi. To the point hindi ako ngumingiti kasi feeling ko nalapad lalo ilong ko😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, jusko. Ganyan din ako sis..

Btw, buti nakaasok ka na sa read, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter what anyone says, you'd always be beautiful and perfect the way you are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Kristoff.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all beautiful on our ways ate. Grabe ka ate sa sarili mo dati, ang ganda mo po kaya. 🤗 I somehow can relate to you po hehe. Minsan naiisip ko bat ang liit ko hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa amin kasi magkakapatid eh ako talaga napagiiwanan ng itsura hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me you are beautiful and that's the truth. " What they think about you doesn't matter, the most important thing is how you feel about yourself". Never allow any one to hurt you or reduce your self esteem because of their inconsequential opinions about you. You are beautifully and wonderfully made and that's the truth. Hell! I have seen girls who look far worse but they are always admired by other girls and guys inclusive because of the way they carry and present themselves. Pls sister, You are all that you have got, never compromise yourself!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, these words really sinked in and made me emotional somehow. Thank you so much. I now know my worth and i am beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

☺☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ka sa self mo te.. Pro honestly. Saming girls ako pinakapangit 🤣🤣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko pangit ka pa nyan lagay na yan Jane😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad finally you knew your true worth and decided to be confident for what you are.This is what we all need to understand. You are beautiful my dear, let others say what they are saying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Sis, it took a while before I realized that I am beautiful..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really in the schools where they always start instilling low self-esteem in us. I was also chubby but no one ever offended me for that. But I didn't comb my hair and that really bothered them. But I was so rebellious that I didn't care. If that's your picture let me tell you that I wish all ugly people looked like you. Lol. Cultivating our inner beauty is what makes us beautiful. A hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish these words were mine 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis. I didn't see my beauty before. I have low self esteem and almost isoltae myself but I found people, friends who accept me no matter how I look and they did not treat me like I am not pretty..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try to always have a good heart and you will see how you will always be beautiful in the eyes of the Father.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reminding me sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same mommy. Pango din ako at Yun tlga pinaka naging insecurities ko. Ang sakit sakit ng sinasabi nila sakin dati kesyo ilong daw ng baboy nung hs ako . Pero habang tumatanda ako nawala nadin Lalo nung nagkajowa ako 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Tama, iniisip ko noon eh, ako may jowa, kayo wala, sino ngayon ang pangit sa atin, hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ai tro hhhha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

You are beautiful. My friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Nadeen..

$ 0.00
2 years ago