The Land He Died For

8 47

The land he died for is bathed with blood; the thorns of his words are getting sharp.

Growing up, I have been fed along with the information that our national hero was exiled and executed because of his outpouring devotion to our country. There stood a monument of his, surrounded with flags that swayed better than the others. Quite apart from this, I’ve relied the rest on the books.

Having the chance to study the life story of Jose Rizal piece by piece made me use the word surreal; it was like the one shown in a heroic movie, only his death didn’t put a halt to all the chaos. We have outlived his legacy because people thought bearing him as the Philippines’ epitome of a hero is enough. However, we didn’t pay attention closely, not until I had this class which succumbed me to a chamber of guilt, wariness, and remorse.

The land he died for has given birth to tyranny; the ink he spilled stopped running through the streams.

I’ve learned about his greatness; his desire for independence was the heart of his bravery. I’ve learned about his hope; his exceptional commitment to this country and to the future generation. I’ve learned about his sacrifice; the life he lived was his only choice for he yearned to claim the Filipinos. And I’ve learned about his love; not in every heartbeat but in every stroke of his pen, draining his sorrow between the pages, accepting his death, and surrendering his life to the hands of the oppressors.

I’m living in the twenty-first century and I can plot parallel lines to the chronicle of Spanish cruelty a hundred years ago. It’s as if I’m standing a ground where only the time has changed and the faces of the tyrants are masked; people bow at their names but they hideously slit our rights and freedom. Rizal’s story awakened the blood of a patriot in me – to love my country and correct the wrongs, to do what I must like what he has expected the youth for.

The land he died for is dying in the hands of the people he saved; the words he wrote stir up new warriors.

Little did we know, his works are timeless. As I speak and stare at the mirror, I feel shame for I haven’t been deserving of his sacrifice. Rizal might’ve known that our independence would still be justified by personal interest, hence, he imparted his will in writings and aspired for the youth to unlock the message.

I gained the responsibility to defend the vulnerable and speak for those who are robbed with voice. The history speaks a lot about the present because people barely change and learn. If Rizal trusted the youth then I should be able to trust myself too over the changes that I could offer because no matter how small it can be, we could be our own heroes.

But is the land he died for still ours or has it been too late now to realize?

Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

After reading this article, I wish you have an in-depth realization about the relevance of Rizal in the 21st century. Well, he will always remain relevant because the social ills in the nation are still rampant, and his ideas are cogent. It makes us realize that we should do what is good for the betterment of the whole nation. As what Rizal taught us:

"It is a useless life that is not consecrated to a great ideal. It is like a stone wasted on the field without becoming a part of any edifice."


Should you want to read some of my articles, you may try reading Revisiting KnowledgeTo all the women out thereReviving the DeadAre you guilty?, or No storm can bring me downAnd if you are enjoying it, do not forget to show your support. Remember also that you are handsome/beautiful in your own way. So be brave and confident!

Thanks to my readers and sponsors for following my publications. May God bless you a hundredfold. Also, this is original content. Most of the photos I use are free images from either Unsplash or Pixabay.

6
$ 3.42
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Burnok
+ 2
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I salute to those people who died para sa pinas, I pray for them na hoping sa kabilanh buhay ibinigay sakanila ang award na karapat-dapat, which is eternity with God 💓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must honor to every heroes of our lives to save us and make us free

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I considered everyone who dies for the sake of our freedom from our captivators before as my heroes. The people who fight in their own ways for the sake of our country deserves all the respect and honors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I strongly agree po. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To all the people who died for a country for the freedom are the real heroes, the true valiant heroes. Salute to them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they are. Thanks po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have recently watched a debate in youtube, but I don't know if it's really debate based on how they give arguments. But one thing is for sure, Rizal and Bonifacio, and all other Filipinos who fought for our country before whether through writing or physical, are all considered heroes. They died to save our land.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. I love your thoughts! Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago