Stepping Out of my Comfort Zone.

72 117
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Life, Nigeria, Blog, Writing

Once in a while, we need to step out of our comfort zone because when we feel too comfortable, life passes us by and we won't know where it went. We should go on living even if we would fail at some things. I know fear hinders so many people but courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear yet the will goes on. Nobody said life would be easy but it would be worth it if we take the needed step to have fun while we can.

I love quoting this and I came across it many years ago and I can't even remember where: "There was a man who never laughed or played, he never danced, he never sang or prayed but one day when he died, his insurance was denied because they claimed he never really lived, so they claimed he never really died."

Part of living is making mistakes and having fun even when you failed at something. Most of the time we are worried that others would laugh at us which stops us from doing what we truly fear but you have to laugh at yourself first and when you do, whatever others do won't matter because you did it first.

I can remember this movie where Eminem was featured. It was a street battle of wits where you have to "diss" each other with words through rap and everyone expected this guy to finish off Eminem and do you know what Eminem did? He abused himself with possible words the guy can use to hurt him and he turned it around to diss the guy which made the guy clueless because Eminem yabbed (abused) himself with all the things the guy could have said which made the guy speechless. So, rather than wait for people to laugh at you, please laugh at yourself first and it wouldn't even hurt when they eventually laugh at you.

Where am I driving at? So, I have never entered the water before to say I want to swim. Yes, I've been to the beach many times and had fun there but I've never had any swimming before in all my years of existence πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. So, I decided to step out of my comfort zone today to do that. I could have easily said I wouldn't go because I was watching Everton v West Ham football match and was eagerly awaiting Newcastle v Tottenham Hotspur too but I knew if I missed this opportunity to go then my count would continue.

I got there and I was smiling at the water. I wasn't scared of water, far from it, in fact, I love water and I was excited that I would swim shortly. The closest I came to swimming was in my head and movies. You can invent heaven even with your thoughts and I thought swimming would be a piece of cake since I have imagined how to do it in my head after watching so many Hollywood movies.

I saw little children doing the flips and I was embarrassed for myself πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£. I laughed at myself so much that before I even stepped in the pool, everyone knew not to expect anything much from me. I entered the pool and I was clueless πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. It's easy to say you can do something and it's another when you have reality staring at you hahaha but I have a learning heart. I asked as many questions as possible and I can say I left a better person than I went in. I even stayed underwater for more than 30 seconds while trying to move my arms even though I am still struggling with my feet. I was told it would come with time and I can't wait to go back there. I spent more than 2 hours in there and it was money well spent.

Whatever you are afraid of, have a go at it. Whatever you haven't had time for and love, try and create time for it. Whatever you have to knock off your bucket list please knock it off by doing. It's better to fail at it than to live with regrets of never having done it. I had an amazing time today with family and friends and oh boy, I enjoyed it in that pool. I had water in my ears and most times in my mouth too πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. I saw myself floating on water while also drowning the next minute.

Let me grace you with the pictures I took there today. You might mistake me for a PRO with the way I was bouncing and moving but oh well... I had fun and that's all that really matters.

What would you like to do next? What are you scared of doing? You only live once, truly and life is fleeting. Stop going through life but you really need to live. Living involves every aspect of life; the highs and the lows and both experiences make life worth living and without them, life would have been boring.

Enjoy the views...

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

Thank you for your time.

26
$ 11.04
$ 10.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Pearlkel
+ 19
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Fun, Life, Nigeria, Blog, Writing

Comments

when i was 9 i went swimming in the village river that was my first time, seeing my mates and even the ones i am older than do deep in the river was a shame to me so i decided to go then i drown , it was late before i was rescued , it took me days to recover from the trauma so since then swimming and I are two parallel lines that can never meet. maybe i will try it again after now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow... That must have been a scary moment and I can understand why you would want to stay away from swimming for a while... I hope you can try again soon enough...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sir i will have to step out of my comfort zone, i am 20+ now i only enjoy swimming from the TV or or far from a sight but i will put a stop to that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha... The TV. I am glad you are working towards this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is big time enjoyment with the family. Its good to step out of one's comfort zone so as to experience and have fun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's good that you step out of your comfort zone @Olasquare. Indeed, learning never stops. Learning will only stop once we're dead. As for me, im not used to writing but because of this platform i get to step out of my comfort zone and now im on my 3rd week of being active on read.cash. What a wonderful family you have. Anyways thanks for this article! πŸ’™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's amazing and it's good to have you here. I am sure the experience has been worthwhile...

