Be Kind but Be Wise

33 41
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Emotion, Debt, Feelings

Have you ever tried borrowing money online? How was it? Did you pay it on time or have you experienced being posted on Facebook just because you did not pay your debt on time?

Two days ago, my sister called me to tell me what was happening in Tita Ging's family. She is my father's sister. My sister told me that one of Tita Ging's sons was so mad at her because her face was posted on Facebook with a caption that said, "Di nagbabayad ng utang, wag tularan."

I immediately checked the group chat and there I saw the messages from Nikko, about how mad he was about what happened. Most of the words were so disrespectful toward her mother, so I intervened. I asked him what happened, and he told me everything. Eventually, Tita Ging borrowed money online, but the money was not for her but for their neighbor. That neighbor asked her to borrow money on the said app on her behalf. Tita Ging trusted her neighbor because she was a good friend and they had known each other for years.

At first, that neighbor was paying her debt on time, but after that, she ran off, like gone in the neighborhood. My Tita was left with her debt, and the creditors kept calling her. And then that thing happened, her face was all over Facebook. I understand my cousin, but what I hated about it was that he deliberately disrespected his mother, so I gave him an earful that led to an argument, a very hot argument.

I just can't stand that he was throwing bad words at his mother. Tita Ging is a very kind and soft-spoken woman. Maybe that's the reason why she was put in this kind of situation, humiliated at the expense of others. I called my Tita after I had an argument with his son. I asked her why she allowed her name to be used in a lending app. She said that she felt pity for that woman and so she helped. That woman borrowed five thousand pesos and it grew to eight thousand because of the interest. And because my Tita has no work and her husband is on dialysis, she was not able to pay the debt that was not hers.

She was crying the whole time we were talking because she was so stressed about what happened and did not think that her son would do that to her. All she wanted to do was help.

I told her that I would send her money if I had spare or extra, but she declined. She said I needed it more for my medicine. I told her that it is okay because my husband has a job now and I am earning online by blogging. We ended our call, and I cried after it. I pity my Tita. Ever since I was small, she is so kind to me and never pinched me, unlike my other titas. I really wanted to help her the best way I could.

--

I hope this will serve as a lesson to those who are so kind and generous. Know your limitations, guys. It is okay to help, but you should also think, especially if your name is on the line. 

By the way, my cousin called that creditor, and he told them that they would sue them for doing that. It is against the law. And then they tried calling that number again, but it couldn't be reached.

 

 --

Date Published: April 24, 2022

Lead Image from Unsplash

 

11
$ 2.86
$ 2.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kat2x
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
+ 5
Sponsors of Pachuchay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pachuchay
2 years ago
Topics: Emotion, Debt, Feelings

Comments

Magkano utang ate? Actually depende yan sa utang. If ung urang is mababa lang baka ibasura lang ung sue nila dahil mas malaki pa babayaran kapag pina demanda pa.

Usap kamo maayos. Meron bang agreement ??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nasa 8k na daw beh kasi sa interest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayyyy mabab lang 8k ate kulang pa babayaran nila sa lawyer nyan pang sue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku sinabi mo pa beh, kaya nga di na sila makontak nun tinatawagan na ulit eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya alam mo ate malalakas loob ng mga nangungutang eh kasi pag pina demanda mo yan sila, matapang pa ska mauubusan ka din ng pera pambayad sa lawyers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero may batas na ngayon na pinagbabawal. Un ganyan gi agawa nila, un pamamahiya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being kind but also a bit wiser is a good thing to protect oneself these days. I have a several experience with friends, and I can say that not everyone deserves the kindness that we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you.. People nowadays no longer value the trust that was being given to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yan daw ginagawa minsan nang mga nagpapautang madam...pinapahiya at ipino post sa facebook para daw ma trigger at magbayads...nakakasira din talaga nang pamilya ang utang haynaku

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero bawal un ginagawa nila madam, may batas na tayo bout jn..

Kaya nga eh, gigil ako dun sa pinsan ko, imbes tulungan nya mama nya eh maa inisip nya pa un kahibiyan daw.. Andun na tayo pero di naman un enough para pagsalitaan nya mama nya ng ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Mamshm para dehins us maabuso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek kasi may makakapal ang fez talaga na abusado..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya talaga dapat extra careful tayo kasi may mga abusado talaga ee. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, hay, naawa na lang ako sa tita ko kasi ang gusto nya lang eh makatulong pero gnun pa nangyare sa kanya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me before.. Grabe ang stress, biglang lumayo yung friend ko tapos ako ang nagbayad ng utang na dapat sya ang nagbayad. Pangalan ko kasi ang nakataya, buti na lang natimbrehan ko pag. Uwi nya at pinapirma ko sya ng promissory notre para may pruweba ako. Ayun binayaran nya din paunti unti dahil may hawak akong papel against her.. Di na talaga ako umulit kahit pa sa ibang friends ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku buti naging maagap ka sis, kasi kung hindi eh no choice ka kundi bayaran un perang di mo naman ginamkt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa lending office un kaya no choice talaga ako nun sa akin ang monthly deduction kaya hinabol ko talaga sya.. Tinuruan ako ng kapatid kong pulis na ganun ang gawin tas sinamahan pa nya ako hanapin yung friend ko.. In fairness friends pa rin kami parang walang nangyari at nabayaran na nya ako pero hindi na sya makakaulit sakin.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, naku ewan ko na lang kung pauulitin mo pa sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're tita is so kind I know that cause you are so closed to her. I can feel how pathetic she is right now. I think she declined your offer because she doesn't want anybody intervene for her problem. But you as a closed nephew you should help her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will help her in every way that I can. She's like my second mother..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungot naman po yung nangyari ang bait bait na nga po ng tita nyo pinayagan nya na gamitin yung pangalan nya sa ganyan tapos yung ganon pa yung ginawa nung kapit bahay nila. Sobrang nalulungkot at nahihiya po siguro ngayon yung tita nyo dahil sa nangyari.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, kaya stress na stress sya eh. Di nya inakala na ganun mangyari..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako ate ayaw ko talaga umuutang kahit sa kakilala man. Siguro mga 100 pesos pede pa, but yung ganon na kalaking pera, di naman siguro tama yon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din, nasstress ako kung saan ako kukuha ng pambayad eh.. Pero may mga tao talaga na makakaal ang fez, grabe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaay people nga naman. Hanggang may matatakeadvantage sa mga tumutulong sa kanila gagawin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, pero may karma naman sis, let karma do the work..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This means that our kindness has limitation as well. I felt sorry for your tita who became a victim out of goodwill. I hope that neighbor of hers go back amd realize what she did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We hope so too, sana di patulugin ng konsensya nya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've borrowed several times online via online loan apps and in always my sure I pay up before the die date so my credit score wouldn't be affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't dare borrowed money online to avoid stress😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It actually requires discipline.. money borrowed is in situation of real need and I only borrow an amount I can afford to pay back at the stipulated period.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay kawawa naman at bakit ganon naman yung umutang na gumamit sa name niya. Ayan kasi hirap minsan sa ibang tao eh, tinulungan mo na, aba may gana pa silang tumakbo. Hayst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, sobrang bait kasi nun tita ko yan tuloy nangyare sa kanya

$ 0.00
2 years ago