Friday Birthday Sing Along

11 34
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

The younger brother's age incremented on Friday, at first, we had no plans of preparing anything but by the middle of the day, I told him I'll buy him a cake so we decided to just prepare a few more dishes for dinner.

And of course, if there's a birthday, there's sing along too!

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

But first, we had to prepare whatever we needed to cook. My sister-in-law, my brother's wife, came with me to buy the necessary ingredients for the pancit, and vegetable salad, as well as we will be grilling some meat and fish.

The kiddos came with us as we went to the market. Then we went to the bakeshop to buy a cake. The kids were ecstatic as they saw a lot of cakes and sweets!

I spotted two couches with cupcake pillows that I asked them to sit on while I take photos. Obviously, Matti wasn't paying attention to mama as he was entertained by the many other things happening inside the bakeshop.

The bakeshop sells some balloons and toys and other stuff for parties so Matti was pointing at all of them. I guess this was his first time coming here.

The plan was to buy one cake but upon seeing the yema cake, I decided to make it two. So one yema cake and one chocolate ganache. Their chocolate ganache is a favorite! I also saw that they were offering red velvet now which was before an order-based cake but this time, they have it ready for those who want to have red velvet cake right there and then.

By the way, Kuya ZM is my younger brother's adopted child. His wife while they were not yet married had Kuya ZM while the brother was away in Dubai. It was a long story but I appreciate and I am proud of how my brother loves ZM like his own son. It somehow portrayed the grace and love that we experience as adopted children of God too.

My task that day was to roast the chicken quarters and then make a vegetable salad as well. I am so happy that I was finally able to harvest some lettuce from my father's garden.

I remember my father telling me before we left for Cebu three months ago that he has plans of planting lettuce so that we can have salad whenever we wanted. He wants to plant cucumber too and tomatoes, although we had cherry tomatoes at that time already.

Now three months after, he has grown the lettuce and we were able to harvest them for our own consumption! He was even able to plant cauliflower, broccoli, pechay, and more!

That photo above was what I had harvested for our salad that night. I was surely happy while picking the leaves! It felt nice to be able to just grab something from your backyard and have them for the entire family!

We were busy by four in the afternoon, my brother's wife prepared the pancit guisado, she also had made tapioca for dessert, while I had already marinated the chicken earlier and it was just sitting in the fridge.

When I felt like it was right to cook it, I just placed it in the oven, and then I set the timer to 45 minutes, the temperature was at 180 degrees. I actually didn't notice that the time was up, when I came back, its aroma was all over the kitchen.

I added dried rosemary, oregano, and thyme into the marinate actually so that was giving that aroma.

Then I prepared the salad this time! This is pretty easy, I just sliced the cucumber, onions, tomatoes, apples, mangoes, singkamas, lettuce, and pitted dates, and place them in a glass bowl. I didn't mix them yet though and I also placed the lemon honey dressing in a separate bowl.

The food and table were ready at six in the evening. There was bangus too grilled one. This was a very simple celebration. We had no outside visitors as my brother had not invited anyone so it was just the seven of us in the house.

Of course the blowing of cake won't be absent too. There were two cakes and so my brother let his son Kuya ZM blow the other one while Matti also blew the other candle. The kids were happy!

And of course, the sing-along won't be missing from this event. Before and after dinner, we had our own share of keying in each song that we wanted to sing. I had a few songs in line such as Two Less Lonely People in the World by KZ, I also sang some Bisrock songs, then some songs from Simple Plan, Bruno Mars, and Eraserheads.

We were out there singing but I have to go to the room by around seven in the evening because I still have to get the baby to bed.

The rest of the fambam were at the microphone until curfew time.

That's it! Thanks a lot for reading and please do check my previous articles too:


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

8
$ 1.86
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Happy birthday to the celebrant. The cakes look very lovely indeed. I love matti's Crocs they look so nice and they are my favourite colour too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Birthday sad sa niece sa akong partner gahapon mao na busy ko nya wala mka publish ,. Videoke sad mi gahapon 😅,, Ka fresh sa lettuce perfect jus sa salad ug samgyup sis🤤, ka kugihan sad sa imu father dear sis uy..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an adorable kid and his cake is delicious. Baby is also good at singing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

murag time na sad siguro nga mag tanom ko sa amoa dah...although nana mi mga gulay pero wala pa mi lettuce..belated happy birthday sa you brother mamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow sarap ng foods ma'am jane. Nakakagutom po. Yung inihaw na isda sobrang sarap niyan ma'am Jane. Super sarap talaga tas may sawsawan na spicy. Daming tanim na Lettuce ma'am Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow kacute ni Matti.akong anak ky laway lawayan ang mic.anyway gigutom ko ngtan aw sa foods sis oi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ganun talaga sis, kung ano yung planned na bilihin, may unplanned na mabibili talaga haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ka cute ni Matti naggunit sa Microphone. Kalami sa chocolate cake

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Karaokes are never been absent in every Filipino celebration hehe. Belated Happy Birthday to your brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love the cakes and the isda. Huhu makagutom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I found it so cute & adorable!

$ 0.00
1 year ago