Some of my Favourite Poems.

40 104
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Poem, Poetry, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

This is for poem lovers. They are always simple and short but carry so much meaning...deeper than lengthy words because they allow our thoughts and minds to wander as we try to paint a perfect picture of what the message carries...

Love For Fathers - Deserved.

Image Source.

To the Fathers out there not sperm donors
Who put the interest of their home above theirs
To the Fathers out there, not the ones without the involvement
Who understands the sanctity of fatherhood and lives by it
I celebrate you all even though we don't get the praise we deserve too
We don't do it for the accolades and the glam
We do it because our hearts beat for our home
Moved my responsibilities and the emotions that come with it
Even if we act tougher it's not that deep as they would call it
We have enormous responsibilities tied to our necks and we bear them with grace
We have foresight, an incredible heart that is widerΒ  to love than the ocean
Our appetite to always give our best cannot be fully satisfied
Oh! No matter how you spin it, our roles cannot be classified
We are many things and we try to be everything
Fathers are incredible beings with enormous responsibilities, abilities and potential
Cheers to every father in the world saddled with so much and bear it with grace
Cheers to every father out there consistently giving his best to his home
Cheers to every father out there who feels underappreciated
We don't do it for the glam, we do it because we feel
Happy Father's Day to each and every one of you

There Is Hope.

Image Source.

I don't understand how this country is going, this Nigeria
It's not surprising that we are living in mass hysteria
Most African countries have issues, see Liberia
It has to do with the way we think and lack of exposure
Oh scratch that, we are exposed but we imbibe the wrong cultures
We see the good things being done by the external world
We ignore them but imbibe the horrible things they do instead
We keep screaming about independence but we are not free
We have been sold out to our archaic ways of thinking
Sold out to our beliefs that we held on so strong to
Leaving no room for open minds and the desired change
We want things to change but we are stuck to the old ways
We scream democracy but we have been demonstrating a craze
How long can this go on? I don't know and I'm tired to think that far
Amid all our rubbles, I know there is hope
There is hope for humanity and there is hope for Nigeria
There is hope for our leaders and even the citizens
It would kick into effect if we can first try to be better humans
We can't give what we are not or don't have
Change the way we think and we would achieve more
Change the way we see things and act selfless, then we can turn this sinking ship around

When I See Your Face...

Image Source.

When I see your face there is this burning sensation I feel
There is no end to the emotions and the thrill
You held my hand and my heart froze, I was still
If you look into my eyes, you would see you are my only gaze
Oh, darling, you must be tired because you've been running through my mind
Oh, my darling, you are phenomenal, you are one of a kind
Every distraction away from my view I have bind
I just want to wrap you in my arms in a sweet and warm embrace
Lock lips with you as I smell the texture of your skin
While having my fingers run through your hair as I feel you intensely
Holding your body against mine is a feeling that I couldn't describe in words
This feeling transcends what words can fully capture
Are you a photographer in disguise? Why? Because you got me captured
Forever printed in my heart, you are always in my heart, featured
When I see your face, all my worries and fears are banished
Because I've been loved by the best and I am perfectly in love with you

Unheard.

Image Source.

She looked back many times because her hope has been dashed
So many times deep within her mind, her emotions clashed
There are so many things about life that cannot be grasped
Within her thoughts, she felt all alone and banished
Her ego has been bruised, dignity was taken away and tarnished
She tried to look her best and still offer the world her smile, garnished
With no one to trust and nowhere to go, she enjoys her own company
Her misery and sometimes fickle happiness sometimes meet
But the overpowering influence always tilted toward her misery
She felt hard done by with life as everyone around her left her
They left her with no guilty conscience pricking their minds
With an uncle that sees no good in her other than as a sex object
To parents who didn't value her because they felt she wasn't the boy they sought
Every of her experience with those closest to her was the way she felt life taught
Backed to a corner, she knows even her loyalty cannot be bought
She lived her life seeking approval from everyone
Now she has grown to enjoy only her own company
Amidst the brief joy and endless pain

Would share some more from my Hive account tomorrow or later...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's whyΒ  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

26
$ 2.89
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 14
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Poem, Poetry, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Comments

I love your poem😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Father are very important in the life of many children they have so many responsibilities to play in the family, whereas the mother,

Happy fatherday!!!!!! Nice poem from there, really love to read more about them

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I appreciate this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha love it, and can I just say there are many I know who only are sperm donors. The end. Your words are always relatable. 😊

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yaaaaaay. My sweet momma is here. My night is made already. Thank you so much, momma.

How is mum doing now?

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you and thank you for asking, dear. Tonight, me and Tia try to pamper her as she just sits on her chair ever since she came home from the hospital. She doesn't want to do anything just because she's not fit. We try to take her mind off what makes her feel bad. And Tia did a very good job today.

I'm physically strong, dear it's just that emotionally I'm weak coz it's hard seeing her like this. But I'm focusing on her health now. I want her well.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

God bless your hearts and Tia is always a darling. I am so glad you are trying to take her minds off it. I can only imagine how emotionally draining it must be for you, momma. I believe everything would turn out so great. Keep being strong momma...and never forget that you look so beautiful when you smile. Let your smiles heal mum and also give you hope to keep forging ahead knowing she would be fine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing as sweet and beautiful as good poetry. From the fathers' own to the wailing about Nigeria's situation then shadowing into love. I just love it all. It's just like listening to a good mix of RnB soul while trying to sleep.

Perfect dosage for a cold day!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yaaaay. You enjoyed the dose and the mix... Hahaha. I love how you described this. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ I can't help myself Thank you for sweet dose! πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I am glad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some of the thoughts pertains to a great father. This is profound in meaning and the only who knows every passage is the author. Honestly, I'm not good at interpreting poems. Their might have different views when other people try to interpret it. I appreciate this peace ola!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Yes, I know how deep and confusing poems can be that's why I always make mine easy to read with simple words that wouldn't leave the readers lost.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So nice and creative I must say! Happy father's day to you sirπŸŽ‰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having a father is the best sensation of happiness, and writing a poem is the best way of expressing gratitude towards our father on how much we loved them

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I totally agree. They all deserved our love and appreciation for their wonderful roles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am a big-time fan of poetry too, but for reasons deep within I don't write I just like seeing and hearing others pour out their sorrows and worries and emotions and I will be there to try and try as much as I can to get the sense of everything said. I don't want to start talking about Nigeria now because I know this is a poem, so let me just skip to love, ooh ooh I don't believe in love so yeah let's go back to fathers, the society we live in now gives women all the credits and the fathers get little or even none because they are considered men they just in to suck it all up and continue being men, but when the crisis in the family arises that is when they are seen and heard most of the time. So yeah Fathers happy men days to all the men and fathers out there.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha I totally understand you wanting to skip the love and Nigeria topics hahaha.

Yes, the roles of father should also be appreciated. We have acted too strong for too long that they would say it's weakness to have a man cry as if we don't have emotions too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your poems and that one about Nigeria caught me more. Yes, I also think there's hope and that will come soon by God's goodness and grace. Anyways, happy father's day!πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, my friend. Nigeria is a funny country and I can only hope things get better...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It will, just keep the faith.πŸ’—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My favourite poem is daffodils which is written by William Wordsworth who was lake poet

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haven't read that one before and hopefully I should.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pen spread the pure feelings of heart on canvas in shape of words. Amazing poems!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I am really grateful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How amazingly you describe the feelings of the one who remains unheard and begins to feels comfort in her own company.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am happy to hear that. Yes, I want to capture the essence of her troubles and how she kept to herself based on the way the society would judge her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I derive from the three wonderful poem is their good tune and rhythm

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yaaaaaay. It takes good eyes to spot that and you have good eyes. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just the beauty of a poem, the rhythm brings out the besuty

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I absolutely agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear friend you are great poet I admire your words about father. He no doubt deserved all respect you mentioned. Moreover, your poem for your love is Charming my face. You have no doubt warm feelings for her. Happy Father's Day brother, have a good day.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much my friend. I am always excited to read from you. God bless your heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your poem, when I see your face there is a burning sensation i feel, miss you dad..the love you have for your father is just different

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much. Deeply appreciate your kind words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great poems Mr Ola, hoping to read more tomorrow. My favourite is the last poem...."unheard" I just love your play of words and how you captured in a piece; what some females actually go through. The poem had a sad ending indeed.

And also, if only you saw how I kept checking the picture you used to write "when I see your face," hmmm, let's not go there .πŸ˜‚ All poems are lovely Sir, thanks for sharing these great piece with us.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ Ella is a lover girl...now I know.

Thank you so much, Ella. I am glad you enjoy these poems. Indeed, some ladies go through so many unimaginable things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago