Controlling your Distractions!

34 82
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Date: 23rd December 2021

Hello everyone! How are you doing today? I hope you are having a fantastic week and staying hydrated. Two days remain until we reach Christmas and Eight till we enter 2022; The countdown is here.

Oikawa is here again with another article, and I am so excited because only two days remain until Christmas.

 During this season, many things are going on, and it has been so hard keeping up with interacting and writing on this platform.

Lately, I have tried my best to improve my drawings because I am trying to focus on art next year, and I also started a Forex trading exam, and the examinations span three months, and if I don't finish it, I may lose my money.

It is genuinely hard to manage all these things, and it has confused me on what to do because I don't want to stop writing daily on this platform, but I also want to focus on other things.

I wonder how everyone balances their outside life while writing here, and I have so much respect for anyone who can balance their regular day jobs with writing on this platform.

I wish I could have several clones who would help me do all these things, but in reality, I am only one person, and there is only so much I could do.

Anyway, enough of my rants, I don't want this article to be only about that; instead, let me go back to what this article is about, and that is "Distractions."

Distractions come in so many forms, and they are always so tempting because they are the things you want the most, especially when you want to take a break from everything.

Sometimes it can be hard to work, especially when there are so many fun things to do, and you always have this urge to enjoy yourself even when you know it would hurt you afterward. 

You could be working and see a notification on your phone, and immediately you abandon what you were doing and put all your focus on your phone; I am sure this scenario doesn't only happen to me.

Nowadays, the internet tempts us to stare at our phones all day without a care in the world, and I am sure many people have entered this cycle of looking at their mobile phones all day.

I may not want to admit this, but our phones can be our greatest enemy sometimes, especially when we let them take control over us.

You may find yourself spending so much time being unproductive and wasting your life away looking at other people's lives.

I would say Tiktok is one of the most addictive apps of this generation because so many young people have allowed it to take control of their lives, and they don't even have time to do anything else.

I have many friends who have entered the "Tiktok Life," and I see them spending all their time on the app trying to look for something that would distract them from doing work.

I am not against using Tiktok; I also use it when I am done with all my work, but lately, I can't use it anymore because I have seen how addictive it can be once you get used to it.

TikTok isn't the only distraction globally; there are so many forms of distractions, such as WhatsApp, Facebook, or even YouTube.

All these apps have a way of drawing us in and making sure we never leave them, and sometimes you can find yourself spending so many hours on them without even realizing it.

I have had my own experiences with all these apps, especially YouTube, in the past, I could stay on YouTube for two hours watching videos that didn't improve me in any way, but now I have learned to use YouTube to improve myself.

Distractions are not always bad because sometimes they can take our mind of all the stress we are having, especially when you are over-working yourself and don't seem to be having any form of fun in your life.

You must have a timetable to know what to do and when to do it; having a timetable helps you manage your time effectively, and you can even put in leisure hours to have time to do what you like.

It is good to distract yourself every once in a while, but it becomes a problem when you allow it to destroy your productivity and stop your growth.

Anything that stops your growth should never be allowed, and that is why it is always good to moderate anything that we are doing, even working.

Learn to control/moderate your distractions, focus on what is essential, and when you are done with what you are doing, you can start enjoying your distractions during your leisure time.

Before I end the article, let me ask you this "How do you deal with your distractions?

Thank you for reading!

25
$ 6.94
$ 6.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 23
Sponsors of Oikawa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Oikawa
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have a lot of distraction. Especially for me who use my phone as a means of communication and as my textbook.

Well I try to set a time for my reading and stick to it. But the truth is that I haven't been able to handle my distraction properly yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You shouldn't let it take control of your life! Learn to moderate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's difficult to deal with distractions actually. Me, being a working mom, and currently working from home, my kids are my number 1 distractions!. They are difficult to manage sometimes! Specially my toddler. There are times that he throws tantrums while I am on a meeting!... Additionally, since I do not have nanny or helper for like 2 weeks already now, doing all the house chores are my distractions from my work as well.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ahh, that must be so difficult; you must be powerful enough to manage all of that while still working; maybe it is best to have some positive distractions that would help take your mind off things sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, read.cash is one of my positive distraction :)..reading articles and exchanging comments with others :)...this is like my way to unwind and relax my mind even for a short period of time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Facebook and YouTube are some of my distractions in life but I am thankful for them coz when I have a stressful day, watching my favorite videos helped to ease the stress and boredom that I am feeling. This distraction is a positive one for me coz I seldom do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, that is a positive way of using distractions; you can always use them to remove your mind from stress, as long as it doesn't affect your growth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's right. Before when I haven't met these two wonderful platforms, those apps are where I stayed during my pastime

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this world of ever expanding and developing tech, the amount of things seeking our attention is constantly increasing. It takes a lot to be able to learn to cut some out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, technology is increasing and there are so many new apps coming out that sometimes we find ourselves on all of them at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is difficult when you have a lot of distractions but we can control them like you mentioned. My only distraction these days is switching from one tab to another and feeling hungry, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, you haven't been online for a couple of days; I was getting worried! but it is nice to read your articles FarmGirl🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you are absolutely right, if we don't have a plan to use our mobile phone, it will take up our entire daily time. Many times during the day, I take my mobile phone away from myself, to find out what is going on my life...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is nice that you take your phone away; I also do that sometimes, especially when having a busy day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forex is something I also want to dive into .. it’s just it takes a lot of energy and time. Checking the market regularly.

But anyways art is also amazing.. but I thought you just finished secondary school Aren’t you going to rest or something 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Forex is complex, especially with the market being in the red right now! I hope things will get better in January! Hehe, maybe it is because I just finished Secondary School, but I feel I don't have time left again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe😂 this man I love your hustling spirit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hardly get distracted but the few times I do, I take a little break and refresh my mind. I know if I continue I would not be able to get anything done. This helps me shut my mind to the distraction and focus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is nice that you do that. It is always best to control our distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should be self-controlled. The temptation to spend a lot of time on the internet is so great these days. May God help us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be tempting at times, but it is best we learn to control it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

With my experience in distraction I can never be distracted by phone again while I’m walking but whenever I’m working sometimes the distraction win me but sometimes I won’t even look the phone twice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, maybe you should put your phone on silent when you are working!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are distractions everywhere, including the Internet, which takes our precious time. It is worth discussing how much we get back by spending huge time over cyberspace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The internet is a distraction, but it all depends on how and when you use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, it depends on the self-control of the Internet user how much time they would spend on what job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Phones and gadgets has to be the most distraction for young adults. Even reading books is now difficult, say 30 mins into a book, you hear a chime from your phone, you look at it. From there, you see another thing that catched you attention, and before you know it, you have spent 2hrs on your phone. Distractions can come in many form though. I speak only of what distracts me the most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I get what you mean by that scenario, if you try to open a book that is when the phone starts buzzing, and you would find yourself looking at the phone all day, forgetting the book.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have an extreme level of control on using gadgets and to be honest I rarely use them, the funny thing is it has been around a month since I last opened my youtube. I also sometimes distract myself to get some good refreshing time from a casual routine but I also must ensure that those distractions don't get over on me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that is a nice routine Trofi, Youtube can be so distracting sometimes especially when the notifications to your favorite channel comes up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions comes in many ways that is totally true . I have been distracted by some apps like facebook and so on . Focusing on what is important is really helpful 😊👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Facebook is a significant distraction; you can get lost for hours scrolling down looking at people! I am glad you are focusing on other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. We all should b self-disciplined enough to know what will help us grow and what would turn out to be wast of time. Ofcourse, we all know these things but we are already too far addicted to them thereby making it difficult for us to break away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is tough to get away from those addictions once we have gotten used to them, that is why we should always limit what we do so they don't end up becoming addictions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago