job application stories.

28 35
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

11112021

I was sorting through some old papers that I need to keep and papers that I need to let go when I came across two of my application letters for different employers. It instantly took me back to the days when I hurriedly prepare those in the hopes that I would be hired.

It was in May 2019 when I graduated college. My original plan was to go to Cebu and work for a costumer service job there because I wanted to explore. But waves took me to another shore, my parents wanted me to review and take the board first before exploring another journey. I was obedient enough that I tooke the review religiously and passed the board.

Of course, jobs won't be knocking in your doors especially when you are not a topnotcher. So, I needed to find a job. I didn't look for job opportunities immediately because I just stayed at home looking after my niece and enjoying my me time. Now, I kind of regretted the days wherein I should've spend working and earning experiences. But the days with my family weren't days that are wasted.

Days went on and I felt the urgency of getting a job. That was when my mother met my classmate's mother. They had a chitchat and my classmate's mother told my mom that her daughter is working somewhere. I don't know but everytime my mom would tell this kinds of updates to me, I feel pressured. Everytime she tells me that someone's kid is working somewhere, I'm pressured. Maybe it wasn't her intention but to me it is a different kind of feeling.

At first, I applied for a teaching job in a private school. After I had a demo, the principal told me that I teach like my students are already in college. I was eliciting student's answers by asking them questions that would lead them to the right answer. But the principal didn't like that style and she prefers the students to be spoonfeed. She told me she would call me but I alreay know in my heart that it is just a polite way of telling me that I wasn't hired.

Months passed and my cousin from Bohol persuade me to visit her so we can look for a job together. When I get there, I learned that she is already working at their municipality. When I told my aunt I want to work in a BPO company, she didn't give me permission. Her husband, my uncle, accompanied me to the municipality to apply for a job there instead. I wasn't hired immediately. I got bored and homesick after a week so I went home immediately.

The nearby university was hiring for a part-time teacher. It was so close and comfortable for me if ever I would be hired because my aunt lives near the university. I immediately wrote an application letter but I never submitted it because I was hesitant. 

Until pandemic happended and I saw that 51 talk was still hiring. I immediately applied and underwent some trainings and interviews until I was hired. It is my first job and the pay wasn't that bad. Plus work is not like work at all because the kids are so cute that you are just like playing with them. In the middle of my 51 teaching journey, my cousin called me again to inform me that I was hired as the mayor's secretary. She told me that I would be preparing the mayor's speeches. That sounds exciting and fun but I never went back to there.

Those were my job application and employment journey so far. I went through a lot of challenges before I was able to get what is meant for me. I can't picture myself being in 51 Talk forever but I love that I was hired here. I'm grateful for the opporutnity and forever I will treasure my experiences and memories.

Thanks for reading. Until then!

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com







14
$ 9.23
$ 8.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Lovelyfaith
$ 0.06 from @gertu13
+ 11
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko yun nagpunta ka sa Bohol sa pinsan mo. Nakagawa ka article nun di ba? May trainings muna sa 51Talk? Hahahaha. Nagbabalak magtutor pero wala namang laptop atsaka baka di ko kayanin ang mga chikiting. Sa inaanak ko pa lang naku minsan di ko na lang pinapansin kapag nainis na ako. Hahahaha.

Relate ako. Yung nanay ko din noon mahilig magkwento kapag yung mga anak ng kakilala niya nakapasok sa ganitong company na may ganitong sahod. Yung nakakainis na minsan nasasagot ko siya na magkaiba naman kami ng field ng anak ng kaibigan niya. Pang food ako tapos bigla niya ako icocompare sa mga day/office jobs. Dati talaga hindi ko na lang pinapansin. Hindi naman ako nappressure. Naiinis lang kasi ba parang gusto niyang pasukin ko din yung pinagttrabahuhan ng mga anak ng kaibigan niya. So nung nainis ako, sige inapplyan ko. Merong mga tumawag meron din na hindi ako tinanggap kasi nga outside ng field ko. Ayun, nagtigil din ang nanay ko. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha sana ganun kadali sis. Pero dedma na lang ako or nasanay na lang ako sa kanya. May recruitment process na mahaba pero worth it sis. Secure ka lang ng mga gamit mo then you are good to go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Subukan ko yan minsan kapag may gamit na ako. 😊 hingi ako advice sayo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis, never ko pinangarap mag work sa BPO pero dito ako tumagal. Gusto ko yung work na gaya mo pero di ako nilagay ni Lord sa ganyan eh, sguro di ako marunong magturo talaga. Bakbakan with customer yung power na meron ako talaga hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you sis. Maybe jan talaga forte mo or you can try again sa online teaching. Maybe it will be time for you to teach some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my very first job too was teaching in a private school.. but I only stayed there for a week during training

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww why only a week?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The main thing is that you are working and you are gaining experience, it is much easier getting a job when you are in a job. So well done, I am proud of you 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oww. Thank you so much Uncle Ed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way sapayan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow kamao naka mobisaya ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero at least daghan na kag experience mamsh. Nagplano pud ko sauna mangaply sa 51talk pero layo man lagi. Dili man musugot akong pares nga mag-ulian ko kay dilikado daw.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lagi maamsh labi na uwan magsige landslide

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always nice to work where we like to work. And to be grateful to God for allowing us that luxury. Not everyone loves and appreciates the work they do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my friend. We just have to find the workplace that we would love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You find that within yourself. Put passion into what you do and you will have the best job in the world. I am 60 years old. I have two jobs. And I work Monday through Saturday. I love what I do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati job hiring samin for Cebu,that was after Yolanda.. Nagire ako as Secretary sa isang company sa Cebu.. Pero hndi ak tumuloy kc habang hinihintay ko yun, nahook ako ng former colleague ko na mag aral ng caregiving . lol. Yung araw mismo ng enrollment ko, yun dn mismo araw na tumawag yung sa cebu na pinapa impake na stuff ko pra pumunta na ko cebu lol . Hirap ata maging Secretary kaya hndi ko tinuloy 🤣. Lalo pa kya sec ng mayor haha. Kaw gagawa ng lahat n lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True sis. Tapos hindi pa ako taga doon. Hindi ko talaga kilala yung mayor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasayang bas mayor's secretary 🤧

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mapressure ko🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sa kinaunhan ra man kuno na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a long journey mamsh and it's worth at the end since you have a work now. Sa amu sad mamsh naa sad nag work anang 51 Talk. Mao medyo nakafamiliar ko. Fighting mamsh. DepEd na ka puhon mamsh...🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen amen. Ahu na i claim maamsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes mamsh. Pray always mamsh. I know kaya mo na mamsh..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I see those application letter pls? Maybe I can used them for future reference 😁😁 kidding. Btw den thanks for recommending me to sir Jo 🥰❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha. You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti pa ikaw may ganyang journey, akoy isang beses lang kasi. Awan baga hindi ata yalaga sakin ang work sa ibang company. Mas gusto ko pa rin bahay. Anyways, buti at nahanap mo rin yung talagang para sayo ☝️💪

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay lang yan sis. Maganda ikaw yung boss, hawak mo lahat at mas malaki pa ang income mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago