Raising awareness on Social Anxiety

13 51
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 25th March 2022

Hello Everyone, Happy Friday to you all, and welcome to the fifth day of the week; I hope you had a nice rest.

Today is the 25th day of March, meaning we only have six days left till we enter a new month.

Have you ever felt extremely uncomfortable or nervous in a social situation or event?

Maybe you have become uneasy when meeting up with someone you have never met before or gotten sweaty hands when giving a presentation in front of a large crowd.

Walking into a room full of people and public speaking isn't a thrilling experience for everyone, but some people can deal with it.

I don't feel comfortable with social gatherings or interactions because it feels weird and forced, like everyone is coming together to fix their loneliness.

Social anxiety disorder is, better known as social phobia, means the overwhelming and long-term fear of social events/situations.

It is said to start during the teenage years and can be very distressing and impactful on one's life, but it gets better as they get older for some people.

For example, people with social phobia tend to avoid all social contact because things others may consider "regular," like making eye contact and small talk, make them awkward.

Sometimes this may lead to all aspects of their life falling apart, not just their social life.

Social anxiety affects most people, but you won't know because most people don't even know this disorder is real.

It may come in different forms; some people may not be able to speak in public or initiate a conversation, while others may find themselves anxious and scared of any social situation.

People with a social anxiety disorder may experience it in many different forms, but there are some common traits that people with it show, and I will list them below.

  • Trouble talking with strangers.

  • Trouble making eye contact with others

  • Trouble in having relationships (dating)

  • Never attending parties or large social gatherings.

  • Anxious when eating in public

  • Starting/Initiating a conversation

There are many other traits, but I don't want to list them in this article. 

Some of these traits may not cause trouble for you; let us take, for example, giving a speech may be hard for you, but going to parties may seem normal.

You may find it easy to start a conversation but hard to step into a crowded space.

All socially nervous people may have different reasons for hating certain situations, but in general, they are all afraid:

  • Being embarrassed or shamed, and they show it by sweating, blushing, or shaking.

  • They are scared of being watched or judged by others.

  • Being the center of attention or offending someone

You may ask yourself what it feels like to be socially anxious and how you know if you are.

The experience may be distinct for everyone, but special traits align with people with this disorder. Watch out for these traits.

  • Extremely conscious of social events/situations.

  • Hesitant to conversate with others.

  • Having a chronic, persistent and intense fear of being judged by other individuals.

  • Need to avoid eye contact 

There are also physical symptoms such as:

  • Muscle tension

  • Crying

  • Sweating

  • Shaking

  • Inability to catch one breath

  • Out of body sensation

You may have these symptoms and get anxious before an event, or you might even spend weeks worrying about it; this happens a lot to me.

After the event, you will worry about how you acted and what you said.

Some of you may be wondering what causes social disorder, and while there is no definite answer to that, some things can be linked to it.

It may be genetics, maybe a family member of yours has it, and the disorder was passed down to you.

It may be due to bullying, abuse, or teasing.

Sometimes even overbearing and controlling parents may cause it.

Social anxiety affects one's life and even prevents one from living it fully. 

It may lead to:

  • Sensitivity to criticism

  • Poor social skills that may never improve

  • Hatred for oneself or self-criticism

  • Depression

The easiest and safest way to solve social anxiety is to see a doctor or therapist who will listen and help you solve the problem.

It is not healthy to bottle it up and keep quiet; instead, talk to someone who will listen to you.

Don't treat social anxiety disorder like it is normal because it isn't, and if left unchecked, it may even lead to suicidal thoughts. Be bold and ask for help from a professional.

Thank you for reading!#SpeakUp

23
$ 4.45
$ 4.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
+ 12
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is the major problem with people nowadays and I can say that I am one of them. I am trying to cope this up by always thinking happy thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social anxiety awareness is very important in order for those people that is shy enough to talk with others confidently. This will help boost their confidence and self-esteem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit that I have social anxiety one of the reason why I'm scared to talk 8n crowd and face people is due to scared to be judged, I admit I'm not a good looking person that's one of the reason why I have no courage to talk with people around me. All those included in your article happened to me but I think it's not the moment to ask for help since it's just shallow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had come to overcome it when I started joining activities at school. My parents always encourage me to join because they knew that I am so timid when I'm in a crowd. Even just when there's a family gathering, I'd rather stay in my room. When I indulged myself to join activities, I somehow find that seeing and talking to other people is not that bad at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd say more engaging means more experience. And life is full experience. Deal the pain and lead the pain.. That's all

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've always struggled with talking 8n front of people and it really sucks. I feel like my abilities are concealed because of my in ability to talk well in front of audience. I will defi6find ways to overcome this. Thanks for the article I can totally relate to most part maybe I have social anxiety all along. That's really sad then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

having this disorder is really hard, good thing I don't have this, Just normal fidgeting or nervousness before the event

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right we shouldn't take it normal and consult a doctor or therapist. I hope people can understand its side effects.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have those symptoms before like eye contact, shaking can't hardly talk but as I grow older I tend to overcome those symptoms.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As we age, we begin to focus less on these things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if anxiety disorder goes on its own but from my experience I fell into the category of a majority of things mentioned above. But at some point I had to begin to consciously initiate eye contact, began to forcefully engage in conversations and mixed with the crowd occasionally. It wasn't easy but I got used to it with time.

I guess it goes away with practice or perhaps therapy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it goes with constant communication and socialization with others, but the hardest part is finding your way out of it; some people don't dare to speak with others, which lowers their confidence in wanting to get rid of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago