Learning Never Stops.

46 81
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I've come to understand one thing about life and that's what birthed by topic. No one can confidently say he or she knows it all and doesn't need another person. Whether we like it or not, directly or indirectly, intentional or unintentional, we learn every single day.

We learn from various things and different situations. There is nothing we can't learn from; living or non-living things. I have learnt diligence from the ants because they work while they can, gather as much as they can and when the rain comes, they stay indoor to feed on what they have gathered. In unison, they can carry what is twice their size and weight because they have learned to work together and humans need to learn this. No one is an island and no one can monopolize knowledge because just where your learning peaked that's what someone else already improved on and moved past. We can all do well when we have an open mind to learn and determine what we apply to our lives.

OBSERVATION.

Apart from learning through studies, we can also learn by observation. There are things we pick up by merely observing the situation or the individual. It takes a sensitive mind to observe by merely looking at the situation. Many things pass us by but when we make careful observation then we can make critical thinking as we can figure things out without actually being told.

The mind is powerful and capable of learning if we give ourselves to learning. You can learn by merely observing your environment. There are so many problems in the world and those who solve problems first observe the pattern and then seek ways to improve. Someone once said that if you are the one to observe a particular problem then maybe it is yours to fix. Either you do it or escalate to those who can get it done. There are so many things we can learn and so many problems we can solve by observation.

How do we get to know someone? How do we know so much about someone in a short space of time? We observe their actions and see the pattern. When we observe the behaviour of others it helps us to connect with them and understand them better same with situations. I sure know I have learnt a lot about loyalty from dogs. I am sure you must have seen videos of how dogs tried to save their owners or raise alarms for them to be saved.

I learnt how to be free and not take things to heart from the birds. A friend of mine asked me why I don't get too bothered about things and it took me a while to get there. I just want to let those weight off because if you want to travel fast then you must go light. I want to be in control of my thoughts and actions as much as I can.

I observed the eagles and I learnt about strength. Many people don't understand that the eagle won't move against the current or the waves rather the eagle uses it to propel itself to greater heights. I learnt to use whatever comes my way as a stepping stone to better things. I have trained myself to use whatever comes my way to be strong. I have a long list of happenings in my life that I never knew I could overcome and I am sure I would share them someday and of course, they would come out in my book also. I am excited about it.

Problems will always come and that's the bitter truth. There are some things we cannot escape so rather than pray for lighter burdens we should pray for more strength instead. I've picked up so many lessons in my life by mere observation because I am not much of a talker but when I need to talk you can be sure I won't stop talking. I know I don't have all the time to learn from experience, I have to be observant to learn many things that experience might not teach me or people might not be patient enough it explain to me.

Image Source.

READING.

Of course, we also learn by reading. Someone said that most Africans are so lazy to read and if you want to hide anything just hide it in a book. We learn a lot by reading and we need to take reading seriously. By reading, we are reading years worth of experience that others have gone through and not reading means we are missing out a lot. It starts as simple as reading people's posts on read cash. We need to cultivate that habit so we can master it.

"He is not a fool who loses what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose." - Anonymous.

We don't have time and we can't hold it still and using time, we should read as much because whatever we have gained would stay with us for as long as we live. Reading is not a function of age either and as long as you have the desire to learn, by all means, read.

TEACHING.

We can also learn by teaching others. Most people try to hoard the things they know and that's sad. The more you keep hoarding the less you know. The trick about teaching is that the more you reach the more your brain process things and the more it processes the more you gain insight into things. I got to know about this truth when I was teaching back then. I would have read and prepared before going to meet my students and while teaching and explaining, things I never thought about would surface and I get to share to angle to it.

When people ask you questions, learn to teach. We learn when people ask us questions too because it shows they want to know and it shows you both can learn together. Teaching is both ways because you are reminding yourself of the things you know while making it stay fresh in your mind while also imparting knowledge to others. When you are asked questions, what you know gets challenged and only by that way can you learn further.

Anyone can teach us and that includes even a baby, nature and even the ants as mentioned earlier.

EXPERIENCE.

We also learn by experience and won't be dwelling too much on this. What we sometimes fail to learn through study and observations or by asking questions then we have to learn by experience. Some experiences can be costly while some can be necessary. There are some lessons we can't help but learn by experience because they cannot be taught. Imagine someone trying to give birth to a baby. I am sure the woman must have been prepped and maybe watched quite a few videos but still, she understands better only when she goes through that process.

It's okay to also make mistakes because you will learn how not to do certain things anymore. Our experience is often our reality and we can't avoid it sometimes. Life has its way of humbling us so we live and learn as we pass through life.

In all that you do, in every way that you can, never stop learning.

Thank you for your time.

21
$ 8.79
$ 7.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @George_Dee
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 13
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Great one sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I appreciate your article this reminds the words that my mum told me when I was young. "you are never too old to grow, go on and let your experience teach you. " and it is a yes that we should never stop learning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What a smart woman. She is so right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. That's me maybe I'm African lol. I'm lazy to read!!! But I'm glad there's an audiobook and Youtube to learn from. We learn every day as long as we are breathing. We learn what we want to learn. I wish I was techy but no I'm not and it's just that I'm not interested. So I will learn things that I put my heart on. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha you are African mama... Your smile is so sweet too 🥰🥰🥰.

I love what you said about learning what you put your heart to and that's the most important thing. When we want to learn, we must put our hearts into it. It helps the way our brain process things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is only dead people that can stop learning and even if you died and sure God will sure you your mistakes so that Incase you were reborn you won't do such again Meanwhile knowledge is power we learn everyday because we can't know it all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely...no one knows it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We only stop learning when death comes knocking and I believe that life has a multitude of things to teach us every day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very correct. We learn a lot with life daily. Thanks a lot, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, learning is a continuous thing. The day you stop learning, that day you begin to die. Learning is life long.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning by experience is the most meaningful way of learning for me because you got to participate in the whole learning process. You didn't just read a phrase or speak a sentence or seen a behavior. You are the main actor in the play

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true and I love what you said about being involved in the learning process by experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best way i learn is through teaching and experiences. I might read something so many times but if I don't practice it or talk about it to someone else, I forget it sooner than later.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's why we need to teach as we learn more. I love your practical example. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is all about learning ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I just want you to know that I always learn something new for every article I read from you.

Indeed, learning to live in this world is a lifetime education, we only graduate when we perish. Thank you for this insightful article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel so honoured by your words, my friend. This encouraged me. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always my pleasure. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as we're alive, we will continue to learn everyday. From taking a walk in the street to boarding a bus and interacting with people around us. Learning never stops. We sometimes make mistakes and realise we should have done things a different way. Learning is a continuous process.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, my brother. It is a continuous process and we should give ourselves to it to get the best out of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We stop learning the day we stop breathing. I have also learned from birds, ants, dogs, lions, even sheep. Learning also has come in handy to me through reading and I am always opened to new things I never knew before. We must be ready to learn as we can only be a fool if we do not allow ourselves to learning each day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very true, my dear. Learning has opened us to new things and new possibilities too. We must learn every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In almost everywhere we learn. It doesn't stop as you said so. All those things you've said are true. In school we learn how to become smart and in street we learn how to become wise. And being learned from those things makes us surpass our challenge in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we learn in various ways and we are better for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning is one thing we will do till death comes knocking if we ever want to grow in life.

I love how to spread the topic out, my mentor would say that " a person is dead when he or she decides to stop learning ". The world doesn't stop, it is improving everyday and learning is the only thing that can make you relevant with every improvement

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very true, brother. The world keeps changing and if we don't keep learning we won't be relevant as the current trends keep changing. There are opportunities in learning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we grow everyday in our lives, our needs change and we learn new things to adapt to our needs. Learning is something that commences the day we're born and still continues until our last minute on earth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly...learning never stops and we can learn from anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is no end to the learn of life. Man learns many things till death.i think it's a wonderful article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right about learning through all those mentioned. A person who thinks he knows all will never learn something :) Someone said when we cease to learn, we cease to grow and it is true. And if I may add, we also learn by traveling :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very well... We learn endurance by travelling just as nature teaches us too. The moment we block our thoughts from learning then we stop growing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right there...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep.. learning doesn't stop... every day we learn something new and I agree with you read as much as you can because you will learn a lot from it. thanks for sharing your article with us

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your thoughts as well. Really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suitable words and excellent execution. This type of motivational content is much needed. You narrated everything perfectly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those will surely help us in our learning. We should be willing to learn and not focus on what we know for what we know might be wrong or there is something better. So keep learning :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What we know changes with the changing world and that's why we need to keep updating what we know. We need to unlearn and relearn to stay relevant. Thanks for your lovely input.

$ 0.00
2 years ago