Do you like to be scared? 9 scariest cities in Europe

68 105
Avatar for Our.journey
3 years ago

You like to be afraid, be careful! I have tips for you on the scariest places in Europe, from which you will run a chill on your back, but at the same time will fill you with extraordinary experiences and a lot of interesting knowledge.

1. Old Jewish Cemetery, Prague

Image source: pininterest.com

The old Jewish cemetery, managed by the Jewish Museum in Prague, is one of the oldest and most attractive for tourists in the world. The oldest tombstone dates from the first half of the 15th century. Despite the fact that the area was gradually expanded, its area was not sufficient, so the dead were buried in ten layers on top of each other.

2. Kostnice Sedlec, Czech Republic

Image source: sedlec.info

The cemetery church of All Saints with an ossuary in Sedlec near Kutna Hora is one of the most visited monuments in the Central Bohemian Region. Those interested can use the experience program, which allows you to visit these places outside normal opening hours. Treat yourself to an impressive night tour of the ossuary by candlelight and listen to the story of its turbulent history.

3. Catacombs in Paris

Image source: tripsavvy.com

In 1786, the Paris catacombs became a repository for the remains of human skulls and bones from the city's cemeteries. If you have enough courage, go down to the cold underground at Denfert Rochereau Metro Station and walk through the corridors that line the bones of the deceased Parisians.

4. Miranda Castle, Belgium

Image source: urban.nl

Chateau Miranda, also known as Chateau de Noisy, is a 19th-century neo-Gothic castle that once had immense beauty and grandeur. However, it has been abandoned since 1991 because its maintenance costs were too high. The mysterious building is now subject to disintegration, vandalism and attracts mystery hunters. Unfortunately, at the end of October 2016, its demolition began.

5. Capuchin catacombs, Palermo, Italy

Image source: wikipedia.com

Under its surface, the Sicilian metropolis hides unique Capuchin catacombs with more than eight thousand mummies. Originally a burial ground, it later became a prominent cemetery, intended for deceased monks, but also for wealthier citizens. Today it is a great attraction for tourists, mainly due to the fascinating way of Capuchin embalming of bodies. The mummy of two-year-old Rosalie Lombard, who looks as if she is just sleeping, is particularly attracting attention.

6. Chapel in Evore, Portugal

Image source: tripsavvy.com

The historic center of Evore is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The city in southern Portugal is full of important monuments, of which we can mention, for example, the Roman temple or the church of St. Francis, which also includes a well-attended ossuary. Its walls cover human skulls and bones.

7. Hoia Baciu, Romania

Image source: pininterest.com

Romania is not just an expedition in the footsteps of Count Dracula. Places other than the famous Bran Castle can reliably scare you and attract you. For example, the Transylvanian forest of horror Hoia Baciu, located near the city of Cluj-Napoca. But the locals would first advise you that it is better to avoid the forest by bending. After all, some people entered there and never returned ...

8. Mount of Crosses, Lithuania

Image source: theculturetrip.com

The hill with thousands of crosses is an important pilgrimage site near the town of Siauliai in the interior of Lithuania. Crosses of various sizes and shapes come from different parts of the world and their number exceeds several hundred thousand and is still growing.

9. Dargavs, Russia

Image source: amusingplanet.com

The Dargavs are an example that a "city of the dead" could indeed exist. The complex of ninety-five medieval above-ground funerary structures was built on the slopes of Mount Raminirach, on one of the mountain ridges of the North Caucasus. Because it is relatively difficult to get there, only a few tourists visit Dargavs. But perhaps there is also some truth to the belief that whoever enters the city will not return alive.

43
$ 4.40
$ 4.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 1
Sponsors of Our.journey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Our.journey
3 years ago

Comments

I can't afford to go to these places, but I can learn a lot from your article 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Outstanding post buddy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And they’re not that scary, it’s so because of the attraction.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The picture looks attractive but not scary. But if the picture was taken in the dark, it would have looked more scary.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my country is something too, that's called "Djavolja Varos" a unique natural phenomenon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what does this mean? Is this the ghost's name?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it would be scary if the pictures are taken at dark

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right. It would look even more scary if I used the picture taken in dark.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always enjoyed to visit scary palaces! Those places are really awesome to visit. Nice article. I wish I could go there once

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, these places are awesome as well as scary to visit. Thank you so much for your valuable comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing post yarr

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks dear for reading my article πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing article by you my friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I cannot visit Mount of Crosses without any vital reason πŸ˜… Mate this place is really scary ^^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, this places are really a scary one- - from frightening sculptures to dolls everywhere you look.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks fun to visit. I think Europe has the most interesting places in the world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. Anyways, thanks for giving it a read and for feedback. I appreciate a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All the views are very nice.good article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for giving it a read and for feedback

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A good locations for shooting scary movies . πŸ˜‚ but i like to see those places in person..

Creepy but pretty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I agree with you. These are the best locations for filmmakers to make a most scary movies. Anyways thank for your upvotes and valuable comment.. I appreciate a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Especially that one that look like a cemetery... I remember the movie pet cemetery.. It was really scary.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing article, I didn't know so much information. Thank you very much! I enjoy reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed my article. Also thanks for your valuable comment. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Theses places really looks scary in photos, how much more on real.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In fact, it is even more frightening. You can't go there alone. You need a friend to go to that scary place.....πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think so too. Have you ever been to one of those places?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have not been to this place but I have experienced the fear of ghosts when I go for a walk early in the morning. The unusual sound of a girl crying in the early morning during makes me so scared.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. I don't believe in ghosts anyway and I never saw one in real.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The historic center of Evore is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The city in southern Portugal is full of important monuments, of which we can mention, for example, the Roman temple or the church of St. Francis, which also includes a well-attended ossuary. Its walls cover human skulls and bones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why go to such scary places?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

omg.... anywherer with that many like crosses, or bones or anything. the sher amount of poeple man.... all compact into one space..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Mount of Crosses is the least scary for me. The rest.. they're full of skeletons. I cannot. 😱

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are right. The rest of the skeleton places looks so scary. Can you go their alone?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course...I can't!! Not even in broad daylight or with many friends. πŸ˜‚ Because I know those will haunt me in my dreams πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A fantastic list! I would also add Budapest in Hungary, mainly for the Labyrinth (Panoptikum). Again it has connections to Dracula and it is definitely worth a visit. I was there around five years ago, and part way through the tour they turned off all the lights - plunging us into total darkness underground! Now that was scary.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I have heard of this place. With total darkness in some areas really freaked everyone.... scary music and wax figures and fake smoke should do the trick. I think you have a good scary experience. I'm sure you're scared !!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha not for me my friend πŸ˜† I will not sleep a day or two flashing back all the skeletons hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you dream of a ghost today. In that dream, a lot of skeletons come to your home today. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 just joking....🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's not very nice journey. That's very very bad lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very interesting, I'm really curious about the story of all of this scary places!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The photos really look scary. It may be scarier at night and in reality.

Good research!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, these places are scarier as you expect. Anyways thanks for your valuable comment.πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome :) It is way better than spam comments such as nice and the like. Keep going!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Horrors place 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In fact, they see frightening places. Thanks for your comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are maybe scarier during the night time πŸ˜… goosebumps! Then you visit there alone πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, it is more scary at night time. But, I think I can go that place alone. I had the experience of walking alone in a village at night time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you are strong well that's normal you are a guy anyway 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This good one. So scary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for reading my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Mount of Crosses is the least scary for me. .Its truly scaring but the pictures are really amazing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very very interestsing article my dear. Lije it. Thank you for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its truly scaring but the pictures are really amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its truly scaring but the pictures are really amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its relly looks so scarry but picture s is nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They don't look scary at all on the picture, but how about in person πŸ€”. I want to try it, I want to see a ghost, even just once πŸ‘»πŸ‘». They all look beautiful to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The views are good, not scary at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, the scene of the picture looks very good but in reality they are scary when you go to that place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh just wow with that. I don't like to see any more ghost and spirits haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To me, that forest in Romania looks very creepy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yes forest are very creepy not just ghost but other elemental being too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago