Know your Ikigai

34 36
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

March 9, 2022

As much as we try to multi-task and keep ourselves busy doing and accomplishing the tasks that we have to do, there is a tiny desire in our heart to rest and retire early. Japanese people on the other hand, find it impossible to stop doing things that they used to do. Their body and minds are already accustomed to the things that they have been working that retiring is not part of their vocabulary. One might conclude that Japanese are really hard-working and goal-oriented people. But do you know the secret behind their passion towards their work? It is that they have found and learned their Ikigai.

What is Ikigai?

It is a japanese word which means your 'reason for being'. Iki means 'life' and gai describes value or worth. Therefore, Ikigai is your life purpose. It is something that brings so much joy in your heart. Something that inspires you to get out of the bed early every morning.

Japanese ranked second for life expectancy. While many of us assume that it is because of their diet, they strongly believe that Ikigai has a lot to do with the longevity and meaningfulness of their lives. They believe that finding your ikigai is the key to happiness. Thus, working on the things that you enjoy and love doing is their life goal. This is the reason why many of them don't retire. They remain actively working even during their supposed-to-be retirement age.

Knowing your ikigai will help you find a work-life balance. It will allow you to design your own work lifestyle and enjoy what you are doing. By doing this, there will be less to zero percent chance of being stressed, pressured or burned out while being in the workplace. Work won't feel like work anymore because you are doing what you love and you are enjoying your work.

Source

Here's how to know, find out and learn about your Ikigai. You need to ask yourself the questions:

What you love? (Your Passion and Mission)

What are the things that you love doing? Do you love what you are doing now? Are you absorbed in your hobby or work? Are you excited to go to work than to go home from work?

What are you good at? (Your Passion and Profession)

Are you doing the things that you love doing? Are you honing your skills and hobbies? Are you one of the best at the things that you do? Do people asks about your opinion regarding matters that are related on your job?

What you can be paid for? (Profession and Vocation)

Are you going to establish a good living with the work that you have now? Is there a healthy competition in your workplace?

What the world needs? (Mission and Vocation)

Picture the next ten years. Will your job remain relevant to the world? Are you contributing to the needs of the world? Are the things that you do relevant to the society?

There is a relationship between the four values. They need to be interconnected so you will find out your reason for being. Ikigai is a personal concept and it varies from people to people. It can help us achieve a mental state that will put us at ease.

You need to find what will be at the center. The thing that you love the most, that while doing it you can still be paid. The thing that you are good at and by doing that you can contribute to the betterment of the world.

My friend, a financial advisor claims that he is already practicing his ikigai. He values his finances and therefore he educates people to be mindful and be financially independent. He is good at mingling with people and in finances and by being a financial advisor, he is well-paid. He find his job not a job anymore because it is so easy for him. And more than anything, he contributes to the world by educating every people he meet about financial independence. His job would still be relevant after ten to twenty years.

Maybe just maybe this will be the answer for all of our cries of being burned out. We need to brainstorm and take a look at ourselves closely. Let us find out our ikigai so we will live a happy and meaningful life.

*I have friends that are new here guys. Please help me welcome them. @cybelgian and @Zsha02 .

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com

Thanks for reading. Until then.

15
$ 8.13
$ 7.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
+ 5
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakaanticipate naman ate bumili ganyang book. Balak ko ate bumili ng ganyang book sa susunod hehe kaso yung mga libro na binili ko ate di pa tapos hehe. Sa susunod na lang hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Word of the day. Ikigai. I need that hehe. Thanks for the trivia, Mura :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this info mamsh! But as much as I wanted to start my doing things I love, di pa gyud keri. Kay naa may mas giprioritize. Maybe soon, hopefully.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No pressure maamsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks mamsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this additional info, mamssh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome maamshy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikigai , now I know 🤣 start nag pangitabsa ahung ikigai.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go maamshie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

unja sa ng ikigai naho. Ngita pakog dadetch pang rebond ug papostiso 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha bisan naa na daghan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will start to find my ikigai from now on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Char. Happy ikigai-searching!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the first time I have learned about ikigai was from a mercury drugstore journal..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I see maamshie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang mganda nga yta kaibigan ang ikigai, sa nabasa ko na explanation mo. Its good article kaibigan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your welcome friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now ko lang nalaman na may kanito Pala wahaha thanks for the info. On ikigai Buddy.

Btw hi I am you new supporter here I hope we gonna be friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome! Have fun on your stay here. I know you will love it here as much as I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still trying my ikigai, anyays woah thanks for new word unlocked hehez I nevwr heard the word before so this makes me get my attention.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks sis. Have read a book about this before and just this morning it visited my mind again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have already tried to know what my real passion and purpose are by using Ikigai but I badly failed🤣 I hope I will find my reak purpose someday 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In time, maybe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowww, so now may natutunan ako sah ikigai, thank you for sharing sis,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I love this sis! Ikigai. This makes me think about evaluating myself☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great to know that you love it sis. Come on. Know your ikigai.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i am more on passion than profession, but I dunno what's specific passion am good at lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What are the things that you enjoy doing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arts, dancing, doing some business. But am not good at specific field, it's like jack of all trades but a master of none

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love writing anything, that's just all I know that I like and love doing since I can freely do it .. but only here in read.cash I just don't know if I have client if things will be the same haha. I love finding money 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha yan yung ikigai mo maamshy passion mo yan tapos kumikita ka pa kailangan mo lang i connect para sa contribution mo to the world charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago