Get To Know Me! 1/2

32 51
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Hello there my readerist friends! It's another day and another opportunity to write! I am glad that we have prompts and challenges in this platform, we are saved by this phenomenon called writer's block!

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

So I want to thank @Micontingsabit, I read one of her blogs about getting to know the topic, read her article here: Can I Know Me More? She was also inspired by BCH_Lover. So I give the credits to these two persons, I was able to create two articles for this topic and I will be sharing the first part of the prompt.

I highly recommend this to other users too so we would know more about each other! Are you game? Let's get started!


Have you ever had a nickname?

My real name is very short, like just four letters “jean” so having a nickname was a little tricky. But growing up, I had been called “Jen-Jen” by friends while at home, they call me “Inday”. 

The word “Inday” has a negative vibe to those who are not from the Visayas. Since a lot of Visayan house helpers work in Manila and when the employers ask for their nickname, they respond as “inday”, most of the tv shows also portray inday as someone of low status, but really, the word inday means “noblewoman” or “beloved girl”. Culturally-insensitive media outfits sadly attached the wrong kind of meaning to this popular Cebuano or Bisaya term.

My close cousins also call me “burakdat”, when I was younger, when they call me “Inday Jean” but I won’t respond, they’d resort to calling me “burakdat” and they found it laughable. They’d even laugh out loud when I turn to them whenever they call me that. Growing up, I thought the word Burakdat sounds silly, but I just googled it today and this name actually evokes righteousness, authenticity, and realism, this is from nameecho.

Oh well, I want to be called that again. My cousins still call me that by the way until today.


What are your hobbies?

I have a couple of hobbies, some had continued even after giving birth while others had been locked up in their containers because they aren’t babyproof!

Photography

This has been part of my life already. I had started taking photos since grade school. Had already developed a hundred film roll since then up to high school. I also had damaged quite a few point-and-shoot cameras but my greatest achievement with photography is that I am able to document my life and my baby’s first year in pictures. Now, I have so many images to look back on when I get old and smile while looking at each of them. I am sure that when Matti grows up, I can show them to him and tell him many many things about our trips, our life experiences. After all, at the end of our life, we won’t be telling our kids about what we had achieved academically or the properties we had acquired but we tell them of our adventures and travel stories. I have to continue with this hobby, I am not stopping yet.

Calligraphy

This one hobby which I had paused for now, especially pointed pen calligraphy because it is a little dangerous. There are pointed nibs and small ones enough for Matti to swallow. Unfortunately, the inks had dried up and the nibs had rusted so when I get to do this again soon, I will need new inks and nibs. I still do brush pen calligraphy once in a while though but not often compared before.

Journaling

I am always in love with anything that is aesthetically pleasing like creative journals but even simple and minimalistic ones are welcome to my taste that’s why, my monthly journal before had evolved from being a creative one to a more minimalistic, one after giving birth. Having a baby requires time and attention that I can’t spend a lot of hours on my journal. I write many things in there like my to-do list, goals, diary entries, photo prints!

Blogging

I have been blogging since 2010. I had maintained a personal Blogspot blog and an online free digital scrapbook site before, I was paid by google ads once but I wasn’t able to maintain them when I went to Dubai for work. But even if I was in Dubai, I had continued blogging on different write to earn sites. I started with several bubblews, bitlanders, Steemit, hive. Now, I still continue to blog. Unfortunately, other sites stopped paying so I am now just blogging on blockchain sites like Steemit, Hive, Blurt, and Readcash. This hobby has now become a source of income for me too!


That's the first part, watch out for the next part posted later today!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

12
$ 6.62
$ 6.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 5
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Hello ulit ate jean!!! Dee here na nagtatago sa pen name na Usagi. Nice to meet you ate. Ang astig ng hobbies mo photography and calligraphy. Ako nman po sa photography lang pero gusto ko pang mag invest sa pro cam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hi dee.. actually magaganda nga photos mo... you should invest and maybe mapagkakakitaan mo sila...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako thanks ate. Medyo tahimik nga ako ngayon sa appics. Paano gawang activity at module sa school. Inaamag na mga photos ko sa gallery 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ipost mo na yan sis..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Inday " sad tawag sa akoa sa balay Mamsh since youngest man ko heheh pare pareha ra pud diay ta name madam hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

msh since youngest man ko heheh pare pareha ra pud diay ta name madam haha

jean imong name momsh? ayee apir apir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to get to know you sis jean! Ehheh waiting for the second part...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sis.. the second part has been published ! ehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have owned such great hobbies. I would love to learn calligraphy as this is really a cool hobby to cherish. Happy 250 subscribers Sis Wishing you more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be learned sis.. you can watch tutorials on youtube...

Thanks for the reminder on the number of subscribers dear...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have already saw some of them, but now I'm too occupied to give my time to calligraphy, I hope someday I will definitely pursue this passion of mine. Thank you Sis for your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

, but now I'm too occupied to give my time to calligraphy, I hope someday I will definitely purs

welcome sis... this hobby requires your focus kaya mahirap sya sa akin at this point din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Burakdat-hawig-hawig sa dagnay sa akong baby sis. Iyang lola kay tawgon siyag bulandat. Usahay pud burakdat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess same na sila na term sis..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My nickname is en2x meaning enday galing sah Bisayang pinulungan, hehe, hobbies ahm Mountain climbing, travel,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enday or inday same ra na sah? Nice man sad na nga mga hobbies but dili nako maka keep up ana hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh mao rana cxa sis, inday, ahm although kapoi kung mag Mountain climbing, pero f naa naka sah tok2x sah bungtod Kai sulit kaau,hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tinuod na.. i know satisfying jd ang feeling .. naka saka nako sa cebu pero mubo alng to na trail.. nya wala pay baby ato na time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe tagal mo na nagbablog 💕

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hala ganahan ko maginani ai. Daghanay najud ang sulatonon unia wala pa nangapost ang uban. hehe

kafunny sa burakdat dai ui. lahi ako pagbasa sa sugod. gibalik nakog basa gud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooooh buti nabanggit mo yung inday baka mamaya pgpunta kong Cebu may masabi akong ganyan. Ang tita ko tawag ng nanay ko Manang as Ate ata sa kanila yern.

Ang galing talaga nung calligraphy mo momshiiiii!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes momsh..dito sa Visayas manang means ate hehe or older sister...

Thanks sis.. gusto ko na ulit mag calligraphy... Pero malikot pa masyado si matti . Pag lumaki laki na siguro siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have different nicknames according to the level of friend we had hahaaha sounds silly ung burakdat but feels like a lambing sya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh i like it this time kasi it means different from what I thought it was...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha burakdat kay common kaajo gamiton sanmga bisaya oy. I love all of your hobbies ms. Jean. Especially calligraphy and journaling. It would be nice to learn calligraphy and it would be great to have a lot of time journaling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very relaxing sis and you'll have to really have a specific safe place for it coz there are inks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cool ng hobbies mo sis:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis... Nakakamiss na talaga mag pointed pen calligraphy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang layo naman ng burakdat sa name mo ateeee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha my cousins love calling me burakdat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know about you more my friend. You have interesting hobbies. Your pen calligraphy looks good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much.. i miss doing it already

$ 0.00
2 years ago