Odette - A Name I Won't Forget

11 44
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

I can't believe we didn't pay much attention to the news about Odette. I regret not being fully prepared for the devastating effects that it had brought. I was okay with no electricity but I wasn't okay with no internet connection, this is a nightmare for those who are working from home moreover for those who are relying on the internet for their day-to-day life.

On the day before the storm, it was like an ordinary day, there was rain and wind but was manageable. There was even a point where the sun appeared, I remember posting it as the calm before the storm. The news said that Odette is almost as strong as Yolanda and when we think of Yolanda, we think of the many deaths that had left Tacloban City like a graveyard. But then again, we never really had thought that this Odette would give us a night that we won't forget.

View of the mango tree from our room.

By the afternoon of the 16th, we already started feeling a bit of the storm. There was rain, the wind was getting stronger. Power was not anymore available, it was cut off when the wind became stronger but the internet was present and I was able to update my noise.cash account about what's happening around. I posted about how my baby was sleeping soundly despite the strong winds and I was even able to edit a video on my laptop!

Posted this on the 16th. I wasn't able to publish the video i edited.

It was 5:30 PM, my baby got up and we all shared an early dinner because it was dark and we had nothing to do so the family decided we get to have a meal early. It was a good idea to eat early as Odette made its way into Bohol by around seven that evening and we were already done with the dishes.

As the wind grew stronger, we were sitting in the living room and found that water got inside the house. The second-floor terrace's roof had been blown away! We have to make a way for the water not to fill the second floor so my cousin and our working student were sweeping the water towards the comfort room on the second floor but still, a lot of water managed to get to the ground floor. It was not also helpful that the windows' sealant was damaged, both the second and the ground floor got a lot of water.

My father decided we must do something so he placed a lot of clothes but this was not enough. We got tired and decided to let the water just pour inside the house.

It was the longers two hours of our lives. The strong wind was like howling, there were whistles all around, there were even sounds of like an engine accelerating, it was as if monsters on vehicles were outside our house. The mango trees around our house were being thrown here and there by the wind. Odette was the only storm who was able to cut down our neighbor's mango tree and even cut most of the branches of their old and very tall mango tree at their front yard. The huge branch made its way at our gate entrance. The other mango tree at the back hit a small part of our backyard roof and damaged it.

We heard all sorts of cracking, squeaking, roofs moving and flapping, the street lamps were not spared as the storm had reached the land. There was still internet access by that time and I recall reading updates from friends losing their homes due to coconut trees hitting their roofs, damaging their entire household. A lot of rescued families and more asking for help to be rescued from our neighbors and downtown family friends.

My family and I were at the comfort of our home. It was safe inside. My baby was not even worried about the storm, not even a hint of fear in his face and it was rebuking. I decided to pay attention to the good despite what was happening outside. With every frightening howl, I turn to God. I asked for HIs divine protection for the entire family, my sister-in-law, and nephew who were stranded in Cebu City, my cousins and relatives in the other towns, even friends and colleagues, I asked that God would deliver us and keep us all safe.

Two hours. it was unforgettable. It was the longest two hours.

On my mind, I hoped for it to stop, I asked God that He would make it stop.

It was only ten in the evening when we decided to sleep. The storm was still there but it was not that strong compared to how it was a few hours ago. But there was no electricity and so my baby had a hard time sleeping. All windows were closed so it was so humid and hot. By one in the morning, I asked my husband that we go to our room and keep our windows screen to let the wind get inside and we were off to dreamland in just a few minutes. Thankfully, the room looked fine, we still have our roof intact.

We slept, we will see by the morning the effects of Odette.


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube | IG | Twitter

10
$ 7.60
$ 6.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
+ 4
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

I heard of this and knew how tragic it'd be, I'm glad you're safe and we are not losing a readcash member...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about the devastation caused by Odette. Thank God that you are safe despite the strength of the storm. I wasn't even aware there was a storm because we were cut off from the rest of the world whilst at my in-laws as there was no signal and at the time Odette hit your area, we also experienced a few of its effects, strong winds blowing here and there, flapping the tents we were under while tending to my mom-in-law's wake. Hope everyone out there is safe and sound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully you're all safe there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank goodness you're all good at wlng damage khit na pinasok ng tubig bahay nyo. And your babe's asleep the whole afternoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi jud ang bagyo ron sis. Ngadto sa amo luoy kaayu akong ig-agaw. Wala na silay balay kay gi washed out jud sa storm surge. Wala jud silay nakuha nga bilin sa ilang balay kay wala naman juy makita.😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiimagine ko every detail of your Odette experience. Kahapon lang narinig ko din yung experience of 1 resort owner in Siargao. Naiiyak ako hearing both your stories. I know we can get through this. May this be a lesson to all of us that whether a typhoon is strong or nof, we have to be and we must always be prepared. Grabe na nadudulot ng typhoons over the years. Nakakalungkot. I hope the people who keep on cutting the trees would realize the effect of what they have done but let us also include the people who does not love and care for our environment.

Thank God that you and your family are all safe. I am about to check the profiles of some of our fellow users who were affected by Odette. I hope that they are also safe. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you're all safe sis. I knew the feeling. Ganyan na ganyan noon nun binagyo kami ni Yolanda. I was praying that time na tama na, tama na kasi we were all scared.

Kawawa yun mga nawalan ng bahay at buhay..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luhhh ganon din kalakas talaga sa inyo. But thanks God you are all ojay madams. Grabi pinsala din ni Odette na areh ee 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang lakas talaga ma'am. Pati mga family ko dun sa Southern Leyte sa sobrang takot.😭 Parang umiiyak daw yung hangin na galit.😭 Sa mismong lugar pa talaga namin nag landfall ang bagyo. Yung ikatlong landfall niya sa Liloan, Southern Leyte.😭

Sobrang nakakatrauma po talaga. Dasal daw po sila ng dasal. 4 hours sa Southern Leyte ma'am kasi nakadalawang landfall siya dun. Sa Liloan tyaka Padre Burgos Southern Leyte.😭 Ako walang tulog dahil sa pag alala ko sa mga family ko at pray lang ako ng pray. Iyak ako ng iyak sa pag alala.😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti saamin hindi gaano malakas ang hangin, ulan lang meron huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatrauma yung Malakas na hangin twing bagyo. Same username din ba ikaw sa Hive?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago