Why now?

22 39
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Have you ever been in a situation that you were fed up of but then it began to seem like there was hope? Like you were getting close to the end of the tunnel, so close that you were beginning to feel the rays of light slightly on your face, and you began to rejoice that finally the end was near, only to be covered in utmost darkness again all of a sudden?

If you have, you'd know that it is the worst feeling one can ever have.

It's one thing to be in a certain situation and have some bit of hope that change is coming soon, and it's another thing to be in same situation and clearly see that the change you seek is not close by at all.

Devastated, mad, angry and sincerely tired was how I felt today when I heard that the strike that closed down tertiary education in my country has been extended by 12weeks. I just couldn't help but scream!

Initially, I thought it was fake news because there were lots of news making rounds that the strike has been called off and many more. I was secretly praying that this was true when the bombshell of extending the strike hit me and it did hit me hard.

I have been at home resting, eating enough food and trying to add up a bit thinking that the strike will be called off soon, if only I knew. Right now I'm just confused cos I don't know what to do and this is happening cos I have too much time on my hands.

I've tried countless times to get a job but I couldn't find one where the pay was worth the stress and with the economic downturn, I can't even blame them as everyone is just struggling to get by.

Everyone is suggesting learning a skill which is a good idea but the problem I have here is that I don't want to learn a skill I won't use. I'm some one who doesn't joke with classes and school activities, therefore I can't add using my skills to earn money and school work at the same time because one will suffer for the other and there's no way I'm letting school work suffer. Hence the skill learnt becomes unused or rarely used.

I guess one could say I'm frustrated in a way because my long term goals are being affected with this indefinite delay. Normally I should be done with schooling by now and well focused on other things but here I am.

I can't help but just ask why now? Why does it have to be now when I'm so close to the end that this while strike thing has to occur? I guess only God knows really.

I'm glad I have read.cash, at least I'm not entirely wasting my time.

Author's Epilogue

I know my fellow comrades in this same situation would have given up too. You can't blame us really, we've held on long enough.

I'm sorry about my seeming rant and anger, I just had to let it off my chest. We'll go back to amazing and juicy contents tomorrow cos right now this writer is not feeling so great.

Thanks for reading guys!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

17
$ 3.42
$ 3.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 13
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
1 year ago

Comments

I understand you dear, and somehow you really had a point. I really like your perspective about why wasting to learn and just waste as you can't use them to earn money. Hopefully things will get better in your place and so you can finish your study and have a great job.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hope so too ooo....it seems hazy right now but I'm positive it will definitely work out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I tell people I don't bother myself about Nigeria again, they think I'm joking. They are messing with the future of so many. Not everyone wants to learn trade or crafts but now, they have to think of doing something else to make up for that time so they won't be idle and can stay productive. Welcome to Nigeria.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hmmm....this is the weird situation we've found ourselves, I just hope the end is near, that's if there will be one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree. It can be frustrating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I happy die when I heard the news πŸ˜‚ one man's food is another man's poison. No skill is ever useless, even if you can't use it now, you will definitely find a use for it later on. It's far better to learn something than to be idle at home, that's if you can't get a job

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well I'll consider doing something Sha, I should probably call you so we can talk about what options I have cos right now I'm blank.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

fortunately, there's read and you can also add more blogging sites if you can squeeze them into your time, oh you got many!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're right, you can introduce me to any and I'll be happy to check them out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you can check out steemit, hive, blurt, and appics too! appics is a social media application... you can post your photos. download the appics app from the playstore or appstore... as for the rest, they are web based blogging sites...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like seriously ASUU is f**** crazy. You know what.? I am sure I screamed than you, lol. Anyways it's a kind of mixed emotions from me, I am trying to save before returning to school, and 3 months is a plus, you feel like beating me.. Go ahead.. Vent your anger on your phone, lol. Thank goodness I can continue my part time teaching job and Read Cash in peace. Read this again and you really won't blame me. 🀷

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I actually understand your point, I guess if I had a job like you do I would be less mad but like you said, it's an opportunity to save as much as we can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks like we're in the same shoes when it comes to learning a skill or handwork. I don't even know what to learn even if I ever thought of learning one. Plus I wouldn't like to learn what I wouldn't use!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am just hoping I find something I can really do that I like soon. Else, it's gonna be a long three months for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If only you can try to balance things up to learn a skill while in school, you should be doing fine with both. Perhaps, I might want to understand your ability with that because not everyone would be the same.

The 12wks strike is really disheartening because they are in a way delaying students that should have been through so they can know the next phase of life.

I guess you just have to be doing something to help you now that there are still 3 more months to stay at home.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They didn't give me any choice, so it's either I find something to do or bored kills me and you and I know which option I'll pick, definitely something doing. My quest has begun!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, the country is somehow, it's better you start learning a skill now and prepare for what is to come when you are through with school.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is the sad reality that we must face.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it relieves your anger, please rant more, and make it louder. It is so annoying. I'm also happy for you to have been on read.cash all through this ASUU strike period. I'm just imagining what other nija undergrads are doing in this period. It's so painful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really painful, I really hope everyone is fine cos this whole thing can affect ones mental health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜­πŸ˜”πŸ˜” I wan go find work like this o

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omor, na the way be that now oooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago