Fuego!

24 44

Have you been in an incident that involves fire?

We have a phrase here in the Philippines that goes like this,

Di bale ng manakawan, huwag lang masunugan.

It means that it is better to get robbed than to get your house on fire. And yes, it has a point because when you are robbed, some things will remain in you but when you're house is caught on fire, it will burn out everything, your life included in the worst-case scenario.

I have been in an incident that our house was almost on fire. The first incident happened 12 years ago, in our old house far from the city. Our house was made of bamboo. And it was surrounded by shrubs and tall grass. Typical house in the provinces.

It was summer when the incident happened. The weather was hot so there were many dried leaves in our front yard. Also, the shrubs and tall grass in the next lot were all dried up because of the heat.

I swept all the dried leaves and lit them. And because it was windy that day, the fire scattered to the dried shrubs in the next lot. Until it was burning out all the grass in the lot. I was so frightened at the sight of it. It felt like I was in hell. I was shouting, asking for help to put out the fire. I was so afraid that my house will get on fire too.

Good thing there was ongoing construction nearby and all of the workers helped me put out the fire. I was so relieved to see that the fire is gone. The aftermath of it was, the next lot was cleaned. No grass or shrubs can be seen. One of my neighbors told me, "Pasalamat na lang ng may-ari sayo Lyn kasi di na nya kailangan magpalinis ng lugar nya, linis na linis na eh." Then they all laughed. I also laughed with them but deep inside me I was shrieking because I am so nervous.

This was our house when it was under construction. In the photo was our Lola Tibay, husband's grandma. I have no photo of our house when it was fully built.

The second incident happened in our present house. It was the time when my mother in-law was hospitalized due to cancer. I was so tired that night because I was in the hospital for one week, straight, looking after my mother in-law.

I was sleeping in the bedroom with my daughter. I put the flashlight and my phone at the side table. Then I turned off the light before going to sleep.

I was in deep sleep when I suddenly feel a commotion outside. Then I went out of bed and opened the door. I was shock and frightened upon the sight. Napakaliwanag ng buong bahay. Orangey bright ang color because the house beside us was on fire!

I went back inside our room and wake my daughter. Then I grabbed my phone and we went outside. I was really in panicked. My heart was beating so fast. I was crying and so is my daughter. I was mumbling "Lord, please help us. "

Then when we were about to go out, the transformer in the electrical post explode! I was so startled that I shout while hugging my daughter. I couldn't even move a single step because I was so frightened. Then one of our neighbor helped us and put us in a safe place.

Then I tried calling my husband( he was at the hospital that time, looking after her mother) but when I was about to get the phone, it wasn't a phone at all. It was the flashlight that I grabbed before we went outside. So I asked my neighbor if I could borrow his phone because I need to call my husband.

While waiting for my husband, I was watching the next house which was on fire. The firefighters were doing their best to put out the fire. I was crying and praying that the fire won't reach our house.

Luckily, the fire was out and the damage was small. Only the second floor of their house was burned out. The firefighters were fast in putting out the fire.

Then my husband arrived from the hospital and he was so worried, he hugged us both and gave us a kiss. "Akala ko di ko na kayo abutan." He told us that while hugging us tight.

After that incident, I get so paranoid every time I see a fire. It took me months before I totally overcome my fear.


GIF from GIPHY APP

Date Published: September 21, 2021

13
$ 6.38
$ 6.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Fire can be such a devastating thing. I bet it scared the crap out of you. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scared is an understatement. Gosh, it felt like I am in hell..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Muntik na rin kaming masunugan noon sis nang makita KO ang apoy hindi na ako makagalaw sa sobrang shock mabuti nalang naagapan kaagad wala pa namang kuryente nung time na yun

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakatakot naman kasi tlaga sis. Matataranta ka talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine the phobia it caused you. Good thing you're all safe sis. One of the worst thing I couldn't imagine is to see your house burnt by fire.

Good thing you overcome your fear sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It takes time time before it happen sis. And i am thankful with my husband's support..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakita na ko NG actual na nasusunugan.. Kita Lang kasi sa bintana ko.. Karamihan sa kanila walang naisalba dahil sobrang sikip NG kalsada, isang Tao Lang Ang kasya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yan ang hirap kapag sa masisikip na lugar may sunog, mauubos talaga kasi walang madaanan ang bumbero..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakasakit sa dibdib pagka nasunugan kasi BACK TO ZERO talaga. ๐Ÿ’” mas okay pa manakawan wag lang ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe nakakatakot nga yang ganyang experience. Kahit na di natuluyang umabot ang apoy sa bahay nyo nakaka nerbyos pa din kasi delikado eh. Buti na lang laging naaagapan kaya safe pa din kayo. Nung 2019 ganyan nangyari samin. Yung bahay sa likod namin ang nasunog. Buti na lang din mabilis natupok yung apoy. More on mausok lang sya. Sana di na maulit yung mga ganyan. Buti din naalis na yung trauma mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang tagal din sis, makakita lang ako ng apoy kahit maliit eh nanginginig na ako. Tapso sa gabi di ako makatulog, iniisip ko kung naoff ko na ba un tangke ng kalan, kung nabunot ko na ba un mg plug. Nakakapraning kasi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti na din kasama mo family mo. Mas mahirap maovercome yung ganyang trauma mag isa lalo yung napapraning mag isa. Buti may kasama ka sa bahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, buti at supportive naman asawa ko lalo na kapag medyo inaatake ako ng nerbiyos, nakaalalay sya agar sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, ayan ang ayaw na ayaw kong maranasan ..kaya nga ako may nakaready palagi na flashlights para kapag nag brown-out, hindi kami gagamit ng kandila. Mahirap lalo at may maliliit akong mga anak.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kmj din eh di gumagami5 nyan sis. Meron kaming mga emergenxy lights na nakaready na. Natrauma kai talaga ako nun sa nangyare..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek.. Mas safe yung mga emergency lights or flash lights or usb lights

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinaka ayaw ko sa lahat yung sunog, nakakatakot yung apoy at usok. Medyo may trauma kasi ako niyan eh, nong nasa city ako tas nag stay ako sa bahay ng kuya ko. I still remember 6am yun nong bigla kaming ginising ng kapitbahay namin kasi may nasunog don sa kabila, dalawang Bahay lang yung pagitan, tas nasa balcony kami non tas yung apoy papalapit na sa bahay ng kuya ko, and what's worse is that yung katapat is yung Shell ba gas station. Luckily napatay nila agad yung sunog bago pa lumaki

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay hala nakakatakot nga at may malpit na gas station pa. Sobra yan sunog talaga, nakakatrauma. Manginginig lahat ng pwede manginig sayo eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa totoo lang talaga, di bale ng manakawan wag lang masunugan. Pag nasunugan ka ee end na lahat un ee. Start sa pamibago na ulit my gosh. Kaya kami, ingat na ingat talaga dito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka jan madams. Kapag minalas malas pa eh matotodas ka pa sa sunog..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel u po n also experienced it po, that was before when i'm still young n we lived on Mandaluyong that time, mga lumang dmit lng po nkuha po nmin nun, naubos n ntupok po lhat ng bhay nmin n nung pinanganak mn po aq, umapaw mn po ung ilog po sa Montalban, dmit lng din po nkuha nmin nun n ala din po ntira sa bhay nmin dhil tnangay mn po ng tubig

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala, buti nakalabas pa kyo bheng sa bahay bago natupok ng apoy. Nakakatakot kapag ganun eh, matataranta ka talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ntawa ako dun sa flashlight.. Pro kakatouch yung last part te nung hinug kyo ni hubby mon๐Ÿ˜ข Grabe d ko a naexperience yan at d ko nanaisin maexperience. Bagyuhin nlng..wag lng sunog

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa sobrang taranta eh flashlight nadampot ko imbes na cellphone.

Naku, grabe, iba yun pakiramdam kapag andun ka sa sitwasyon na ganun. Manginginig ka sa sobrang nerbiyos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago