REST

33 57
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Rest

Sometimes we overwork ourselves without caring about the consequences.

We work from morning to night, every day, and some even work at night.

You may think that is the best decision, but the truth is you are only hurting yourself. It may not show now, but sooner or later, your body will start malfunctioning, and you won't know why.

Most of us think that rest is just leaving our work, but then when we leave our work, we go back to more work, you know you are guilty of this.

Rest is essential in our lives, so crucial that you will face considerable consequences if you skip it. 

Rest plays a role in our success, happiness, health, and lifestyle, but nowadays, many distractions cause a person to forget to rest. 

Phones, Television, Internet, Social media are all modern distractions that constantly stop us from resting; there is always something that requires our attention. We will always attend to them because our bodies are programmed that way.

Some of us can't leave our work or activities because we hate being idle. After all, idleness equals laziness, and the thought of being lazy hurts some people. 

I agree with these people because laziness is not something to be proud of; laziness benefits no one because it wastes potential and growth.

If you keep on embracing laziness, then your days are just wasted with absolutely no progress.

But there is a difference between laziness and rest.

Rest means: To cease work or movement to relax, sleep, or recover strength.

Laziness is the refusal to do work or make any effort to do anything. 

When you rest, you recover your strength. It also has excellent health benefits, which all of us can testify to.

 I always look forward to nighttime because that is the only time I can lay my head and rest my mind from all daytime distractions. 

During these times, I usually put my phone off and close my eyes, and dream away.

I put my phone off because people choose to call others at midnight; I don't know if they are humans, but what sort of person would be asking for a video call at 1 am. I wake up by 5 am, and if I answer the call, I won't sleep till 3. The sound of WhatsApp notifications is also a pain in the night; go and rest, jeez.

Sleeping is not the only form of rest; for example, taking breaks to recuperate can be a form of rest.

You can listen to some background music to help cool your head, drink water or just lay back and relax. 

Breaks are not a form of laziness; breaks are meant to rest your mind from emotional stress, physical exertions, and distractions, and it helps a lot. It increases creativity, productivity, well-being, improves your mood, and releases muscle stress which helps you work better. 

Out of all the healing powers, rest is the best because it is the most natural. God made things to benefit humans, but we fail to utilize them; just like oxygen is free, rest is also free.

What would it take you to relax and take a break? You don't have to work all the time; you are not an animal forced to work all day; if you continue working, you are only increasing your stress levels.

Stress is a significant problem that many of us have. Stress is a burden. Sometimes I feel like I am carrying bags on my back, but nothing is there when I look. 

Stress can lead to a fragile immune system, which increases the risk of diseases; when you look at ill people, you notice that most are attributed to stress.

When you are younger, the stress doesn't affect you, but as you get older, the effects start showing.

It may start with heart disease, diabetes, intense headaches, and even depression.

My grandma was a hard-working nurse when she was younger; she always made sure her work was always complete, and that may be good, but now she has a ton of problems. It is sad to see her suffering for her hard work. 

She is a nurse, so she isn't afraid of hospitals but hates staying in them because her beliefs don't allow her. She doesn't like being a burden, so she doesn't want to be in a hospital, she is a strong woman, but I am still worried for her.

When you keep on working without properly resting, you will eventually face the consequences to your health and lifestyle, which leads to depression in the end.

Positive thoughts help our daily routine and boost our mental health; that is why I always suggest being optimistic because it reduces worrying.

Worrying can only lead to more problems; instead of worrying, try thinking because worrying won't solve anything.

It is essential to follow a daily sleep routine, healthy habits, and relaxation to maintain good rest habits.

Let us check them out!

  • Adequate Sleep Schedule: It is always advisable to sleep at the right time and not delay your routine because it will affect you long-term. Making a sleep routine/schedule would help you maintain your health, manage your time and rest effectively. If you fail to listen to your body at night, you increase the chances of pains and headaches in the morning, which is never good, especially if you are working. Coffee only helps you ignore fatigue, but the fatigue is still there, eating away your health and ruining your productivity.

  • Maintain Healthy Habits: Research has shown that exercise helps reduce stress, improves your mood, and regulates your hormones. Daily exercise can help reduce toxins in your body, lose weight, increase confidence, increase energy, reduce diseases, and promote better sleep. Exercises like yoga, stretching is shown to help.

  • Relaxation: Don't forget to relax now and then, take a deep breath, close your eyes, and pause. Ignore all your distractions and be alone; you can do this during work or taking a break. Make sure you take some time to recover your strength before you overwork yourself and end up stressed.

Even though you have so many activities to do, please don't forget to take a break, that does not mean you are lazy. It just means you are looking out for yourself.

That is where we will be ending today; leave a comment, subscribe, and I will see you in the next one. Thank you for reading!

18
$ 7.24
$ 6.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Rest

Comments

Rest is very important for our health in-fact it’s a food of our soul. Thank you for the reminder. Good night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Have a great night friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been really stressing myself lately although its not deliberate but I just have alot going on in school and I'm almost overwhelmed up to the point that i don't even have time to write articles for the past two days. I am trying to balance this up because like you've mentioned we really need to rest!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please try and balance your rest and activities, you could also write all your articles before hand, its not a must you start this month. If you write 30 articles for November that would be great but not easy✌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know to myself that I really need to stop overusing my eyes because just like what you said I won't feel it now but sooner or later I will also suffer from it if didn't take action to make my lifestyle more healthier. But you know, even if I want to - I mean I really really want to but I just can't. My goals is stopping me I guess. Just a thought that I will skip a day in publishing my article feels like it's a big sin already lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not a must you stop publishing articles. I also feel guilty when I dont publish but its good to balance it with a little bit offscreen time. You may be tempted by youtube or anime but try to resist😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish i can huehue. It's really hard I'm telling you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I needed to hear this reminder. Thank you, Oikawa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Am glad you enjoyed it dear! Have a great day/night!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, rest is very important. Some try to cheat nature and face the consequences when their body breaks down. Hence it's very important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest has benefits but laziness causes loss of Opportunities. We need to take advantage and take some rest to recover our health and make us stronger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Health is Wealth afterall.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the sign that I should live healthier. Thank you for this reminder

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤I am glad I reminded you! Have a great day Murakamii!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Second article I've read about importance of having enough/sufficient sleep. For now, it's just part of my weekend goals. During weekdays? it's really impossible :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest is really important in our health. We should aware with this. Health is wealth. How do we have a comfortable life and achieving our dreams if we have a health problems. It should prevention better than cure.

If the person is not healthy anymore. Life is changing. It's better to be a normal and having a healthy living since you have a healthy mindset, active, strength and power to facing the life. We should have enough sleep, exercise and taking vitamins and eat healthy foods and other healthy tips.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

❤❤You nailed it Ramona! There is no point in being rich when you are ill, you cant even enjoy your wealth. Health is Wealth🔥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Oikawa. Health must be given an attention always. Don't wait for the regrets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't do it, I always feel bad when I'm not always working, ringing in my head like a time ticking or counting down. All this are all what always makes me feel bad when I'm resting. The pressure is too much but I'm working towards that, thanks to your article and thanks to you too for always been supportive right from the first day I have been here. I will keep emphasizing on it because it is very rare for me to have someone that is supportive and I will never forget the kindness you showed me from the very first day here. Thank you once more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After a long and stressful day at work, all we need to do is get good food and rest or else, the body will just breakdown.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁That is the best medicine for the soul!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each of us need enough rest, for us to recover our strength after the long day of work. Goals are goals, but health is wealth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

✌Exactly I love the health is wealth part, what can you achieve without being healthy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do sleep 6 hours per day mandatory but I'm trying t o add one more hour to it because these days I get stressed easy...great article once again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

❤Thank you doll! Its great that you take some time to rest, not good to let stress pile up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, I woklrk all the time. Even on Sunday. My rest day is Saturday. I have goals to make. But rest really matters as we only have one life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you at least make some time to relax? Even if for 6 hours!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3 hours of sleep everyday. I only have long sleep during saturday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😢3 hours, do you haveta daytime job, and how do you write your articles. You are really working hard to achieve your goals

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have 8 to 5 daytime jobs. And at night I have a Nightime shift that starts at 9:30 pm up to 4:30 am. I sleep at 4:30 am and wake up at 7am for the day time job. During the 9:30 pm to 4:30 am, I have also an extra job to do. I have 3 jobs all in all. Plus read and noise when I can squeeze them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray you achieve all your dreams and goals dear❤ Your hardwork wont go in vain but please at least take some breaks in between🙇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surely!! I take a nap in between but it is still needed to have an 8 hours of sleep everyday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest is needed to gain strength to continue working for the ever-advancing civilization.

$ 0.00
2 years ago