Deadline.

50 80
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

I got asked this question and it's not as simple as it is sometimes because we would always have different opinions on this depending on who we are and what motivates us. I shared my own perspective and how I would approach the matter. I would love to read about yours.

Topic: "You're behind on a project at work and it could seriously affect your career but you can make up the time on the weekend. The problem is you are committed to a family function and cannot do both. Which do you do and why? Remember, doing both is not an option."

There is an adage that says "Look out for yourself because everyone else is taken". I've never been a social function kind of person and most people know this. A lot of people know how I can be when it comes to a social function, so they don't take it to heart when I don't show up even though they wish I can show up. I don't take undue advantage of this and I try to be as honest as I can be.

I've done so many best man duties in my life that I've lost count on the number of suits that I have bought. Do you know why? Because they know I might not show up for the wedding, they ask me to either be the best man to commit me or be one of the groomsmen so I can be "forced" in a way to come.

I am sometimes critical of those who put social function ahead of the most important thing to do. The good thing about me missing out on certain social functions is that I know how to make up for them. I want to say I am generally a nice person so it makes it easier for people when I make them understand certain reasons why I can't show up for certain functions. There was a commitment that clashed with my childhood's friend introduction and it weighed me down because I knew he might not be happy with it. I had to call him that early morning to explain the situation of things to him through video call. For such a situation, a video call would do justice to it and that was what I did. He cared enough to understand and it was the same wedding I later went for as one of the groomsmen.

This was the wedding I missed the introduction in January. I went for the wedding in May.

I think when you are dealing with people that understand you, people that are open and not rigid, it wouldn't be difficult to explain to them why you might not be in certain functions especially when your life or career depends on it. If I were asked to pick between my career and a social function that wants to make me look good, I think I would make the obvious choice which is my career. What's the point in attending a social family function when my life hangs in the balance? What will I explain to even my family members as to why I derailed on my path due to trying to make up the numbers in a social family function?

There are many more family functions that I will still attend but I only have one career path. Even my family members should understand this after I've explained to them what's at stake. Losing my career to make up for the number at a function doesn't sound wise because I doubt they would come through for me when I am struggling to get by. I've seen a lot in the short space of time that my dad passed away to know that it's every man for himself. There is no one that would bear your burden because they also have their burdens. Everyone is trying to get by so they would prioritize themselves over me, it is logical for me to do the same.

If it's a family function that is so important that I can't go, I would ask my wife and daughter to attend on my behalf while I sort out the things I need to do at work and beat the deadline. I can't do both so I would gladly pick my career that puts food on the table for my family, that makes other family members want to relate with me because of it. If I wasn't doing so well and great, I doubt they would even want to include me in that family function, to begin with so I wouldn't want to drop the standard just to look good.

If it was a fixed family function between my wife and I, we would gladly reschedule because I believe she would be the most understanding on that part since my source of livelihood can be affected and she wouldn't want that because she would also be affected in the long run if anything goes wrong.

It's about how we choose to explain it. How we sometimes explain determines how others receive things and if they still choose to receive it in a way that I didn't expect, I would take solace in the fact that I've done what I am expected to do and if they spin the story even for an outsider, I doubt any reasonable person would take their side by saying I should attend at the detriment of my career.

I would look out for myself first because my career is important and along the way, I would seek ways to make up to them. I can visit the couple (if it was a wedding), I can visit the family later on (if it was a burial) and if it was just a social family bonding moment, I can shoulder the responsibility for the next one that I would plan after a month or so just to make up for the one I missed. It's okay to put yourself first but I won't disrespect them by not making up for it or explaining to them why I am doing what I did. It all boils down to making them realize and understand my view of things by apologizing for it and looking for how to make up for it.

The choice is clear to me, I would always pick my career over any family function.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

20
$ 1.95
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 16
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

I love the way you explain things. Surely career is more important than any function. Event or family functions are important but you to put it on a scale of preference and see if you don't have any other more important things to do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you brother... exactly. We have to weigh it and understand how important it is... I would pick career because that's a source of livelihood and if it's hampered, even so called family members won't be there to help out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That suit looks so great on you Mr. Ola, as for me I rarely choose social function over my important duties, unless they force me like what you've said they often make me a secial guest or something that is important in that said event, I'm mot fond of social functions and I'm glad that those people around me is very much understanding, I also done things to make it up, I believed on what theyvsays that if you're in the right people theyvwould understand and you don't need to feel bad about yourself for doings such thing.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love this...the right people would always be understanding after hearing the severity of the situation. They won't even put you in that spot in the first place that you will have to choose one day's event over what makes you, you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

KP, the answer is obvious na 😂😂😂

Na career I go choose oo. There will always be many functions to attend, but your career? That is what you feed on right? What matters is getting them to understand you and that is it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha and if they don't understand, that's their headache o because they won't be there to give me money if anything goes south.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes na 😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are very handsome. you have a beautiful smile. i would try to do both, there is always time for everything.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Yes, it would be nice to do both so we wouldn't have to choose at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well it is good that you are prioritising your career. Specially because your career is providing for you and your family. By prioritising it you are actually prioritising your family. Although I must say there are some functions that you should not skip. Specially if the person is very important to you. Like your daughter's wedding for instance. Hopefully you will not have to make that choice.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can still regulate my daughter's wedding... Because my daughter wouldn't even want my life t be ruined in the process plus a daughter's wedding would have been planned ahead of time and even those in your office would have known before then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well yes you'd like to think so but what if there was an office emergency then too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Office can wait... Like I said, it makes it easier to make such a choice because even office would understand and they won't make it a break or make for a career...but trust me, I've seen those who still picked their career and the child understood 😂😂🤣😂. It's all about the gravity of what's at stake.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It would be a terrible thing to choose social functions over one life or career, I have bluntly rejected invites in the past months because it wasn't part of my plan for the year.

I have disappointed a lot of people when it comes to missing their big day and I don't make up for anything, as long as the person who is involved doesn't care to understand me then I don't stress myself explaining anything.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha I love this. Yes, if they behave badly to the news about my career rather than understand, there is no need to make anything up because they are simply selfish and inconsiderate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's my belief sir, we all have priorities. I can abandon my event if the money involved is huge so why should I feel bad about chasing the bag on a day where am I just a guest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣😂😂🤣🤣 just a guest part got me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uncle, this your suit fine oooo. You look like a footballer that is about to recieve the balloon d'or

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂 on a second thought, you are right o. Me sef dey think am o. 😂🤣😂 Thanks boo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In anything we do or want to do we should put ourselves first Because it is you that you've got

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We are all we've got my dear... career first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will choose also my career friend if I'm going to choose between the two because if my family love me they will definitely understand why I chose the other one. Career is really important because we work it for our family also. It's for them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's it... If they truly love you, they won't put you in a position to choose between a family function of a day and your career.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes true my friend ola instead they are always in your side supporting through your career.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that support is important...and it goes both ways as we can support then when nothing that grave is at stake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend that's why I'm really thankful to my family because they are always there supporting at me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a great blessing to have.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my friend ola. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤗🤗🤗 anytime...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Putting yourself, and career first is very important because that's what is demanding in the world today if you want to survive and succeed. So before you wish to embark on things like this, know you capacity, both financial and emotional. So you won't end up exhausting yourself in the process of doing good or attending that won't add anything positive to your life.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly. Attending it won't add anything to my life, so why should I bother myself about it when my career is at stake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The function can go on perfectly well without me being in attendance and there would be other things we would still celebrate together later. My career should be taken care of first.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Simple and short. That's just it. It would go on without me...I can attend others later.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would deal with the project too since that's for my family... Without my career, then life will be penniless 🤣.. I don't want it to happen..lol..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣😂😂🤣 exactly, Janeeeeeyyyyyy...without the career they will also suffer for it... Career above family function anytime and any day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well it's entirely your option if it is convenience for you...at least you have a wife and cute daughter to cover your presence...that's a nice move. Everyone else's prefer family to it maybe because they didn't have good reasons to justify it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's only logical and even common sense even if they don't have a wife or husband or a child. Attending the family function won't add anything to that person when his or her career is hanging by a thread. How would he even enjoy the party when his career is in jeopardy and there won't be anything to fall back on? It's basic common sense.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite true though but this solemnly depends on the person...and how he prioritize schedules and plans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course... It's all about planning...and the kind of person as you've rightly said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your career should the no 1 thing, it really good when you have money,

Thanks for this piece!.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not just money but a sense of direction... Thank you 👏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes that true!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

👏👏👏🙌🙌🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I will choose, my career also because we are all depending on this. you can have a celebration any time you want but if we lose our source of income what would happen to our family who depends on us? we are not obliged to other people to follow what they want when our commitment will turn into trouble.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly...what would happen to the same family when the source of livelihood is gone? We just have to check what's important to us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I highly appreciate your choice your own career is important than any other celebration. I'm also not social function attendies type of person give priority to my goals and career.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you shared the same sentiment with me, my friend. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago