Be Careful About What You Are Learning.

39 103
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I shared a post yesterday about the importance of learning and the various ways in which we learn. You can read the post here: "Learning Never Stops"

In as much as we are learning, we should be careful about the things we learn. There is wisdom in learning and also the application of what you are learning. Not everything you learned can be applied and that's the truth especially when you think about where you are from in terms of location, religion, environment and culture too. There are a lot of factors that would determine whether you can apply some of the things you learnt or not.

Often timing is very important when we want to apply what we have learnt. What's the essence of learning a thing and yet the application is wrong? We need to consider various factors before we apply our learnings.

Learning is wonderful, don't get me wrong but we should be more intentional about the things we are learning and how applicable it would be for our setting. There are so many things that teach you things that go against the 'norms' depending on where you are from. What are you learning? Are you learning the things that go against your culture or you are learning about things that can advance you? Are you putting others into consideration because what's the essence of learning if you cannot teach it? How you teach is dependent on the lessons you have learnt sometimes.

The effect or let me say the benefits of what we are learning should always play in our minds and we shouldn't just jump at just anything all because we want to do things the way others are doing them.

I watched this foreign movie many years ago when I was just fresh out of Secondary School (College). A child was accused of something and I think he didn't do it so his parents called him and asked him if he did it. He told them he didn't do it but still, he saw doubts on the faces of his parents. He was a bit disappointed and blurted out "It's hard enough that everyone thought I did it but it's worse having even my parents doubt and question me" and he walked away and told them he would be fine and slammed his door.

I was impressed with his choice of words and I was waiting for the opportunity to use it. You know when the only thing you have is a nail, every problem would appear to you as though it needed a nail to fix it. That was what happened to me. I was waiting for the opportunity to use it so I picked a very wrong time to do that and yet it was still a wrong application of what I "learnt".

I love words and that's why when I read people's posts, it might be just a particular word that struck me that I would pick and talk on. The same way when I read a book or watch a movie or even listen to a song, I love it when people play with words and that was why I picked up that statement in that movie. I can't even remember what happened in that movie anymore 😂😂😂🤣🤣.

Image Source.

Fast forward to when I entered the University. My dad sent me some money and precisely it was around 2 weeks so I exhausted that money. I was in my 3rd year then. As usual, I messaged him and told him I needed more money because I have exhausted it. I am good with words so I knew I composed the best of text without any insult or being rude. I saw his response and told me how I exhausted the money in just two weeks and I told him the line of what I learnt in the movie above 🤣🤣🤣😂😂.  Can you see what I meant when I said when the only thing you have is a nail, every problem would appear as though they required a nail? I shouldn't have even used that line even though I tweaked it for him a little.

So, I replied to him and told him "I had so many things to buy especially with our demanding lecturers and it wasn't last week dad, it was two weeks ago. Having to go through the stress of school is bad enough but having my dad doubt me on how I spent the money is worse. Don't worry about me, I will be fine." 😂😂🤣🤣😂😂😂 That was what I sent to him and I noticed he didn't reply. He called my two brothers to tell them what I sent and I noticed my phone was ringing with calls from left and right.

My first brother called me and told me I have no sense for sending that 😂😂😂🤣😂 and the second one perfectly and calmly told me that he said I should pack my things and leave school because he is not willing to continue paying for my school again since I said I will be fine. We later squashed it out and I apologized and he sent me some money. I picked the wrong lesson and applied it without respect for my culture because we don't do that here nor ever try that with an African parent. Apart from my wrong application, my timing was terrible because I know him to be very jovial neither did I know he was in pain at that time as he was sick but no one told me because they didn't want me to worry while I was close to writing my exams.

It wasn't long after, I felt uneasy and I demanded to go home from the school authorities. We take "exeat" once a month and since I hardly go home, I requested for it on a Friday but I should have applied since Wednesday but I didn't. I started feeling uneasy on Friday and tried my luck. I even went to meet our Chaplain then to beg him to consider me and check that I hardly travel and in all fairness he gave me.

I was at the gate signing out when the Chaplain told my best friend in school to ask me to come back to his office. I was scared because I thought he wanted to take it back. My best friend found me at the gate in time and relayed his message to me. I got to his office and my best friend was there and they asked me to sit down it was there and then I knew something terrible must have happened. Writing this is making me have goosebumps and yes, I just shed some tears.

My girlfriend back then that I used to send love notes to through my dad has the number of my best friend when he visited me that time. She was the one that called my best friend who quickly ran to the Chaplain before I was called back into his office. They volunteered to take me home that day. They drove me down and my brothers and uncle still didn't know I had known when they saw me alighting from the car. They were still teasing me for being rich to have booked an Uber but how could it be an Uber when my best friend was there with two Chaplains (even though they didn't know they were my chaplains).

Okay, I can't go further with this story because I didn't want to cry all over again but I know it's okay to cry but still, I will just stop the story right here.

The bottom line of what I was trying to say is that you don't have to apply everything you think you've "learnt". Timing is important and I didn't know he was sick that time that I blurted out my words. I am glad we settled it afterwards and we laughed even about it but that's humans - we feel we can do what we like without thinking about what the other person is going through. This is why timings being calm and considerate is important. We should be more sensitive and considerate to others, even in the things we learn.

Thank you for your time.

21
$ 10.05
$ 9.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

Timing is important I agree with that. If you do what you learned in inappropriate time maybe it will misunderstood.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Absolutely...it would be misunderstood. Thanks a lot, Yen 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you brother. Learning is important but we have to be very careful because sometimes we can learn the wrong things or the wrong way and it will affect our lives in the future. I have seen a lot of people learning how to trade and invest in cryptocurrencies but they lose their money when they try practically, this is because they have just learned easily but they have not been careful and learn the best strategies from the best tutors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true...learning and application should be carefully examined. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na movie you watch come copy that line to give your African Dad. You forgot culture is different 😅😅😅

Many times I have watched American movie where the children talk to their parents anyhow but you dare not try it with any African parents. You are dead 😅

This is why there are three sides to learning which are "Learn" "Unlearn" and "Relearn" You learn and apply the right one for you and improve yourself. It is not everything one needs to learn and apply into one's life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂🤣🤣🤣😂😂😂🤣 The moment it backfired I knew I had messed up. Glad we thrashed it out before he passed away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi na That is the important thing so you don't end up regretting the mistake you did while he was gone. May his soul continue to rest in the bosom of Christ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww it's good to know your culture doesn't have that. Haha. Even us here we're always scolded for talking back to our parents. 😆 It's still considered a no-no.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Always a no-no 😂🤣🤣... Very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😆😃, I can't stop laughing when I read what you said to your dad... So rude 😂😂. But nice that your learnt your lesson.

You learned what you say from a movie, and you use it in a very very wrong way which sound disrespectful. And that's why we should be very careful about what we teach this little children, they learn so fast. Learning the right thing and making use of it at the appropriate time is very important.

I felt so bad while you're writing about your dad, so painful. But I'm sure you learned a lot him too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I sure did. Thanks a lot, dear. Deeply appreciate this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🤣 if am your dad I will just ask you to come home after you have sent the text and I will dash you one dirty slap for telling me not to worry, that's my mom for you

Anyways we should always be mindful of what we are learning because some things does not suppose to be part of our learning

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha he definitely told me to come home but he forgave me afterwards and then we thrashed it out hahaha.

I agree, some learnings cannot be applied.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Choosing what we learn wisely is very important because not everything we have learned can be really applied.

I remembered watching a skit where a boy locked his door room and his dad was begging him to open it, a Nigerian boy decided to do the same and it turned out bad that the father broke down the door and said it mustn't be fixed by anyone, the boy lost his privacy completely.

Our cultures play a big role in these things though and I think we must put it into consideration before applying what we have learned in to use.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's so true. We often want to do things like others forgetting that our culture plays a huge role in the lessons we learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry. Your story was just like mine. Me, I was picked from school with my siblings. They picked us and took us straight to our uncle's house. I was wondering what was happening, that how will I go to school the following morning. It's well...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here we are, surviving and still living. God's got us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was laughing while reading your article Ola 🤣🤣 you're such a bad ass applying those lines to your own father.. Haha . But I'm quite guilty though.. Coz I also said some lies before so my dad would send me money 😅🤣 that's because my food allowance was always spent to pay for modules and photocopied books. Lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. It was a wrong move and I have learned to respect my culture going forward 😂😂😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is soo hilarious. If I have done the same I might have something to laugh about when I think about it.

Indeed, we must be sure of what things we applied from learning. We can still learn things and find appropriate things to apply them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha absolutely. We just need to be wary of the lessons we learn and how we apply them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first article I have read this week and I must say this touched me real good....I have learnt from learning is that makes sence. Timing is really very important and the choice words we make can sometimes be ready bad and hurtful.....but we say it's nothing, I need to actually rebrand myself too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all need rebranding no doubt and I am glad you are back fully here. Thank you so much, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL, you are so brave for sending that message to your Dad.... I wouldn't dare sent that kind of message to my Dad if he is alive or else anyway.. yep there is always a right timing for everything, not just because we learnt something new means we can already use it right then and there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha it wasn't bravery but foolishness 😂😂😂🤣. Maybe I tried it because I know he is also a free and funny person but the timing was wrong because he was sick that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You took a very interesting topic, thank you. Your article and approach to the subject were very refreshing. I can totally understand what you mean. But you could go a lot further on this. Let's take science, for example. Just because we know how something works, it doesn't mean we have to use it. Like ABC weapons, genetic modification, and many, many other things.

Habits can also be learned, but not all of them are good... 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true. If I went further with it apart from my practical example, I am sure most people would just scroll through without reading hahahaha. 7 minutes read is long enough. I don't want to make it 15 minutes 😂😂🤣😂.

Thanks a lot for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a learner :D And you are amazing to share what you learnt :) And of course, I believe what you said that we also need to know when is the proper time to share them. I guess you got it right this time unlike what you did with your dad😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I pulled off a wrong move with him without knowing he was even sick. I still miss him. 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahah🤣😂😅 that's part made me laugh out loud. Well, like you said, some learned lessons could be for warning to make you avoid taking some actions while some are for application. If you apply the one you are to run from, then trouble looms.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Big trouble o my brother 🤣🤣😂. Lessons learnt. I pulled it off at a very wrong time with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sent that text to an African parents? It's like you want to be independent early in life 😂 You will be responsible for your well-being from the moment you sent it.

But seriously we should be careful of what we learn. Being a newbie programmer, I have seen so many people become frustrated with programming simply because they learnt the wrong language. Imagine spending years learning something and at the end, you can't even do anything tangible with it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's so true.

Wow. I can imagine how they must be feeling too. Wow. Life sometimes.

I am excited to read your comment. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago