Various ways to free your mind!

11 49
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Sometimes we have thoughts that we shouldn't have, but it still finds their way into our mind. These thoughts could be little niggles, consistent worries, or reoccurring concerns.

Have you noticed this loop? You try to free your mind, but when you do this, you only flood it with more and more worries that never seem to end. 

This loop often happens to me when I am trying to sleep, I tell my mind to go blank, but immediately I do that, it starts showing me weird or embarrassing things I did 5 or 10 years ago.

You could try this test now; try not to think of a big blue elephant. 

There is a high possibility that the more you try not to think of the elephant, the more your mind thinks of it.

This scenario is caused because your mind is not good at focusing on "not doing" something.

To free your mind from unwanted or unwelcome thoughts, you have to engage it with different thoughts or resolve the cause of your thoughts.

Letting go of what causes your mind to wander can help you move from the past and release your mind from negative thoughts and emotions.

For thousands of years, meditation has been used for clearing/resetting the mind. 

You don't always have to be in a lotus position to meditate or in a room filled with candles. 

Meditation!

Meditation can be done when sitting comfortably, allowing your thoughts to enter your mind and pass through without engaging in them.

You can do this for at least ten minutes, and this will help free your mind from any annoying or persistent thoughts.

Exercise

Exercising helps your body to focus on its physical requirements and takes the attention of your mind. It releases endorphins and lowers your cortisol, and this, in turn, helps improve your mood.

Mindfulness

Always learn to be mindful and focus on all those actions you do on autopilot; by practicing this, your mind concentrates on tasks instead of wandering around and bringing thoughts you didn't ask for.

Let go of guilt

When you leave your guilt unchecked, it could escalate and leave you feeling powerless and trapped. Learn to notice your guilt and how to let go of that guilt.

Laughter

The more you smile and laugh, the more you will feel better. I am sure we have all heard the phrase "Laughter is the best medicine," and this is true.

Even when you are sad, laugh; when you don't feel like it, laugh.

Your brain will eventually register your face muscles' movement and release hormones that make you feel good. These improved emotions will make it easier to change your thinking.

Watch a funny film

Watching a comedy is a fantastic way to escape reality! Try immersing yourself into another world through a film; this will help your mind ease up a bit.

Stop seeking approval from others.

Many people try to please and seek approval from others; by engaging in this behavior, you will eventually become trapped and start living another's life.

When you notice that this is happening to you, it is good always to redraw it and start living life for yourself and not others.

Have a mentor

Visualize someone you admire, and imagine how they would do things if they were in the same situation as you; after doing this, act the same way.

Leave unhealthy relationships

Unhealthy relationships with someone will lead you to have negative thoughts and emotions; learn to nourish healthy relationships that will benefit your life and put you in the hospital.

Make plans

Everything starts with a single step, visualize your goals and change what you need to, and decide to take the first step, and you will soon be on your way to achieving your goals instead of daydreaming about them.

Spend more time alone

Learn to get used to your own company and enjoy being alone, because it is not always good to be with constant company and entertainment.

Don't become too attached.

What are you attached to in life? There is no problem in enjoying things in life, but when you become too attached, you will start relying on that object/person always to make you happy, which could be unhealthy.

Listening, reading, and discussing ideas and opinions with others can open your mind and help you see things from a different angle; this will free you when you are stuck in a narrow-minded way of thinking.

17
$ 4.18
$ 3.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 13
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Your words are very useful, I add something to your list, ideal especially in these times of social distancing. Gardening is a great physical activity, spending time among my plants and taking care of them has helped me reduce depression due to personal problems, stress and anxiety.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gardening is great especially during the pandemic times, I had a lot of plants, they were like babies lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm...yeah..your article made me realize that I always seek other's approval from.others which is so unhealthy. I am always concerned on how they would feel with my decisions, etc without considering my own feelings..

$ 0.04
2 years ago

My way to free my mind is baking. Besides from that i also write. Writing helps me release those toxic thoughts that slowly eating my mind, so before it happened I already release them and free my mind.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Spending more time alone is the best that do work for me because at that time I will only be thinking of my life and how to improve it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mentioned all things that didn't work for me. When my mood is off don't know why I can't get out of that situation. After lots of effort, I start sleeping and then my mood becomes fresh but that day can't stop myself from overthinking.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Spending time alone is the best effective one for me, that's when my mind begun to relax. Also the not being too attached, it's really hard to be attached on somethingbor someone, because once you get used to its or his or her presence then what will happen if they just suddenly left.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Watching a comedy film is at great help if I feel like my mind is full of unnecessary thought or in the verge of anxiety. Some laughter moment with crazy friends is another good way too to free our minds.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Listening to music is what helps me relax, exercise and meditations don't even come close. My Oh my, spending more time alone does the most, so much peace, words can't fully describe it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this my friend Oikawa. Those are the ways that we have free good mindset. We must find ways that it will help our minds. Let go the things that's make us stress and pressure.

Always take care ourselves especially our minds. Whatever in our mind that will be the response of an action we did. Live life with positivity always.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is Indeed helpful to me. Thank You for this My Friend Oikawa.

$ 0.03
2 years ago