Some of my Favourite Poems, II.

58 133
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Poem, Poetry, Personal, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

This is for poem lovers. They are always simple and they carry so much meaning...deeper than long words because they allow our thoughts and minds to wander as we try to paint a perfect picture of what the message carries... I love my poems to be simple so they can be relatable without big grammar.

I shared a few on Hive too and I can't leave my friends here hanging without having a taste of them too.

You can read the first part here:
Some of my Favourite Poems.

It Doesn't Get Easier.

Another day without your touch, help or your hold
Without you, mama, every night suddenly becomes cold
It's 13 years since you have been gone but I'm still left in the fold
You are the treasure every heart needs to seek, you are my gold
Time heals all wounds I've been told but this hits differently
It gets better with time, every time I have been told
But this hasn't been easier because everything reminds me of you
Going home the last time I travelled, I saw where you laid
Entered your old room with your signature all over the place
I saw your old frame picture too and I wish I could use my hand to trace
There is no day that your presence isn't missed, I mean it, every single day
But there you are, on the ground where you lay
Just as the last full month you spent 13 years ago was in May
You did the best you could...did the best you could
You saw it coming a long time before and it made sense now
It made sense why you decided to join the choir in your old age
Sang your heart out till your final days to let yourself out of the cage
It was like you knew, so you wanted to turn the new page
You got late to practice one day and you were reprimanded, I was in a rage
You told me it's the rule of the choir and you choose to abide even without wage
Everything about you screams simplicity and it hasn't gotten easier with time
Keep sleeping, keep resting, even in death, your influence spreads like fragrance

Sunshine...Daughter Shine.

You are the treasure that I seek and I found you
Your tenderness and smartness outweigh the disturbance
I can sit all day just in awe of the wonders you display
I hear every single word even the actions you portray
You are worth the wait because I see the energy in you
I see the beauty, kindness and strength in you
They are all rolled into you at once and I wondered
I've stopped wondering because you are a rare gift that came to give us a lift
Compensation for all the troubles we have endured
My perfect gift and the addiction I would always fail to resist
Keep dazzling sweetheart because the world is yours for the taking
Let me craft your picture into NFT and then stake it
You are stronger than anything and I know you won't break it
Thank you for bringing sunshine into our world, sweetheart
The sun that keeps shining and won't go down
The moon that stays up all night and shows in the day
In the dead of the night, I saw a bright star that brightened a darkened world
That star I saw? That's you...

16 Years Today, I Hold The Memory...

It's been 16 years this may dad but I still remember it all
How you always guide and protect me with your hands so I won't fall
How your love guided us all so we can with others walk tall
It's been 16 years dear father and with God's Grace with didn't stall
I know you are watching from heaven and I still kick the football
I know you are watching so you didn't miss those fun parts in our lives
But you are no longer here and I would have given you lots of high fives
It has been over many years but it still feels like yesterday
It hurt then, it hurts now and even till yesterday and today
It hurts so bad I wasn't there by your side that day
I hope my scream that day could wake you up as I was being held back
I wish to have the keys to so many of life's greatest hacks
If tears could bring back a loved one, I'm sure you would have been awake
I remember how hot tears came flowing from others and my face
I wish I can gather them as they leave on everyone's faces, the trace
I missed being able to run to you as you hold me in a warm embrace
You saved my blushes many times and kept me away from the shame
Nothing compares to the genuine smiles from your scaled lips
I am grateful for the opportunity of having you as a father
Your kindness touched me and I'm encouraged to walk even farther
Your good heart changed us to become kinder
All I could say is that we are doing fine
Memories of you get better with years like a fine wine
You taught me about confidence and now with kings and princes I fine
There was no denying the fact that you gave us your best when you were here
Your work was done and now you are gone but still feels like yesterday
I picked so many lessons from you while you were alive, even when you left
So many people you held so high and dear
After your demise, they didn't even come near
Loyalty kicked to the curb and they all left us with life alone to bear
We made the most of it and now we hold no fear
As we hit the full throttle and now moving in life with utmost gear
In this time and age, anyone can be a father
But I know deep down that it takes someone special to be called daddy
Daddy, I missed having you around...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

30
$ 4.32
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Trifecta
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Poem, Poetry, Personal, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Comments

I see a kindred spirit. You are a poet. :) I think poetry is so deeply personal and so I love the fact that you use poetry to pay tribute and homage to your loved ones while giving us a window to your heart. Beautiful work.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love what you said about "window to my heart". That's just what it is. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those peoms are really interesting. I really love hearing reading poems alot. You really tried by keeping all this pictures

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have read this poems and I really got impressed that you have added related pictures to them and it is creating links

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. That means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An ode to family, a beautiful spectacle. Sunshine sandwiched between gloom on both sides, illuminating your heart and soul in your moments of grief. This is very beautiful and heart warming. There's nothing as difficult as the loss of parents especially at a young age. I'm happy you're growing stronger by the day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, brother. Delights me to know you enjoyed them. Yes, added hers in between them as a sign of hope. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such treasure words that can only be found from the deepest hearts. I love the most in your daughter's poem. Hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaay. Glad you enjoyed it. Indeed, what comes from the heart touches the heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a genuine write-up, it's really sad to loose a loved one, life without them looks like everything will crumble but at the end we will rise again..... My heartfelt wishes to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we will rise again. Thank you so much Ayo. I'm grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really a nice thing to remember our lost loved ones. Nice combo of poets sir They're charming

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you love the combo. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pleasure is mine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still a deep meaning gave us an idea about love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our sunshine,,,, Princess Dara. Maybe I should start learning how to write poem from my master 🙃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha come and teach me how to sing first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which one you dey do for Hive Open Mic? Na poem? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na flex 🤣🤣😂. Even me sef I don't know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will expose you to the admin so they would stop upvoting you 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shey bi na you kuku send me away for 3 weeks before I came back. Take all the upvote, you still won't spend the money until dip finish you 😂😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How will I spend when, at the end of it all, na 11% dem go remove? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣🤣😂 na my head catch you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤪🤪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make I go find song.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love kids and I made a secret promise that if by any chance I ever find a woman and by other chances that I fall in love with her and she to me and a miracle happens and we get marry and another miracle happens that we give birth, I made a secret promise that I will be writing a poem every single day to my daughter, it will be our secret daddy to daughter poems and I will want to save every single one of them sef. But I don't think that miracle or mistake will ever happen because some things in life are not meant for everyone..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That would be absolutely sweet and as you said, miracle...a miracle is a miracle and it would happen to you. I'm trusting God for your miracle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poem describes how you feel about someone most especially it's about feelings and trying to reach out through your mind. I'm wondering when I would read an epistle of your beloved wife.... I would so glued to the screen reading and feeling love .... Because love is the basic thing you write about your love ones.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely, darling..it's all about love. I've written about her many times on Hive too. Would dig them up and share them later. Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would be so delighted to hear it 🥰🥰..... At least coming from someone that has love in him ..... Omo love is sweet but they have blind us with fake love up and down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha blame the social media that paints fake images that makes everyone believe in what's not real. I feel you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir Ola, this is so sweet. One advice to you.... Bookmark this page, try to get it on a flash drive, cos it will make a good memory in the days to come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smart idea my dear. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This are wonderful poet for your loved ones.. it's even making blush on their behalf

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I like that. Thank you so much. Glad you liked them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a great poet uncle..I like them all.. Your little girl is really cute 😁..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, sweet Janey. I really appreciate your lovely words, darling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a poem is read for a verse. I like the poem my friend. A bright star illuminating a world in the dead of night I saw the star I saw? It's you.... godbless your girl

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaaaay. Let's put some verses there and rap it out hahahaha. Thank you so much and Amen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too thanks dear friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime and no worries, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay dear friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊🤗🤗👏👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see lots of love, memories and longing in here, this is beautiful and heart touching.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Deeply appreciate the fact that you enjoyed them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So nice of you remembering your parent always, and there you have a beautiful daughter.am sure you are fond of her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Yes, I am really fond of her. Deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so special and amazing. Making a poem for the most important people in your life. Sorry, I think you're missing one person here. Your wifey.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I didn't want to make the post too lengthy that's why I didn't insert hers there. Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's great having nice memory of your parents and putting it in poem is a great work

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you...that's the only way to keep them forever in my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfect way to pay homage to our departed souls of parents. People that are not with us but were close to our heart we all missed them. Your daughter is face of your mother. Love her like you do previously.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much and you have such a wonderful eyes to know that she looks like my mum facially. That was smart of you to notice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to write poem and song lyrics.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good, my friend. It's nice. I do that for my brother who sings too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago