Who Are Your Friends?

Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I know a lot of people living in Nigeria or even frequent on Twitter would have an idea which direction I am going with this post. It's too juicy and recent that I can't help but dive into it and explore with more expansion on the topic.

Your circle of friends matter a lot because it would determine how quickly you will get up or sink when a situation happens. We cannot choose our family members but thank God we can choose our friends and the kind of friend you choose will eventually rub off on you whether you like it or not. You might not see it now but eventually, you will.

Two things have the tendency of bringing out the best or the worst in us - the kind of friends you keep and the ability to read or not read books. The kind of books you read would eventually affect you just like the kind of friends you keep. If all you do is read a book of crime, you start anticipating a lot of crimes and they start playing in your head even when the situation is not as daring as you think it is. When the only tool you have is a hammer then every problem would look to you as though they require a nail even if all that is needed is just to turn the switch.

That's why most people cannot differentiate between reality and fantasy because that's the only thing they have exposed themselves to and when they meet contrasting situations, they break down. Who are your friends? Who are those in your circle of influence? They would determine the direction of your life. If you have laid back friends, they would always drag you back no matter how much speed you want to gather. Whoever wants to move fast must travel light and some friends are baggage to your journey, so ditch them and don't apologize for it because this is your life - you only have one.

Image Source.

I spoke last year with my brother when he wanted to drop his new hit singles that I helped him in writing the lyrics. He needed extra money and he texted a few of his friends and only two people responded - one person gave money and the other one gave a promissory word. He said and I quote, "Olawale, I don't have friends" and in a way, he blamed himself for it and it dawned on me too. You need those who can quickly drag you out of a hole because life happens but in as much as you desire to have such friends make sure you are also that kind of friend because some people won't forget how you've helped them even if most forget.

Davido; a Nigerian artist and superstar tweeted yesterday that he needed 100,000,000 naira ($180,000) for his birthday celebration and within the space of an hour, he got a whopping 133,000,000 naira ($240,000) and still counting. Of course, some people are seeing it from a different perspective but I am not. He isn't asking because he is broke, far from it and he just opened that account for that particular purpose so everyone can track the progress of the fund.

I don't know if this has any bearing with the Obi Cubana's mother's burial where the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission had to go and burst him to explain the source of his wealth to have lavished that much on his mother's burial but I believe they know Davido's source of wealth already but you can't be too sure with our government. I guess Davido decided to let everyone see where the money he would be spending is coming from. Whatever logic behind his action, my take away from it is that you have to surround yourself with people who would readily bail you out of any kind of situation - that's what friends are for.

There was this interview he had earlier in the year with Ebuka where he spoke glowingly about how passionate he is when it comes to helping others. He said he has helped a lot of people that he can never go down. He further said that the moment he wants to start going down they would really round to lift him up and now, it makes so much sense as it is evident for all to see now - especially how family, friends and even rivals came around to show support to him.

Image Source.

We all want to have the best of friends but are you showing yourself friendly too? We all want people to support us but what are you also doing for others? Are you supporting others too? This life is about sowing and reaping. Sometimes you reap and sometimes you don't but the good thing is you might not reap from where you sowed but life has its way of paying you back for your good investment.

Help others in as much as you want to be helped. Be friends with others as much as you want to have friends. Be good to others in as much as you want people to be good to you. Surround yourself with good people. It's not just about party freaks but people with dreams, goals, ambitions, zeal and determination. It's not all about money but you also need those who can encourage you when you are back to a corner and depression wants to set it.

A lot of people go through a lot and it's hard to know those who are in your corner until the situation calls for it. Adversity reveals true human nature. You won't know the snake has been lining up with the woods until you stoke it with the fire and with fire you see the snake within the sticks. You will know those who care for you, not when the going is good but when there is a speed bump on your way. A lot of people claim to be your friend only when things are good but that's not a true measure of friendship because, at that time, anyone can claim to be your friend.

I ask again, who are your friends?

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

33
$ 10.66
$ 9.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @ZehraSky
+ 23
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I spent last year deleting certain people from my life because I was trying to be intentional about who my friends were.

Friendship is very important in life and picking the right friends could break or make a lot of things.

Also most times we want good friends but forget to be good friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is brilliant and I love the strong move you made because it is an important move.

Yes, most people want good friends and forget to be one too. It's mutual and should go both ways. Picking the right kind of friends would always be a good step in the right direction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm trying to get a place in people's minds by seeing good stories but my writings are not in the eyes of many people. Maybe many people are not reading and do not understand what to do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will check out your page and see what's the issue. Engaging on other people's comment helps too but that's only after you've read their post and given thoughtful comments. It would excite them to check your page.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay with me to have few but real rather than having tons but full of fake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. Quality over quantity... Anytime and any day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have some friends though I cant honestly think of someone to run to whenever I have problems. 😂🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's not good my friend. I totally understand how you feel and I can understand that. I am trying to do better too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the times we get to know the ones that love us when problems comes. The ones that remain with me are my friends . Thanks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, problems brings out the realness in people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@princessbusayo is my friend.. Smiles. I always makes friend with the ones who has the same vision like mine. I wrote something very similar few days ago as well. Thanks for this

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I like that... Having like-minded friends help a great deal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A popular quote says, "show me your friends and I will tell you who you are." The friends we keep matters a lot. I'm new here sir!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It definitely matters a lot. Good to have you here and welcome on board.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I intended to write about this but good you did better.

Surrounding yourself with people that can lift you when you are down is very important in life but it has to do what you have also done to those people.

You can't expect to have been stingy to people and expect people to surround you in your troubled days. Life is about getting back what you have given out to people who were once in need of your assistance.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true, brother. We can't expect others to surround us when we haven't invested one way or the other in them. Most people want to make emotional withdrawal when they haven't even made any deposit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As soon as you mentioned Twitter, I already knew this article is heading for the davido's angle 😁

Even before davido and Obi Cubana got those donations from friends, I have always had this idea of what true friendship should be. If we are friends, we should be able to be there for each other and help each other out when needed.

One thing I always do is that I usually help my friends when they need it, but the moment I notice you wouldn't do the same for me, I cut off ties with such person. Friendship is supposed to be a mutualistic relationship, and not parasitic

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the sad part... A lot are not mutual and friendship should be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do unto others as you want them to do to you. We cannot expect good friends if we aren't exercising same to them.

Scratch my back and I scratch yours.....(help me complete the adage please) 😅😅

You gerrit?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you sure it's only your back you need scratched? ☺️😜😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the shadow of how our friends threats us and they are also the shadow of how we threat them. They are good friends because you are good friends to them, so never tried to be a fake friends,as surely they will also become a fake friends to you. But nevertheless we really can't avoid fake friends. Somehow I only have one friend to be called, as I saw her as myself. She was always there for me, without judgment and hatred, so I'm always here for her, through thick and thin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... Friendship should be mutual and beneficial... There is no point jumping the hoops for those who won't jump a puddle for us. Spot on, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friends can help you celebrate good times and provide support during bad times. Friends prevent loneliness and give you a chance to offer needed companionship, too. Friends can also: Increase your sense of belonging and purpose. But that friends that do all these determine who you are and what you would become

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is detailed and true. There is no limit to what a friend can do and be also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m laid back - time to ditch me Ola 😅😅😅

I have a huge circle of online friends, but in real life my circle is small and I keep it this way. I’m very picky when it comes to friends 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂🤣 I won't leave you... We are together for life...ain't going nowhere. You are laid back? I can be too 🤣🤣😂🤣.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha 😅😅😅 He's back and won't let me leave 😅😅😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I won't, darling. You have no idea how much I value you... Ain't going nowhere Mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh Ola, are you in KTH Tg? I have a new boyfriend 😅😅😅 What’s up with these Nigerian guys?

Love you too 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha whoever that new guy is, he would waltz away just like the last person I know.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, you protect me too well Ola 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂 I love you too, Mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born in times of trouble. Our friends and loved ones will be the ones who will support us in the most difficult moments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Friends provide that safety net for us...no doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well ola I can't deny the fact that I don't have someone to call a friend because when it comes to helping I don't have anyone to call on except God and my man

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your man is truly your friend and that is wonderful and expected too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say they are my friends if they accept me no matter what I am as well as my bad and good side. Friendship is immeasurable just like marriage it's thru thick and thin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It has to be through thick and thing and that's right. Not one sided and not fair weather.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What about seeing it from this angle. When someone is on the verge of dying and post this on social media platforms, how many persons will respond. I don't they are just his friends but fans who would maybe want to show off...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right... A lot of people confuse fans for friends and only when the tough gets going do we see the real friends emerge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friends are those who understand me from my good and bad side, and do I

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right...you don't have to struggle with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that is another way of saying, "Tell me who you're friends are, and I'll tell you who you are."

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The adage is so accurate... We soon smell like the company we keep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To have best friends, you have to be friendly too. You need to be more concern about them. You will have the same thing in return.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right... We need to show ourselves friendly as much as we desire that friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving a friend the right definition is a very difficult task.But even after that we all know what a true friend is. He is my friend who is always by my side in danger. good article mate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they have to be there through thick and thin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am particularly excited about this post, as I am quite selective when it comes to people I choose as my friend. My friends are like family to me. And I dare say I don't have many friends, that's not to say I don't want to make more friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like that ... Your friends are your family which would help you to go through the length for them as they would for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is that not every body you roll with is truly your friend. A friend in need is a friend indeed. It is only in your time of need that you can know your true friends

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Only in times of need do we truly know who is who. When the fire is stoked...we see what's underneath.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a saying - "You are the average of the people you hang out with the most" . The circle one keeps matters a lot in life. Another friend once told me "The friends you make now are the connections your children will need"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love both quotes and they are the truth, I would have to admit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really glad of my friends, because we know how to stick with each other even if it rains. :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so sweet...sticking with each other, come rain, come sunshine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't really tell whose the real friend and the fake one not until they show off their real identity. The one who sticks (real) and the one who leave (fake).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They will always show their colours for us to know who is who.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are certain decisions that is not available for us but nevertheless as much as we have the liberty to choose our friends, we should make sure we are the kind of friend we are looking for in others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God we can choose our friends ...so we have to do it right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow your are definitely right and adage says show me your friend and I will tell you who you are

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly...so we have the choice to make.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing I've learnt over time is to help people without expecting anything particular in return because a time will come when it'll come back to you. Even if not me, my children will

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It will always come back, that's the truth and you are so right there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As the adage says, a friend in need is a friend indeed 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That adage has been for ages and I have to admit, it's so true, my dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago