Top three questions I always ask whenever I am in a job interview

30 73
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

***

Photo free from unsplash

***

After over intorragated by the interviewer, of your personal identity and why are you applying for their company, you will be given a chance to know more the company and position you are applying for.

By the end of the interview, the interviewer will ask you if you have any more questions.

Interviewer: Do you have any more questions or concerns?

In that case you should be ready to ask more questions about your concerns if the job suits according to your taste and lifestyle, more specially regarding your employment status. (If you get hired)

On my previous interviews I am always nervous around my interviewer. And all I wished is for he or she to end the interview immediately so I opted not to ask anymore questions. But it may leave another impression to the interviewer, he/she might think you are uninterested with the job you are applying for.

But with the number of job interviews I've already attended I have already built questions to ask my interviewer. And It really help me a lot from choosing the company that will best suit me.

Here are three questions I always asked.

#1. Did someone resign/leave the position I'm applying for?

Yes it is important to know whether the position you are applying for is a vacant position, new position, or someone has resigned. Why? Because I've experienced it first hand. And its really a tough job to be in someone's previous job. Its quite frustrating too.

So it is really important to ask this question. Is the position that bad that someone resigned? So you need to add a follow up question if the answer for it is a yes. Why did she or he resign? And how long did she stay before she resigned?

Yes you are not the only one being asked why you resigned from your previous job. You can also ask for it.

It helps me evaluate whether the company treats their employees well. And if the previous employer stays longer than 2 years, it is a plus for me. That is because I don't really apply for a job that will make me look for another in a very short period of time. I prioritize stability and something that will develop me over the years of my stay.

#2. How long are you in the company and what are your plans for the next few years?

It is important to know the insights of the interviewer regarding this matter. I have already asked this a lot of times and I really enjoyed listening to their words of encouragement. Seeing their plans for themselves still working in the company for the next few years even though they already stayed there for more than 5 years is quite stunning. Or if there is an opportunity given they will of course, won't slip that away.

It is something really entertaining and insightful, you can feel how they really like their job. And how they are invested in the company. 

#3 What do you like the most in the company's culture and how do they manage work and life balance?

I really like to ask questions like this because I'm very particular on how things work in the company. Is it purely work? Or you can still have fun? Like company outings. And more engaging socialization.

I don't want to be in that situation again where I work and just work and don't enjoy fun things outside work. 

In regards to the work and life balance, how often they allow vacation leave or was it hard to apply for a leave. Also, if you need to extend time for work, is it everyday? Some things that would always concern me. 

So here are the top three of my concerns when I am looking for a job. I don't like jumping through different companies because I don't like being interviewed a lot of times after a year or less.

How about you? Share your questionnaire on the comment below and let's chat about our experiences!

Again thank you for reading and reaching this very far. Hehe. Much love.

Image source ;

***Thanks to Christina @ wocintechchat.com @wocintechchat for making the lead image available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/vzfgh3RAPzM

19
$ 17.78
$ 17.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 15
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nagtry lang ako magtrabaho noon para experience sa interview kahit student palang at parang kakatayin ako sa kaba habang nagtatanong yung interviewer.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha parehas lang nakakaba din talaga xD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't had a lot of experience with job interview but I have watched some tricks and tips. It touched upon the subject of what you have discussed - the kind of environment that you are going to work with. That is one of the important things to ask for you are committing yourself to that job thus one should know if it's a healthy workplace or not.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes indeed! I really like company outings or retreat so I asked them that too. Hahah 😆 Just to make sure I'm going to work with hoomans haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a nice article lalo na sa mga nag-aapply for a job na mga baguhan pa... Need laging handa if they will ask you if uve any question.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes po. Dati po hindi ko din talaga alam na dapat magtanong. Pero dahil naexperience ko na yung mga dapat pala tinatanongvko kung mga ganun. Para expected ko na ano mangyayare at mapredict ko kung ano environment yung company at yung boss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so helpful, I've experienced this kind of job interview, yet at the end they didn't ask me if I have some questions. Yet, this one reminds me of some possibilities, gonna take note of it it. Thanks!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe. You're very much welcome! Thanks too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Meyzee, balang araw magagamit ko din to lahat and sabi nila dapat talaga confident ka sa interviews eh medyo mahiyain ako eh hehehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe. Kaya mo yan, kakayanin mo fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

according to how I feel when I get a chance for a job opportunity, frequent interviews are a trap to test someone's integrity and answer them with caution because your ability cannot be measured by the way you answer the questions asked.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sakin wala huehue, one time palang ako nag attend ng job interview ee kabado pa nagpapawis ng bongga kili kili ko kaya nga gusto ko na agad makaalis hahahanep

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahhaa same 1st interview ganyan din sana matapos na kahit hindi magkajob haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also faced this kind of situation in the interview. Very important topic you written dear. Hopefully from this we can learn some knowledge.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your top question number 3 is the first question I ask to my interviewer because you I don't need to iterate because you said it very well. You mentioned in number one that employer last longer? I think it should be the employee? I don't know if I get it right but good luck to your new found job😃

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow thanks for the correction. It was the employee yes! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I just went for an interview without any knowledge about the work that I am applying for lol. A friend just tagged me along to have companion so the ending bagsak sa interview 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha it happened to me too. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced any job interviews yet but I didn't come to my mind that this last part where the interviewer ask if there's any question that you want to ask or clarify is really important. Before I just thought it was just for formalities.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe you'll appear smart of you ask! Haha charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't experienced answering questions about job in person,but Im having now an idea if it will happened in the future.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha you got an idea now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Clarify ko lang, ikaw nagtatanong sa kanila kahit ikaw iniinterview? Pwede pala yun hahaha bawian lang. Maganda lahat yung tanong binasa ko talaga lahat, interesting 😆

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yess haha may pa free question yan sa huli. Pede ka magtanong pagnasabi na lahat yung mga basics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing company culture is very important in a job.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed sir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the three questions...!! now to get myself to really look for another job.. .and be brave enough to face interviewers again.............

I think I like the #2 question. Puts the interviewer in a position to be hopefully honest without tainting the reputation of the company or hopefully honest about if he/she sees the company worth staying in.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha uu nakakatuwa itanong. Bat sila tumagal haha apply na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

actually minsan ang taas ng anxiety ko sa interview hindi na talaga ako nakakapag tanong hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago