Updated Skincare 2022: Products that work for me

9 51
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Skincare, Men, 2022, Glow up

Oftentimes, we see women sharing their own skincare routines online. On the other hand, men are sometimes misjudged when sharing theirs. For me, it doesn't have a gender. Anyone can do it, and in fact, it is one of the best things we could ever do for ourselves. So if you are a man and are afraid to start a skincare routine either because you do not know how to start it or because you are afraid of being judged, this one is for you.

It was when I entered the puberty stage that I started having pimples, as anybody does. But the difference is that it is not that dire or serious. They fade on their own, even without using any products. But as I grew older and became more engaged to a lot of pressures and stress, I started having break-outs.

It was in my tenth grade when I first had a break-out. As a person who has somewhat high confidence, I began to feel low self-esteem. My face looked really horrible way back then. It is not that severe, but I cannot look directly in the mirror because of the tiny bumps that cover my face, which seemed to be a pacific ring of red mountains with white lava on top. I am not used to being noticed by people in other ways. Some would laugh, while some are concerned. Until I get used to it. Then, thankfully, they fade on their own.

The only product I have used before is the pink soap from Safeguard, which has aloe vera and is said to be effective in clearing pimples. Well, based on experience, it did help me clear my acne before.

But like they say, just because they went away doesn't mean they will never come back. (Buti pa sa pimple no? May comeback, hahaha, jk.)

I am a third-year accounting student now, and to tell you honestly, it is full of stress, pressure, and sleepless nights. But I am not regretting choosing this course since it is really my dream to become a certified public accountant soon. But of course, due to the mentioned things, my oily and acne-prone skin needs the care to deal with break-outs. And so, here are the current products I am using.

Note: This is not a piece of professional advice. What works for me may not work for you since we have different types of skin. It's better to consult a dermatologist instead of undergoing trial and error. Besides, there are free consultations online. Just look for the Philippine Dermatological Society on Facebook and be guided accordingly.

For the morning routine:

Every morning, I drink a glass of water first, then wash my face with water, and after that, I use a gentle cleanser to cleanse my face and remove dirt. Below is the product I am using.

Cetaphil is such a great brand. It's quite pricey, but it is very gentle and effective. What I like about this one is that it now contains niacinamide, which is considered a jack-of-all-trades ingredient. While gently cleansing the face, it also moisturizes and helps in brightening it up. You can buy it for as low as P141.

After cleansing, I dry my face using a clean face towel. Since I started having a lot of pimples, I have been using a separate towel for my face and body. So the next step is applying moisturizer to hydrate the skin.

Before, I used this product below. This is Celeteque Hydration Facial Moisturizer. Aside from being budget-friendly, it is also effective and good for oily skin. I bought it for P150 and could last for a few months.

But currently, I am using this Korean moisturizer by ILLIYOON. This is by far the best moisturizer that I bought since it has ceramides, which are good for moisturizing the skin. This one is priced at around P470 but it seems it would last for several months.

After that, I apply sunscreen from Sunplay. Among all these products, this is the most important one. As dermatologists say, sunscreen is the most important product to use because it helps protect the face from harmful UV rays. This is P390.

For the evening routine:

At night, I first cleanse my face using the same moisturizer I use in the morning. I just let it sit on my face for around 60 seconds, and after that, I washed it off and gently pat it dry using a clean towel.

After making sure that my face is dry, I then apply the Benzoyl Peroxide and Adapalene Gel from Benziturn-AD gel. Please note that you can't just simply buy this product. You have to consult first with a dermatologist since this is a medication. When using this product, I just use a pea-sized amount all over my face. I bought it for P480 and I have been using it for more than two months already.

To avoid drying, I apply moisturizer after a few minutes. Also, I use the same moisturizer as I use in the morning.

I am actually shy about sharing this photo above, but for your reference, I included it. I know it is far from ideal skin, but I am glad that its condition has gotten better as compared to how it looked before. By the way, this is a one-month result. There is more severe as compared to the left picture, which I am shy about sharing. Probably, it would have been better if I could have avoided stress and could sleep earlier at night. But for some reasons, like school-related reasons and others, it may seem to undergo a slower process. Nevertheless, I hope it will get better as the days go on. I'll update it again after a month or two.

So that's it for this day's article, guys. I hope it somehow helped you gain something. Again, whatever I have mentioned here is not a piece of professional advice. If you are having breakouts too or have related concerns, it is best to consult a board-certified dermatologist.

By the way, today's my first anniversary here and I want to extend my sincerest thanks to sir @MarcDeMesel and all of you guys who have always been supportive. This platform is more than just a web platform. It is a community filled with different kinds of people who also help each other in one way or another, especially in promoting BCH. We may not see it on top right now, but I hope and believe that one day, it will also rise up on top.


If you like this article, feel free to check these out too:

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash 

© 2022 McJulez. All Rights Reserved. 

7
$ 1.52
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Topics: Skincare, Men, 2022, Glow up

Comments

Congrats sa progress mo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabon lang lsng ang gamit ko at dahil dami na ang tanim kong aloevera ,eto nalang ginagamit ko after maligo ,feel ko effective naman kasi hindi na ako nagka pimples simula ng ginagamit ko to

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo, effective po talaga yan pero not in all cases kasi iba-iba tayo ng skin type. Pero thanks po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will suggest din na i.continue mo lang talaga ang paggamit sa mga products na yan, lalo pa't kitang-kita yung good effects niya sayo. Halatang hiyang ka sa mga beauty products na yan. As for my partner, hindi siya yung mahilig sa mga skin care. Well, good thing kasi hindi siya dinadapuan nung pimples. Hmm.. I hope mag.heal na yan talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana all na lang talaga sa mga hindi tinutubuan ng pimples haha. Pero thanks sa suggestion. Hopefully mas maging maganda pa ang resulta sa mga darating na buwan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oy keep on using them lang kasi effective sayo. Yung youngest brother ko eh mas masipag pa mag skin care saakin. Dati kasi andami din niya pimples kahit high school palang siya. What works for him are brightest soap and RDL toner. Ngayon nako kahit pores wala ako makita sakanya. Hiyang niya pero saakin hindi. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tamad din ako magganitonbefore hahaha pero andaming tumtubo kaya tinutuloy-tuloy ko na. Hopefully, it will improve more as days go on. Thanks po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakikita ko din kasi naglighten yung sayo kaya feeling ko effective basta ituloy tuloy mo lang po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagkaka allergy ako pag ginagamit ng kung ani Anong products,di ko pa nahanap yong hiyang sa akin,sa ngauon sabon lang muna ,pero may plano na akong bilhin na sana wag akong magka allergy. I appreciate your effort for doing your routine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago