New roomies, new rules

17 31
Avatar for Oluwa_damilare
2 years ago

Good evening y'all, I hope you all had a great day. My day was quite stressful to be honest. I am preparing to move into my hostel tomorrow after securing an accomodation last week, this morning was for packing my loads together so as to have an easy transporting of my luggages tomorrow. It was not easy getting everything together because I've been at home for quite a long time. I finished packing it all very late and headed for school which was another stress on it's own because of transport issues but I'm glad that I am back already. To my future sponsors, I say a very big thank you...

Sponsors of Oluwa_damilare
empty
empty
empty

Concerns of getting a new roommate struck me when I started my accommodation process, it has almost being a year living with stevelight, my previous roommate and he has been a very cool person to be honest, we have been through a lot. The good and the bad times were great lessons to me. Well, he is a Chelsea fan and I support Manchester united, I know you can imagine how often we do argue football but I must say it was all fun. The bond I've created with him is almost brotherly but here is the school regulation, we have to shuffle roommates every session meaning that stevelight can no longer be my roommate this session. How would I cope growing a new relationship with someone else?

This question has been on my mind for days now, the most painful thing is that I am going to be having two new roommates because the university has decided that we have three students in a room. This wasn't enough catastrophe, stevelight is my course mate and we have a lot to do together academically but now that I have seen my roommate, they aren't even in my faculty, I hope you can imagine how sad it is to have someone that doesn't have a course you're offering in common. Living with stevelight has taught me a lot about cohabitation and I've listed a few things I'm going to be bringing into my new room.

  • Avoid overfamiliarity

I wouldn't say I was too familiar with my old roommate because we both had our boundaries but he really made me understand how important it is to keep boundaries and it really helped us to build the respect that we both have for each other and I am planning to bring that to this session too since my roommates aren't even in my department. Our discussions would be much more limited.

  • Never allow one night squat

One of my weaknesses is the ability to say no, Steve also had something like that but he was much more stronger than me at that. I noticed that because the first attempt of a squatter in our room was from him and I legit liked how he handled it even though it was not a direct no. we definitely had much more people at the end of the day in the name of coming to read overnight and turning our room to a permanent place of abode which later becomes a big headache to correct.

  • Never have a common pot

No doubt, stevelight is a great cook and I got intimidated by this to be honest and this made me suggest that we start cooking together, it was great and I really enjoyed it but there's a very big disadvantage to it and that is, you're constrained to cook at times that might not be convenient for you. We also had some types of food we don't eat, these had to be considered too which is an issue because you don't get to eat what you like when you want. Another problem with common pot is that you both can be tired and hungry at the same time and there'll be nobody to volunteer to cook or do the dishes, most of the time this happens, only the person that eats is the one with money to go to the restaurant. I wouldn't want that situation anymore...

I think I should put a stop to this writing here because I can keep the list going as it is endless, I hope you enjoyed reading this...

8
$ 1.35
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Abhay
$ 0.02 from @FashTioluwa
+ 1
Sponsors of Oluwa_damilare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oluwa_damilare
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate to this in a wayπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is exactly the way it is in almost every Nigerian university

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope things change soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the fact that you're roommate is a great cook...I believed my roommate was a great cook too while I was in school. I used to enjoy her dishes more than mine. Sometimes before we decide on what to eat it can take us hoursπŸ˜… before we know what to cook. Sometimes I might be energized to cook while she feels lazy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This seems to be everyone's story and it's actually relatable because you'd always find someone better than you at a particular thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure you'll miss stevelight and make sure you accommodate these new roommates of yours well

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah

I'll try my best to do that too, thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow nice, actually I never support cooking together as students. Last year, I had two roommates, this year I have three.

Last year, a whole lot of dramas happened. But now I think I'm wiser. That over-familiarity thing, I really can relate. But, you're lucky you had a really good bond with your roommate.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think we all have stories to tell especially as a fresh student but we're all smarter now. no One can just come and cheat is freely anymore πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 😌😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

New rooomie new headache, I hope you have something fun to share with this roommates of yours. I'll pray God give you the strength to enjoy your stay😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen o

I really need the strength to have the same kind of bond with them too I pray I do sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed this article. Stevelight sounds like a very cool person. Hopefully your new roommates won't drive you crazy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah... He is a very cool one indeed

Hopefully he doesn't see this before his head explodes πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I can say is toorhπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a torrh to say bro...

You're amazing πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago