How Did We Choose You?

29 48

07.04.22

How's everybody's Sunday night box office? I hope that you enjoyed your day before you go back to your weekend routine.

Me and Lil B? We're fine and we got to go out for a bit. I actually wanted to go somewhere so she can see something else other than us and our home. Basically I just want her to be tired so she can sleep early again. These past few days, I was getting a little less sleep as she slept at 12md for almost a week now. Yes I know that her body clock is changing but I need to do something so I can maintain to do articles or my mini side hustling. It worked though, just right after I changed her nighties she slept. Whew!

Oh by the way, we went to my best friend's house last night. We just had dinner and let Lil B play with her cats. She's a dog and cat person. Lil B loves animals and she wants to carry the cats. Here's a picture so you can see how she enjoyed it.

Not to worry, this cat loves babies too. My best friend T, tells me what cat she can play with. I only tell Lil B to touch it. She knows and she listens not to pinch them but only to do gentle touch.

Oh T is also one of Lil B's God parents. So much for intro eh? HAHAHAHAH, sorry about that.

Do you still remember issues that we see on Facebook about parents who seek financial help to their kumare's or kumpare's (your child's god parents)? I cringe everytime I see one to be honest. Some people just lost the sense of God parenthood (is that the term? hahaha anyway). Share some stories if you experienced some too, my comment section is open for chika!!!

Anyway, let's discuss a few regarding this stuff.

What is the role of god parents?

God parents serves as the 2nd parents of a child. They help the parents in the upbringing of the child, especially in religious way.

For us, it doesn't have to be all religious but as long as they help make our Lil B as a decent human being, that's already enough for us.

I am not a religious person but I am a Catholic. I am baptized but I don't know my god parents personally. It turned out I have one pair of god parents and I only got to see them once in my lifetime.

How do we choose our child's god parents?

This is just plain my opinion and how we chose Lil B's God parents.

  • People we can trust our child to if we are not around.

  • Someone who can provide positive influence.

  • People who will be around

  • Someone who will do the role as god parents by heart, not just on paper.

  • People who will love our child and agrees to be a god parent.

In Filipino culture, we got used to getting god parents who are close friends or relatives. Some parents may choose people who are financially capable to give gifts to the child, which is one toxic trait. Do you agree?

It is also a tradition not to accept an offer to be a god parent. We have a saying that being a god parent is a privilege and it's a blessing so we shouldn't say no. In our case, we choose the people closest to us who fits the criteria above. We have asked a few people if they want to be Lil B's god parents. The people I asked on my side have the liberty to not accept the offer. I don't want to dictate their role to our child as a god parent and they would only agree because I told them to. Therefore, it was a forced god parenthood and they will only become a god parent by paper. I specifically asked them if they want to and no hard feelings if they don't like to be one. Honestly, I would understand and I made sure to ask them twice or thrice before I list them as one.

Monetary assistance from god parents are appreciated but not required.

I did a little research and basically god parents are the principal sponsors of the child's baptism from clothes, food, giveaways, etc. However, financial responsibilities are not mandatory and will depend on the discretion of the parent and soon to be god parent.

For me, I can accept monetary assistance as long as they would offer. I won't assign it to each of them. That's already a bonus that we can get from them for being a god parent but the most important thing that we need is they can be a good role model to our Lil B.

Lil B's God parents

Lil B has a total of 13 god parents and we picked just a few people that we know who can do the role of god parents.

Since I am one of my niece's god parent, we chose both of sisters husband. We know that even if they are not one, they would still be a good model to her.

I picked some of my closest friends from my previous company. Yes, some. One of them that wasn't a god parent went to lil b's baptism and I told her that she'll be one to our soon to be 2nd born and she agreed. You know the trouble of choosing god parents, the first born almost gets it all. We don't want our soon to be children to have god parents that we don't trust enough to be one. We also picked my husband's closest friends who are based in different places too. That way whenever lil b goes, there's someone that can guide her aside from us, her parents.

Choosing the people who will be a part of your child's life is crucial. This is just the time that we can get to choose people who will be part of her life. Soon enough, Lil b will choose the people that she wants to be with and be part of her life.

Choose wisely and responsibly.

Well that's all for now folks!

Fishing out.

Lead image edited from Canva

©All rights reserved. MICONTINGSABIT.

10
$ 1.94
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
+ 3
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nako, may nakita akong FB post nuon na parang yung ninang tumanggi sa pakiusap ng kumare niya na sagot na yung pasouvenir ng binyag ng anak niya. Yung ninang, nasa abroad. Akala ng kumare ganun kadali maglabas ng pera porke nasa abroad.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kung pumayag man ang ninang sana di na lang sya nagnagtoka. Andami kong nababasa dati na ganyan sis. Yung ibang nanay mangungutang pa sa ninang para sa anak na akala mo anak ng ninang ung bata. Kalokaaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti pa kayo ate ganto mindset. Yung iba kasi basta maraming pera, go na agad hahaha. Ako pilit kong binabago yung ganung ugali sa pamilya namin. Tumatanggi talaga ako pag alam kong di ko magagampanan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parang nakakahiya dn kasi na papayag ka maging god parent tapos di mo naman dn magampanan. Tapos yung magulang ng inaanak pa yung magpapaalala minsan na o bday ng inaanak mo sa ganito ganyan, regalo mo ah. Tapos kapag nagbigay ka naman, mamatahin minsan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Medyo malayo layo na yung tinakbo ng panahaon kasi di ko na halos maalala ang mga ninang at ninong ng mga anak ko. So far wala naman akong naging problema sa kanila. Bata pa kasi ako noong nagkaanak ako at ang mga naging ninong at ninang ng mga anak ko yung mga friends din namin.

As of now meron pa ring kumukuha sa akin na maging ninang ng anak nila and I am happy kasi siguro naiisip nila na magiging mabuting godparent din ako sa mga anak nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Blessing ng dn daw ang pagiging ninong at ninang. I remember i asked my cousin if he would like to be one of the ninongs he just said na I don't think i'll be a good influence to the kid. Hahahahaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too sis, mas okay sakin yunv mapagkakatiwalaan ko yung anak ko sa kanila. Kesa sa pera na ibibigay nila. Kaya mga kinuha ko din is lamang yung kakilala talaga namin like mga pinsan at mga kapatid ko lang din. Tsaka mga kaibigan ko na alam kung mapagkakatiwalaan. Sila kasi ang tatayong #nd parents kung sakaling mawala ka, alam muna atleast may tao kang mapagkakatiwalaan diba na huhubog sa anak mo na maging mabuting tao.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True basta someone close na magiging magandang influence sa anak natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same thoughts, Sis. I never forced the people I asked. I'm even the one who pays for them for the fee at the church. Some give gifts and I appreciate but I didn't require any of them to give anything.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Presensya lang sapat na no sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, nemern. Yung iba nga dun sa kanila nagpa-proxy lang kasi may online class at work. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope we can all learn from this and not let money be the reason for everything. I'd rather not accept being a godparent if that is the reason they considered me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks! Pero nasayo pa dn lalo na if you are close sa parents ng magiging inaanak mo. Some god parents kasi talaga mahilig dn mangspoil ng bata haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako mga ninang ng anak ko is ilan lng din and honestly I am not after what they can give to my baby also tama ng tingnan, batiin, i-correct nila if may mali. I remember my neighbor suggesting me to get the oldest daughter of my partners brother kasi daw may trabho na at ndi na mahirap mamasko kasi neighbor lng din, natawa na lng ako hihi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha ay sos! Ganyan nga sila ano. Akala nila lahat nadadaan sa pamasko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga sis, un kasi kinuh nila ninang ako naman is ung bunso na estudyante pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka sis dapat yung mga God parents na pinipili natin ay yung may pusong magulang na pwede natin maipagkatiwala ang anak natin.yung iba pinipili nila ay yung mapera para may bonggang pang regalo sa kanilang anak. expected na yon ng magulang ehh..base sa mga nakikita ko sa paligid kapag wla kang pera di ka kilala ng iba

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan. Ako konti lang dn inaanak ko ts may kamaganak pa ko na kinuha akong ninang tapos kapag bibisita sila, tuwing pasko lang magmamano. Kapag walang event di pa yan pagmamanuhin ng lola samin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha iba na talaga ang mga kabataan ngayon mga wais na halos lahat ng okasyon para sa inaanak dapat may ambag ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, tuwing pasko lang magiging ninang. Lels

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba din ang mindset ko kapag pipili ng god parent. Ung bininyagan anak ko eh tatlo lang pumunta which is okay lang sakin. 6 lang din naman ang pinili ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako sis may napanuod nga ako na nagalit yung parent sa ginawang ninong at ninang kasi di sila pumunta. Kaya minsan magdedecide ka talaga kung sino yung maaasahan mong magpakita talaga at yun ung may concern sa bata.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ayyyy beri wrong... dapat tlga ang kukunin mo ung malapit sainyo ng husband.. ako nga ninang ko puro kamag anak eh wahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The godparents of my children, are older than us, and they only have two, in both kids. Not necessarily na generous sila, pero Yong nakikita ko na ehemplo ng pamilya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yan, bonus na lang talaga if matuwa sila sa inaanak nila kaya nagbibigay ng gifts. Yung iba kasi parang nageexpect lagi na kapag birthday or pasko, ts magpaparinig pa kahit di naman lagi nakikita ang bata. Ako madalas ninang sa papel hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have two kids and they have a fair sets of ninong at ninang. Mostly mga close friends at cousins naming mag-asawa at both sides. May maibigay or wala sa mga bata is ok lang. They are all good person at mapagkakatiwalaan. Though marami dito samin pag wala ka pera di ka kukuhaning godparent, hahaha. Kaya wala ako masyado inaanak eh, chaaar!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako ako din HAHAHAHAHHSA madalas yung ate ko kinukuhang ninang kasi mas mas pera sya hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ngayon po kasi paramihan na ng mga ninong at ninang para po makarami din kapag mga pasko. minsan kung sino lang may kaya , yun po ang kinukuha nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun na nga. Yung regalong every year lang makukuha. Ako mas naappreciate ko yung may concern sila sa anak ko kesa sa gifts

$ 0.00
1 year ago