Thanks a lot for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to go swimming yesterday because it was so hot but it eventually rained and I thank God I didn't because I would have caught a cold. Also, very lovely family. You're really blessed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The rain started here when we got home from swimming else it would have ruined our plans too. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with you. We must step out of our comfort zone to live life to the fullest. Good for you, you step out of your comfort zone and it turns out great. Btw, you have a lovely family. Love those pictures, it shows so much love and fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I have such a time to cool off on a weekend like this. There is no doubting it, you had fun. And with family, that makes it more exciting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

With family, it's always exciting. Thanks a lot, brother. I hope you can create time too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stepping out of our comfort zone is where we learn more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's spot on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adorable pictures I must say. I can feel the craze and happiness. And yes, you are right. We should step out of our comfort zone once to have some life lessons.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. It was indeed crazy and full of fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You surely had great fun on Sunday. I can see how bright your smiles are. Your family is so lovely πŸ’—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yaaaay. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you had a fun Sunday with your sweeties!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. It was really fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fun fun fun sometimes we need to just say f*ck it and just enjoy life. Glad you had fun with your family πŸ™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I like that... We just have to have a go at life and enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine how it was. I learnt how to swim in the village. I went to the river with some kids and they were diving into the deepest part of the water while i stood rooted to a spot. It was embarrassing πŸ˜‚. I took a decision to learn it that day. It's good to go out and unwind once in a while.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I tell you, it can be embarrassing. You need to see how a 7 year old was doing flip. I had to tell her to stop embarrassing me. πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop holding on to the edges and go to the middle of the water 🀣🀣 I once tried to cross a river behind our house. And I felt scared when I reached the middle. But good thing my brother was there, or else I am dead by now 🀣 after that, I feared swimming in deep water lol.. Still dunno how to swim properly haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I couldn't let the edges go just yet because that water was daunting πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. That edge was 4ft and it was later I managed to move to the middle that was deep and the other end too.

Hahaha, thank God for your brother. I think you should try swimming too. The first time, just sit at the edge, flap your legs... Then gradually, go inside, stay at the like I did there... The moment you start it, I believe the fear would reduce.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bringing out a huge lesson from the time out with your family is awesome and it shows how open-minded you are to the things happening around you.

We only live once and it is great to make that one count and doing things we thought we can't is one of the ways of making it count. I still don't want to believe that you can't swim judging from that vibe in your lead image but all the same, trying it made a great difference.

You have got a very beautiful family, well done sir.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. That was my first time getting into the water and I was proud of the things I achieved. I believe with more practice, I would go for the Olympics πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£. Thanks a lot, bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly,we live once but once, so everything we have to do ,we just have to do it now, we have to enjoy the sweetest part of life.

If you decide not to go to the swimming pool because of the fear of I don't know how to swim, they when will you know it, and I can see you moving your body , like if you tell me that you haven't swim before , I will not know because it's seems you're perfect in swimming with the pictures I'm seeing here.... hehehehe

We just have to take away fear from what we are doing , it better to fail than not making attempt at all, and I will say that you really had a nice momen with your beautiful family, but the thing is that you did not take me along, no fair πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha we can make an arrangement for you where you'd join on the next visit, hahaha.

That's true, better to fail or be poor at something than never trying at all. I am glad I did and I got better with my time inside the water.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will be waiting till then then, i must not miss it this time around...🀣🀣

Nice you tried, next Time, you'll be flying inside the pool, because you'll be an expert by then . Hehehehe πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An adventurous spirit definitely means no boring moments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely πŸ₯°πŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I laugh so hard by reading. How beautiful family you have. So, lovely.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ thank you so much for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great family bonding, it's a very good value instill to our children. Make our family go stronger

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha OMG you made me laugh my friend. Anyway, you really had a great Sunday. You have a beautiful and happy family. You were right, sometimes we also have to come out in our comfort zone and enjoy the our life. Thank you for these article of yours.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ thank you so much, my friend and I am so glad you enjoyed it too. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🀣🀣🀣🀣 am still laughing bae you are not afraid of water o fine I hear but why are you holding something before you swim 😜 Buh seriously you tried I hate swimming

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ you want the water to drown me abi? Now I know you don't love me oh hahaha. Thanks dear. We need to fix this your hate for swimming...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No na I still love you o No don't bother fixing it o coz it can't be fixed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it can be fixed. It's gradual approach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah na na na I don't want to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 🀣 I don't want to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will find a way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Roll it till tomorrow...won't change anything..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop mocking me 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, your Sunday is blessed ooo. See enjoyment, it makes sense when the family go out and spend time together, so lovely family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha... I had to... Enough with me staying indoor and watching life pass me by πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…very smart of you sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😍😍😍πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You made me laugh reading all through. I have never been to a swimming pool before and I wish to learn how to swim even though I am scared I might get drowned. I should also get out of my comfort zone but who will accompany me when my friends too can't swim? Make I no go enter water come drown myself 🀣

Are there always trainer who train novice like me?

Thank God you can now swim at least

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha... This girl, you won't kill me.

Yes, there are trainers that can train. You won't drown and the moment you tell them its your first time, they would tell you to get a floater on your arms so you would float on the water and its safer that way till you can sort out your arms and feet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You enjoyed yourself with family and a new experience too... I enjoyed reading through with the fun and smiles from your little kid. I'm going to need to always step out of my comfort zone sometimes, maybe I could go out to a rollercoaster ride 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ that rollercoaster is scary from the look of it and I really want to do that too. Thank you so much for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats friend. A very beautiful family that you have here. A hug. Ps: I loved the pool.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we really need to get out of our comfort zone to discover our true potential. And after all, we only live once. So we gotta do the things that we don't usually do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, my friend. We need to step out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful dear you amazing to see in the pool you are enjoying your life fully,that is very amazing and attractive for me to see you in happiness actually the comfort zone is all about your happiness you feel better as you feel good in life zones i loved your all pictures very interesting and fun pics or article nicely written. Stay blessed πŸ’–πŸ’–

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks you are awesome ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So are you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago