Matti's First Birthday DIY Photoshoot

27 38
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

I planned that Matti's first birthday be a special one. But due to certain unforeseen circumstances, we were not able to go home to Bohol. Last July 14, we traveled from Bohol to Cebu, spent a week on the island, and planned on going back to Bohol by the 21st but things didn't go as planned. Everything was changed and so we ended up staying in my husband's place until today. The birthday plans were canceled and the photoshoot was adjusted as well.

So today, I'd like to share with you how the Do It Yourself photoshoot went when we had limited resources being away from our comfort zone.

Read the related blog: Lemons + Milk Bath = Matti's 11th Month DIY Pictorial

Minimalist Rustic Theme

Even before we arrived here in Cebu, I already had an idea in mind, I wanted a minimalist rustic theme to his first birthday pictures. I just want that the highlight of the images would be just Matti.

In these photoshoots, my go-to friend would always be Pinterest. I searched on several minimalistic styles and ended up with one which I believed can be easily achieved. This was before reaching Cebu. I originally thought that I can pull it off when we arrive in Bohol because I can get the props online or rent them but then, there's a reason why we didn't get to do it in Bohol and I am just thankful that even if things didn't go my way, the pictorial was still a success.

Also, I just realized that there was something in the universe that was pulling me away from getting the props ready in Bohol and that was because we won't be doing the shoot over there but instead in Cebu.

A rustic theme is made easy by just adding props that could give the vibe. As for this shoot, I thought a crate or a tree bark cut cake holder would be enough.

Props

Cake Stand

As mentioned above, I thought of adding a wooden crate as an original plan, a cut tree bark holder would also be a good thing and on the day of the photoshoot, I only was able to get a hand of the cut tree bark.

My niece had a birthday party a week ago and during the party, the dessert buffet table had these two available, the wooden crate and the cake holder were used by the dessert buffet provider to hold the available desserts. By that time, we still didn't know that we will be doing the photoshoot in Cebu so I just brushed off the idea of renting those props.

So when I learned that we won't be able to go home to Bohol and that the photo shoot will happen in Cebu, I immediately asked my brother-in-law if we could borrow these props or even rent them. He immediately said no problem because he personally knows the owner of those props. But then, on the day of the shoot, they were only able to lend us the cake stand.

Banderitas or Pennant

As for the banderitas, I used paper bags here, cut them in triangles, and used double-sided paper to tape them into a string. It was the easiest part of the preparation but mind you, my husband bought more than enough paper bags.

When he was out to look for props in the market, he couldn't find craft paper in the school supplies section so he ended up in the groceries and bought paper bags, but he can't buy them by piece so he ended up buying a whole pack of 100 pieces.

I was only able to use around 10 pieces because cutting one paper bag gave two triangles.

Wooden Tile Sticker

Prior to the shoot, my husband and I had been contemplating where the shoot will be done. If we had done it in Bohol, it would have been easier because we can just use James' office floor as it was already made with wooden tiles.

But since we were doing it in Oslob, we can't find a spot with wooden tiles. At first, I considered using the dining table but it would mean carrying it from the dining area out to where we will do the shoot and that's too much.

Then James went to the home depot and found wooden stickers! This was perfect but when he arrived and placed the sticker into the ground, it was not that neat. It was all crumbled and whatever we do, it won't stay straightened on the ground.

Although not very perfect, I just let it be. It was the worst part of the pictorial and it was very obvious with over headshots.

Cake

All I wanted was a simple naked cake. I have ordered one before during Matti's 7th-month photoshoot but it was not the naked cake that I thought it would be. Our local bakeries in Bohol seemed to be unaware of what a naked cake is. So, when I realized that the photo shoot will be done in Cebu, perhaps the bakeries here are more familiar with the said cake.

However, I was totally disappointed when they delivered the cake and found it was not a naked cake at all! The worst part was that this simple minimalistic cake costs Php 1400!

This was truly overpriced! I thought of complaining, I even started telling my husband that this is not worth Php 1400! My husband said it is okay and we'll just live with it but my inner self was just not kept silent because it was totally overpriced!

The backstory is that the cafe owner in whom the cake was ordered owes a big amount of money from my brother-in-law. It's been two years since the owner borrowed the amount and two years later, he was only able to pay Php 2500 out of the original capital.

Since he was not paying, my brother-in-law instead used their service and deduct the amount from the capital that was lent. The same was the case with the cake. It's just that they were overpricing their services and items. During my niece's birthday, the dessert buffet was worth Php 6500 and they even said that there's an additional cost of Php 1800 but they only provided a small number of desserts which for me is not equal to the value.

Then here's the cake. Anyway, we are just glad that the color was fitting to the theme.

Failed Cake Smash

So aside from the shoot being a minimalist rustic-themed, I also planned a cake smash. But during the shoot, my baby was not interested in the cake.

In the past, he would always be interested in the cake, he'd kick or punch them but not this time anymore. He somehow held the cake and feeling the icing on his hand, his face looked worried, and would not dare touch the cake again!

No smash cake for this pictorial even if we placed the cake very near him.

Overall

Although this was not what I originally thought the pictorial would be, I am glad that we were still able to do it as a remembrance of Matti's first birthday. I feel emotional realizing that he is now one year old. My motherhood journey as well celebrates the first year and more years will come for sure, this is just the start and I am thankful I could keep something for me to remember this day.

Also, I am grateful for Read.cash because when I grow older and Matti too, we have a place where we could read and recall this event. Reading this will surely refresh my mind with what had happened during this photo shoot and his first birthday.

By next year, we will make it more memorable and hopefully, we can celebrate his birthday with my family too.


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

12
$ 9.62
$ 7.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Pichi28
$ 1.00 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

So cutie cute cute Mattie. Ang mahaaaaaaal ng cake. To think minimalist cake na yun. Paano pa kaya if 2 tier cake? Pero ganda nung tree bark na parang mala chopping board. I like. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you really thought and planned for the theme and everything about your adorable son's bday pictorial. Everything's awesome even when he didn't smash the cake :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks dear.. he was not into cakes anymore hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Matti turns one! I saw your photos on Fb, bebe. You are too adorable. Wish you more birthdays to come . Make momma and papa proud, okay? Xoxoxo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you tita!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome, Matti!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything looks perfect naman mommy Jean but I know, us mommy's hindi lang enough or pwede yong pwede smpre yong best for our angel dahil minsan lang sila mag one year old.... hehe But you pulled it off great. Sad lang about the cake kamo, Yes, it is indeed small for its size and to think you did not even get what you specifically ordered then you were prized way high. Baka naman the cake itsel like the bread was divine sis, sana nga. Well, siguro gusto na niyang maimpas na dayon ang iyang utang siguro.... haha Sige lang God is the witness naman to all his actions bahala na si Lord sa kanya or kanila. God is just naman and fair. I love Matti's rug doll, is it crocheted? parang it looks like it from a afar. Cute yong minimalist theme mo, kaya naka semi naked jumper din si birthday boy! Happy birthday to Mattii sis! May he grow healthy, happy, wealthy and wise.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words ate.. i wished it was crocheted .. si ate jurich dapat gumawa ng jumper ni baby but di na umabot kasi busy din sya...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So cute! Happy birthday to Matti! I loved the anecdote of the failed cake smash, haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why so cute and so big all a sudden, Matti? I loved how minimalistic this is and you are right for it does focus more on him. For the banderitas, I am imagining leaves but paper bags were great for the overall all earth tone colors of the photos. Good job, Jean and happy birthday, Matti!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot sir... thank God nakaraos din..hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang cute naman ni baby πŸ₯° I like the DIY.
Happy Birthday baby boy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat ng marami sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weheeee, super kawaii Matti, akin nalang ikaw bebeeeee πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ˜™πŸ’™. Anyway, Happy Birthday Cutie Mattie, late man pero nakabati pa rin πŸ’™. And ang ganda pa rin ng result ng photoshoot nyo. Simpleng Elegant dahil siguro sa choice of color πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‚πŸ°πŸŽŠπŸ’₯😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po..padalhan kita po ng cake hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now na please ,πŸ€€πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday matti! and congratulations 'rents for pulling it off! Ilike his worried face sa cake haha. Cute. The pictorial is cool ! Loved the banderitas .. also the color tone is also pleasing to the eyes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute ni MattiπŸ€— simple pero maganda ang photoshoot sis. Happy birthday and God bless Matti.πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah. Belated happy birthday cutie, Matti! 😍 ganda po ng theme and shots!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot... appreciate it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy one year birthday Matti. Grow in grace. More strength πŸ’ͺπŸ™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen..thank you po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations and happy birthday matti, happy baby from an happy family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dear. I appreciate your kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago