What is holding you back?

35 76
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Ever felt like you were not at your best? Maybe you are stuck in a daily loop, and you don't seem to be getting anywhere in life.

That scenario up there is what happens to most of us, and it doesn't only apply to writing but everything we do, the feeling that you are not moving forward or you don't know what to do anymore.

You lack the motivation to move forward and feel scared that you will never overcome it; your days are futile and unproductive, and you don't seem motivated or inspired by anything.

Well, the solution to this problem is asking yourself, "What is holding me back". 

I often ask myself this when I don't seem productive or finish my articles.

I look at the blank page, and I am afraid to start writing, no topic, no introduction; my brain is frozen, and I am stuck there for hours until I ask myself that question.

What exactly is stopping me from starting my articles? It is just me and my laptop, so why should I be afraid. It's not like anyone is pointing a gun at my head or something.

When you fail to ask yourself this question, a task that would take 2 hours can take a day; you would never reach the finish line without taking a step.

It would help if you acted before fulfilling your goals, but most of us never move forward, willingly or unwillingly; we hold ourselves back, maybe because of our fears for the future and the consequences of failure.

 It is ok to be afraid; fear is needed in our lives to stop us from hurting ourselves; fear supports us sometimes and makes us more intelligent, but when you become best friends with it, then thats where the problem starts.

Fear makes our decision-making terrible, and we never take action when we are afraid. If you live a life filled with fear, then you will never truly live; you will be in a vast cycle your whole life, running away from risk and opportunities.

I asked my friends why they dislike trading, and I always get the same response, "The risk is too great," "I don't want to lose my money", "It is a scam."  

These answers are the problem, how would you ever move forward when you don't want to explore? These same people will complain about money problems and call me wicked for not giving them.

"If you give someone fish you feed them for a day."

"If you teach them how to work for food, you feed them for a lifetime."

 I have lived by this proverb since I was little because my brother never gave me anything. He always told me to work for it, and if I didn't, I would never get it.

He wouldn't give me, but he would teach me how to get it; from him, I learned how to write a little bit, watched him writing articles, and picked a thing or two from him.

When I request to teach people how to trade, they get angry and tell me to give them money instead because that is what they need at the moment. That fear causes them to reject my offer; they are afraid of failure, afraid of losing.

Trading may be challenging, but what is not hard in this world.

It takes eight years of training to become a doctor, which doesn't guarantee that you get a job.

Fear has made so many people single-minded that they only focus on one goal, one source of income, one routine. They never seem to change, no matter how sad or depressing their life is.

If you are so scared of taking a risk, don't focus on the risk; instead, focus on the rewards. It would help if you always had a risk-to-reward ratio in your head, calculating everything you do.

In trading, they always recommend a risk-to-reward strategy, so you know when to leave the trade and how to manage that trade.

Some of us don't use this strategy in our lives, and we sometimes find ourselves making mistakes or taking losses we shouldn't have taken.

But it is better to make mistakes and learn from them than never making mistakes and never gaining anything.

Successful individuals will tell you, "Failure is necessary for Success, " which is 100% true.

There is no successful person that didn't fail once or twice.

In 1992, Donald Trump was in massive debt that when he saw a beggar on the street, he told Marla Maples.

"You see that man? Right now he's worth $900 million more than me. ... Right now I'm worth minus $900 million," - from Washington post.com.

That shows you how dire his situation was; a beggar was better than him. 

But one thing that differentiates him from the average person is that he didn't become afraid or run away from his predicament. Instead of running away, he strategized and followed his plans. 

It would help if you weren't afraid to strategize and think effectively; instead, stand firm and commence your plans. Start little and make your way to the top.

It may take some time, but that is better than not being productive.

It all starts from asking yourself this question "What is holding me back" Is it your fear, lack of planning, or just laziness?.

We all have the circumstances that we find ourselves in, we didn't choose our bodies or life, but we should use what we have effectively. Don't be afraid of the future, don't be afraid of failure, instead embrace them because they are both parts of life.

Nobody knows what the future holds, but what we can do is make plans so we don't have a bad one. Fear won't make the future bright, trust me.

Before you go, please answer this question.

"What is holding you back from achieving your dreams or goals".  

Leave your answers in the comments below. Thank you for reading, and I will see you in the next one. Stay Blessed.

18
$ 4.25
$ 3.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think what's holding me back, is my fear. A fear not to achieve all the goals that i want. A fear that i might be a failure to everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But when you dont achieve them wont you eventually be a failure, it is better to try than not try at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right,we must try even if it's hard for us to achieve as long as we try and give our best on whatever we want in our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👌100% never give up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also written something related to this topic and yeah better to move forward because every little progress each day will add up to big results.💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its better to progress than stay idle right. Thank you for your comment friend❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think what's holding me back is whenever i doubt myself, my capacities. I should really work on this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah learn to overcome them, and your improvement will know no bounds

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, @Oikawa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent article, very true all, I really am not afraid of risking and failure I like to investigate, invest and make plans, but the people around me do not have that vision and when I tell you about a project they do not give me the expected support I think that I stop there a little, but in the end I take a chance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dont listen to them just keep on improving yourself, there is no reason to stop your development for others! Keep on going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that proverb about giving, really makes sense and I always try to do that with some people. Unfortunately, some are just so lazy to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, they never want to learn they only want to earn, but they forget there is no food for a lazy person!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, something is better than nothing. Even if it is just a 0.00000001 step at a tine, it does accumulate. While 0 will never give us any results.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Something is better than nothing! Its better to move slowly than stay at a place being unproductive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One principle is to do something than staying idle. Nothing is more fulfilling than achieving a desired goal. My personal goal is to keep accumulating more coins with potential on my trusted and decentralized wallet application from https://atomicwallet.io/, where users have exclusive access to their private keys.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is holding me back, I've got no excuse. Thanks for this wonderful piece

$ 0.00
2 years ago

✌Thank you Happy Boy! Have a great Week!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, i agree with you, we should always ask ourselves this question for us to move

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly sis, If we don't then we won't progress. Thank you, Have a great week Eylz!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doubt, Uncertainties and laziness that's what holding me back. But I'm starting to removr my laziness in my body. Not completely but just you know some part. I have to focus on my goal to be able to do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, as you said in your last article, your goals keep you going, so focus on what makes you happy. That would help you in moving forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When diving into trading you really should aware its risk and its good outcome if you win.

The battle will be you vs. you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think procastination and laziness are twin brothers. LOL. Sometimes if the goal set is big or mighty procastination and its brother would step in with their dominating power. To conquer this factor, a mind full of determination will be required. "No matter what, I must do this today and achieve the goal"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👏Thats an excellent comment! Go achieve your goal friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes laziness &frustration...but I'm very conscious to my goals

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That lines,

"If you give someone fish you feed them for a day."

"If you teach them how to work for food, you feed them for a lifetime

It reminds me the wellknown artist that she keep telling this line. I love how she analyze every reason of not giving up of life. Anyway, it was great realization about the question🤔 God bless you sis✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Those words are inspirational, have an amazing week dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a great day ahead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm...its true. Learning how to fish is far better than asking for fish. It might be difficult from the onset but with time it becomes nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly, Have a great monday friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often ask myself that question everytime....even as I am typing right now that question is still popping in my head just because I don't even know what to write about and even afraid if my article is not good enough but I know I will get through that stage. Thanks for the article. It helps in knowing the right steps to take when I'm feeling that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great question to ponder upon. What is holding me back from living my dreams? Occasional laziness and procrastination :D These are the devils I am often battling with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you answered it, thats the first step❤ what would you do to stop them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Obviously, I have to kick my own butt and get going lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago