Halloween - Trip to the fields to get some pumpkins

19 101

As Halloween is just two days away, I got into event related activities. I know that this is not celebrated everywhere and to be honest I never heard of Halloween when I was a child.

Maybe this is a #Halloweencontest2021 entry ... maybe is not! Maybe I am just promoting the Halloween Contest organized by @Theblackdoll

The current commercial trends set up high expectations for all sort of minor events as a method of earning money, or an aggressive marketing for the commercial side of celebrations (Chocolate Eggs for Easter, pink hearty things and condoms for Valentine's Day, beard stuff for Mo-vember, fireworks for 5th of November, etc). However, this is not a marketing lesson so will move to the real stuff!

What is Halloween?

Some may say that this tradition was born from the Celtic Harvest Festival, others may say it was an early Christian holiday for all saints. This moved to America in the 19th century, where it evolved to the current format and than it went global.

The name comes from All Hallows' Eve, which was the night before All Hallow's Day. Early mentions of Germanic and Celtic tribes celebrating the dead at the start of the winter were found in various Roman documents. The trick-or-treat has the origin in the custom baking and sharing of "soul-cakes" market with a cross.

Jack-o-Lanterns were initially carved in turnips and candles were burning to guide the souls which will wander the Earth until All Saints Day. Some of those souls will seek vengeance and this is why people will wear masks and costumes

The New York Hallowed Parade in Manhattan is the largest Halloween themed party in the world, while in France the All-Saints Day will be a more religious event. In various countries, people will decorate the houses with ghosts, cobwebs, zombies, witches and pumpkins. The carved pumpkins, or Jack-o-Lanterns, are part of folklore and their role is to scare evil spirits. As I said above, turnips were the original lanterns, until the American immigrants started to use the native pumpkin.

Pick your own pumpkins!

My plan to carve some pumpkins included a quick visit to the pumpkin patch. This quick visit has become a day out because the place I went set up a whole field with activities and events. Welcome to the Zombie Parking! @ArtistByron shall I keep a parking spot for you?

This is the pumpkin patch and somewhere in there was a golden pumpkin that will entitle the finder to get a wheelbarrow of pumpkins for free. I looked everywhere but couldn't find it.

As this was a fun day out, I went to check the Boos and Booze and some other fun things at Dracula's Tractor Training. Fang-tastic Feast was also on the list and the obvious visit at the Rest(Room).

Who am I kidding? I went back on the patch to look for the golden pumpkin. Gave up the search after half an hour and unloaded half of the pumpkins I loaded in the wheelbarrow while searching.

Couldn't miss the tractor... humble farmer for life! Was a bit dusty in there and from what I seen ... no top yields around. Looks like I cannot keep an article crypto-clean!

Have you ever been lost in a maze? It's 10 times better if the maze is made of spooky hey and straws. The big bad wolf can huff and puff ... it's no time for bed time stories!

Fang-tastic treats? Just a hot chocolate with mini marshmallows and a bacon roll. Had my lunch and then went back to look for the golden pumpkin. Spoiler alert ... I didn't find it and I had to pay for what I collected.

Resources:

Join Bityard 

Join Splinterlands!

Join the CakeDeFi revolution and get $30 worth of DeFiChain (DFI)

Amazon author page: PV Mihalache

Quality Faucets: Free-Litecoin , FreeBitcoin & Stakecube

Tier 4 referral system: Horizen (ZEN) & ZCash from PipeFlare GlobalHive

FreeCryptos GangDASH, TRX, ETH, ADABNBLINKNEOBTC LTC

I earn crypto for reading and writing on Publish0x and ReadCash, watching videos on Lbry.tv and surfing online on Brave Browser and Presearch

19
$ 10.41
$ 9.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of PVMihalache
empty
empty
empty

Comments

In Turkey, zucchini is always cooked in every house. Corn boiled in snow water, pears, quince, seeds, almonds, peanuts and walnuts baked in the oven are also traditional dishes of Bocuk Night. The villagers, who wrapped themselves in sheets and painted their faces, called their neighbors 'Bocuk is coming'. it scares.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that looked like a lot of fun. thanks for sharing your adventures

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article, I loved it because it has a lot of information about Halloween of which I did not know because in my country, Venezuela, it is only celebrated in big cities and mostly in shopping malls. Greetings and success with your publications.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.sorry to say that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's not how it work!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fun day it is sir. We celebrate Halloween here but no pumpkin just Halloween costumes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country we don't celebrate halloween in my country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks like it was fun even if you didn't find the golden pumpkin and had to pay for the ones you took, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I paid a lot cause I found so many nice ones ....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would gladly take this as an entry to my contest.. amazing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Consider it a guest star entry... don't give me a prize.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are too sweet :) Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry you couldn't find your golden pumpkin but It seems like it was a fun outing for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good day to be honest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats a fun day hehe I wonder who finds the golden pumpkin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I asked and they said it was found 6 times.... don't believe that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That turned into a fun day out even though that was not the intent. We do not do Halloween in my country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes... was a good day out

$ 0.00
2 years ago