A Mere Housewife In This Generation

47 68
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

Mommy @yen had posted this article about her being not a typical housewife and it triggered me to also create my take on this. Check her article on her account!

I agree with her that in this generation, wives are not the same as those who were ahead of us for many years. There are so many things that had changed our way of living especially our way of being mothers or housewives.

In this time and generation, women are given equal rights to men although there are exceptions to the rule, it is a general thing that we, women can do almost all the things that men can do and vice versa.

Our society had been too attached to the old ways of how a “stay-at-home” wife should be. I am not in favor of this. Anyone who would be telling us to be this and that without knowing our situation should just zip their mouths.

I agree that a wife must be there to take care of the house, but not to the extremities. I remember my mother who had taught me how to clean the house, taught me how to prepare meals, especially breakfast, she taught me to wash our clothes, sweep the floor, keep the house tidy, and be out of dust.

She’d be very angry when she sees some dirt or cobwebs still hanging on the counter or the ceiling. I grew up having this fear whenever my mother is around, I had to make sure the floor has been polished well and the dishes must be sparkling clean as well as the sink, it has to be extra clean before I could sit and watch television or else I'll get a good whole day of nagging and it will ruin my chill time.

So when I went to college, it felt free! It was at that time that I don’t have to really think so much about cleaning, I had time to do my favorite things like making art. And when I got married, I was told by my mother to always be there for our house and she’d comment a lot of times whenever we are at home and I don’t clean up our room. She’d go nagging and tell me that it is not how she had raised me.

Anyway, I love my mother but I am unlike her. She freaks out when the house is untidy. I clean the house but not every single day. Yes, I sweep the floor but not to the point where I’d go every single corner.

Before giving birth, my husband and I both were working, I get tired, he is also tired and so when at home, we usually just rest. We don’t even cook our food, we just buy it from the neighbor’s cafeteria or order food online. It was when I got pregnant when I started cooking or whenever I feel like eating such food that I go to the kitchen and cook with the help of YouTube and online sites.

As for washing clothes, I’d surely do that but only those which are light. Denim pants, comforters, bedsheets, towels, and the rest of those which are heavy are sent to laundry shops. And folding clothes is another separate topic. We all know what happens to newly dried clean clothes right? They might actually stay in the corner for a week!

As for our comfort room, I only spray bleaching liquid and wait for it to do the wonders. I rarely scrub as spraying bleach can help a lot in taking away the dirt and even making the bowl and the floor become white and clean.

I can distinguish the difference between my mother and me, I don’t stress myself with the cleaning part while my mother who labels herself as a typical housewife nags while cleaning, nags when someone is making a mess. My mother and I are the total opposite, I must say when it comes to house chores and it is okay, I feel fine with this but I am not sure if she's okay with my own. Again, the leave and cleave thing here is very important that is why my husband and I have been thinking about this matter of living separately while in Bohol.

I am glad that my husband is not very particular as well with these things. Perhaps because we are of the same generation. When I clean, he keeps his distance, sometimes he washes the dishes, he cooks too, he even washes his own undergarments which I greatly appreciate. As for massage, he is already satisfied with my inexperienced way of massage.

Living in this generation where both the husband and wife hustle, I label myself as not the typical housewife as well. I believe that a lot of us who are in readcash are not typical housewives, we find ways to hustle and with the knowledge of our husbands, they support us, they don’t ask too much of our presence in the entire household because they know that we exert as much effort as we needed to generate income for the family too.

We are thankful for husbands who understand and who support us. Our society must not label a housewife as someone whose life only revolves on taking care of the household. We as mothers and wives have our personal lives too and we want to help as well in generating income for our family. More importantly, we have our own dreams to fulfill.

The people outside our home have the tendency to really react right away, perhaps judge us but it’s okay. We don’t have to prove to them anything. As long as the people who matter in our lives are aware of what we are doing and they know why we are doing this, that’s the only important thing, that's what matters most.

Hugs to all stay-at-home mommies out there! Let's do what we do without being harsh to ourselves!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

16
$ 9.08
$ 8.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ayane-chan
+ 8
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Times have changed, and everyone has been breaking this stereotype and it is very evident these days. Most women tend to work like their husbands, and it is quite understood these days as our needs has changed and it is their way of helping in raising the family. In fact, there are even women who are higher paying than most men.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we're not typical housewife as we are now can work unlike before wives are staying home and the husband will work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ate, apg nag kaasawa, gusto ko mag trabaho and hindi lang mag stay s abahay. Snay kasi ako na gumagawa ng paraan para magkapera huhy. If mag stay lang ako sa house, mababaliw ako 😭 pero hindi naman kasi tlaga madali mag maintain ng kalinisan sa bahay lalo na if may baby hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indi talaga madali yun...

Ako naman sis ganyan yung mindset ko before giving birth.. pero nag iba talaga.. since pag graduate ko kasi ngwork na talaga ako...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma share ko lang din,kasi sis pag talagang malinis malinis ang bahay at Lahat Lahat,ay siguro aabutin ako ng hapon ng wala akong magawang grinding,hehe,kasi yong trabaho pabalik balik lang,at yong nga bata kalat ng kalat ,kaya ako Isang bagsakan lang talaga malinis. We should not underestimate ourselves of being a stay at home mom because we do different things aside from household chores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True and true.. kaya nung natotong mglaro at magkalat si baby, abay sinabi ko talaga sa sarili ko na hayaan lang ay itonay beautiful mess hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah,oo nga,Minsan lang sila maging bata eh,itatabi na lang pagtulog na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True pag tulog nalNg sila ang problem kung makatulog ako while tulog din siya hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah,okay lang yan,ganon talaga pag may bata sa bahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tama sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not alone huhu. Hindi ko Kasi talaga forte Ang paglilinis 🤣 tho Hindi Naman messy bahay namin siguro Kasi nga may mga priority ako especially pag earn dito. Minsan 12 noon na naglilinis padin ako ng bahay or dun palang nag start Kasi Sabi ko e unahin ko paglilinis di Naman ako magkakarera dyan haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

True walang karera jan talaga.. apir mommy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun usually perspective ng karamihan. Na housewife sa bahay lng magsilbi sa pamilya. We are in this new generation na both husband and wife can work.. And things that men can do can be done by women as well..
Sabi ko dati, kpg ako mag asawa. Ayoko maging plain housewife lang. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ation na both husband and wife can work.. And things that men can do can be done by women as well.. Sabi ko dati, kpg ako mag asawa. Ayoko maging plain ho

hehehe ang best thing about this new generation is pwede na talaga tayo mag work while just staying at home...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True.. A lot of online jobs out there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and etong readcash hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakocrelatr ako atr ganyan din kami ng mom ko, nagagalit sya sakin kapag di na ko malinis ng todo pero dati kasi maaasahan niya ko. Eh ngayong may side hustles na ko at nag aaral, bigla daw naging tamad wahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe ganun na nga sis... sana maintindihan din nila noh.heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I doubt sa mom ko kasi sarado ung mindset nya sa ganun sya kasi plain housewife simula sa first anak niya up to now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay same ng mama ko... Nahahighblood din talaga siya pag magulo ang bahay...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganun talaga ate mga nanay nuh hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu eh..wala n tayong magagawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis saputon o kada adlaw jud kay magsigeg sunod sa mga agi sa mga bata unya realized nako nga pasagdan sila kay nag eenjoy sila sa ila gibuhat ,maong manglimoyo ko kung tulog na sila😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

y nag eenjoy sila sa ila gibuhat ,

tinuod btw sis..nindot man sad na gubot kay it means naay mga bata nag enjoy hehe kana nalng jd ting katulog nila mag limpyu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ing-ana sad akong nanay sis. Magsige ug yawyaw basta dili manglimpyo sa balay. Labi na kung makit-an ka nga naglingkod-lingkod unya naggunit ug selpon.haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

apir sis hehehe hangtod karon in ana japon ako mama pero di na kaau sya masuko nako .. kay kahibawo man sya naay bata..haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga kung magkakabahay kami ni Ej puhon gusto namin maliit lang kasi ayaw namin madaming lilinisin 😹 Support naman siya. Iba talaga yung mga nanay dati. Dapat ganito ganyan ang asawa kaya yung iba napabayaan talaga nila sarili nila dahil sa paniniwalang ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i Ej puhon gusto namin maliit lang kasi ayaw namin madaming lilinisin 😹 Support naman siya. Iba talaga yung mga nanay dati. Dapat ganito ganyan ang asawa kaya yung iba napabayaan talaga n

yes ayan pa nga ang worse, kasi nagkahubo hubo na ang wife sa pag lilinis at pag aalaga ng bahay ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers to all stay at home mama! Relate ako sis, though I have been a full time mom ever since pero I don't push myself na kelangan ganito ganyan. Naku mas magaling pa nga maglinis si hubby kesa sakin hehehe! Basta pagdating sa kids ako naman ang bahala:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe! Basta pagdating sa kids a

hehe mabuti naman kung ganun sis..kaya nga basta ang importante ang mag asa na alam ang isa't isa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, give and take talaga between the husband and wife.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True... Cheers jan sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao na amo lalis sa akong bana bag.o pa ko dinhi. Di baya ko manglimpyo sa amo. Mao na ako ingon nga chill sa ko kay di pa kaya sa lawas. Karon kay naulian na akong lawas kay mag Pinaspas nako gamay. Ma dragon lage ko nga bag o pa limpyo unea si Alexandre magkalat na pod.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a chill sa ko kay di pa kaya sa lawas. Karon kay naulian na akong lawas kay mag Pinaspas nako gamay. Ma dragon lage ko

hahhaaha makahinumdom kos kanang meme ba nga angel p ang mama then after 10 minutes nadragon na..heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha naka limpyo kos kwarto 2x a week. Nabag ohan si Fred. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahhahaa unsa d ay iyang giexpect?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto niya mag typical housewife ko. Naka limpyo lang ko 2x kay na dragon ko ni Alexandre Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naa jud siguro mga husbands na in ana rox.. pero ok ra ba kaha siya hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Limpyado sad ni akong bana. Mag bakasyon mi ang Airbnb rental limpyohon na niya balik dala scrubbing sa bathroom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing.. nagdako na siya ba na limpyado

$ 0.00
2 years ago

o kay limpyado iyang lola ug mama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh mao d ay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a mother is very multitasker. They can do everything they wanted to do in order for the goodness of the family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true enough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the oozy type of wives and moms are those who don't have much to do like the moms in another generation. They are more focused to beautifying the house and keeping it clean always. When you do more than cleaning the house, when you work in an office or elsewhere, it would be impossible to be extremely oozy in terms of cleanliness of the house.

When I will become a mom or a wife, I think I would be just like you. I would sweep the floor and wash the dishes but not to the extent of scrubbing everything to make it white. I bet I have lots of things to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's right dear... i guess it is also because of what the old generation had labeled the women to be... but today, it is very different indeed as women opt to work

$ 0.00
2 years ago