Shut The Door.

50 86
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

Our mind is like a gateway for all the things we allow into our space. Our mind is so powerful because whatever we feel, consciously or unconsciously, we allow it into our subconscious and we begin to act it out. Most of the time we act without knowing, most of the things we have been exposed to and allowed into our space. We see ourselves acting it out and begin to wonder how we got to that point.

We need to be deliberate about the way we think and see things because, in the long run, it would have that impact on us whether we want it or not. Life experiences made us into who we are by the virtue of exposure.

Exposure never ceases because if it is not by the things we have gone through then it can be by the testimonies of what others have gone through; either through words or observation. In fact, reading is another form of exposure and the media outlets are there too. We are being bombarded with events and things that can demoralize us. We don't always have control over the things happening around us but we can control the things happening within us with conscious effort.

We need to be intentional about the things we allow into our space. We must guard our minds because they influence how we turn out. This is why I detached from reading anything political. I've been used to seeing politicians loot money and go into an office for that purpose. The turning point for me was when someone asked me what I would do if I become the president of my country and the only answer I gave was, "I am made for life".

It's shameful because that's not what service should be all about but I have been influenced indirectly without direct teaching but by observation. I didn't want to be defined by the actions or inactions of others. I decided to be intentional about the things I allow into my space.

The moment we allow that bit of fear creeps in, we have been limited. If you allow confusion to set in then you can't see with clarity. All these tiny bits don't look like much of an influence but they are. They are the tiny bits that control the whole. They look inconsequential but they can make or mar us. It takes an uphill task not to go downhill - the rabbit hole.

Image Source.

What other life do you have other than this? Guard it. What other choice do you have than to make yourself happy? Be committed to it. In this life, a lot of decisions have been taken away from us and rather than try to force control it is better we accept the things we can't change while focusing our energy on the things we can change. I can't control how our government choose to act even if I protest from now till the end of their tenure but I can control how I see things and how I allow their actions get to me. I have that much power in my space.

Shut the door against negativity of any kind. Don't allow yourself to hate anyone. Don't give room to fear either. Don't inherit the enemies of others. You are also not doing God a favour when you are judging others. Their shortfalls won't still make you more perfect if you already are. A lot of people have gotten themselves into trouble all because they allowed some negativity into their space.

You failed, so what? Whatever you did, that's who you are, no doubt but it's not who you will always be. She turned you down, so what? He told you that you are not up to his standards and so? You need to stop beating yourself up when others are kicking you.

I am not asking you not to hurt or feel pain, by all means, do but don't let those negative situations create a failing mindset in you. If you don't let those things in, too deep then you can get through it. The attention we give to a particular situation makes it more than what it is. The situation is not that bad but how we react to it makes it even worse.

You can go through that pain, that loneliness, those hard times and even that rejection. You can rise above that strife, those haters, that demotion, confusion, heartbreak, backbiting, unemployment, shame, being broke, gang up and so on... because they don't determine who you will be unless you allow it. Learn how to go through it and not allow it to go through you. You will definitely be fine. It's a process...

The story of the donkey that got stuck in a hole always plays in my head. The owner tried everything to bring it out but no hope. He thought to himself that rather than just leave it there, he should just heap sand on it and bury it there. With every heap of sand thrown at it, the donkey would shake it off and then step on it. The more sand the owner throws, the more shaking the donkey did till it came within reach of being rescued by the owner.

Whatever negativity comes your way, it's not easy but learn to analyze, be objective, shake it off and use it as a step towards being better. Shut that door to negativity. You have a lot more to accomplish so you shouldn't go down without a fight.

Thank you for your time.

23
$ 10.36
$ 9.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

That is why meditation and staying healthy is important, it helps us to think better and make good decisions. Reading helps us to open new doors that we had closed and to balance our thoughts. The best way to face our fears is to try without looking back. I really enjoyed your post, to complete ourselves, we must first learn to accept and love ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this one, negativity is always there that surprise us whenever they want, I'm also a negative thinker personbefore doing things I think of the negative possibilities first, but now that I'm sick of that attitude, I stay positive thinking and when negativity started crowding my mind again I let them but I distract myself as fast as I can to forget negative thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to be deliberate about the things we authorize into our space. We must preserve our minds because they manipulate how we turn out. Let positivity thinking surrounds you when everything is going well and when it's bad

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is so true...it calls for us being deliberate about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this. Negativity is inevitable. They can creep in at any time. And sometimes drag us deeper into the darkness.. But we should shut the door before it takes over our system. There are always ways to escape from negativity. It's just a matter of diverting our mindset into positive

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Spot on, Janey. We just need to divert our mindset because it's easy for it to creep in at any time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oftentimes, I feel demotivated and unproductive because I don't guard my thoughts. I'm an overthinker and a pessimist too. I would not welcome the idea of being positice and hope for the best especially when I'm hoping for it for a long time and I don't get anything positive in return. I lose hope and so I let things be and think negatively as I could. The more the negative the better at least it will not allow me to have false hope. This has been my problem.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally understand you but you can't allow so much negativity in because it weighs you down and you might fail to see opportunities because your mind has been clouded. Try and overlook those negativities even though it's not easy. Train your mind to build your mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. I will be working for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where I also like in your article is where you said, learn how to go through it and not allow it to go through you. Nice and beautiful article my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have the ability to do almost anything. And make our dreams possible. But we are limited in doing those things because of the negativity that we, ourselves, let in our minds. Which causes fear and confusion, ultimately leading to us not being able to do the things we would want to achieve. So yeah, we should shut down all the negativity in our minds. And focus on looking for the positive things in every situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is beautiful. You hit the nail on the head. Lovely comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks @Olasquare. Your article really made me comment this. But you're actually right. Negativity won't go away unless we make it go away.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...we need to take the step...it's our choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The ability to shake off negativity is not so easy but requires training and discipline to achieve. What we need to focus on in the midst of challenges is the way out by analysing the problem and seeking solutions based on the current situation. Life is tough but we can be tougher.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love this 🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The analogy of the entrapped donkey sums it all up. Indeed, we are not promised of a problem-free life, but there's a choice for victory or defeat that only we can make.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, my dear. It's all about our choices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is full of up's and down side we should try to be optimistic in all we do never give room for doubt .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I read this line in your post "Shut the door against negativity of any kind. Don't allow yourself to hate anyone. Don't give room to fear either.".. I got goosebumps because this is exactly what my dad taught me growing up. He always said, no matter what the situation is, DO NOT PANIC... great post

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a lovely man he is. Thanks a lot for this. Yes, we must not panic and we must take charge of every situation no matter how daunting. Not easy, but it's worth trying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so right, we are the masters of our space and we are the ones who allow it to influence us or not. For our own good we must accept what we cannot change and understand the difference.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, my friend. We must control our own space and shut the door against anything that wants to drag us down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world is a beautiful place. The only thing that has gone weird are the inhabitants in it, they have turned the world to a place where corruption rules.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes...and our thoughts contributed a lot to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must learn to shut off negativity to give room for the positives. There are so much wonderful out there amidst adversities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, my friend. So much beauty in the world despite the negatives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the donkey story so much! Thank you for imparting such amazing story along with beautiful insights.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed. It takes practice and discipline to not focus on the negativity. It's still a challenge for it happens to all of us. However, we have the choice how to react when it happens. Have a stronger resolve to not dwell on the bad things and focus on the good things instead.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. We don't always have the choice to control what comes to us but we have a choice on how to react to it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not very easy to do so and when I was young I can't just do it even if I wanted too. But I guess it only takes courage and perfect timing. Real people stay and the toxic ones I stayed away from.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely, momma. It is not always easy. It takes serious effort and we need to be courageous too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good things and bad things always come in handy my friend. It is for us to decide to shut ourselves to negativity in our life for it will do no good in our journey here on earth. Use the negativity to be your stepping stone to become much better person in the process. A blessed Day to you my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, dear. We need to use those negative influences as a springboard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When there is a storm on the sea, the ship has a big chance of surviving it but if water gets in the ship, the chances of survival would drastically reduce.

It is the same thing with our mind, allowing negativity will only take us down so we must turn every negativity into a stepping stone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is beautiful, brother. Absolutely... A little water now and then would sink the ship.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We must ensure we guard our mind diligently.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely spot on...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good and bad are everywhere. It will always be a part of life. But, there is also so much good in the world. Let's hold onto that thought as we are bombarded by images of pure chaos, pain, and hurt that have occurred. Good afternoon, my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend. I enjoyed this contribution. We are being bombarded every angle and we need to guard our mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome, my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm bae is like this content is talking to me because sometimes I do have some negative thought over what I want to do And even get scared of some things I should do But as I have read this now I will try and live today without negativity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed this and love it dear. Absolutely, we need to channel those negativities into positives because there is always a battle against our minds. You will be fine, boo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I believe that I will be fine dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's my babe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah bae

$ 0.00
2 years ago