Reviving the Dead

9 51

I felt like I was standing between two mirrors, one showing the past and the other showing the present. As I read more about Jose Rizal's life and works, I could see how much the past era of Spaniards is still so similar to what we are today. The mirrors were flashing two different eras, yet awfully the same scenarios – as if the people before were revived today. The corrupted Spaniards became the twisted politicians, and the native Filipinos are still the same miserable citizens today. It was so easy to see that Rizal's life and times are still the same, making me realize how relevant he is today.

It is sickening that the hundreds of years of tragedy are repeating. Our country is still being robbed of what it deserves – freedom, truth, and progress. Learning the times Rizal lived in, I realized we are still the same people who are deprived of rights and opportunities because of the unfairness of the people in power, like how the Spaniards discriminated and made us feel inferior.

The corruption of the higher-ups is still making us miserable like how the friars did before. There are children today who are still denied of education, and the present civil guards, the police, are still violent and abusive. Isn't it so clear that Rizal and his thirst for reform are still relevant and needed today? History is repeating itself, and we need to revive a new Rizal who will fight against these atrocities.

Realizing that the present is mirroring the past, I asked myself who then will mirror Rizal. But do I still have to ask that? The obvious answer is I, myself, together with my fellow youth. The life of Jose Rizal taught me how much power young people like me can do for the country. In these present, trying times, we need a Rizal who will wake up our national consciousness. Rizal was someone who led the Filipinos to fight against the injustices of the people in power. We, the young ones, will also take the lead and the initiative.

Clearly, the relevance of Rizal in our present will be proven by me and my fellow youth. Learning about Rizal in our decisive years will mold our characters into someone like Rizal. It woke up the Rizal in me. I saw how much Rizal searched for the truth and developed his own stand by studying and learning from different people and books. He then used his broad knowledge and wisdom to show to the people our real state and ignited our passion for independence.

We will revive Rizal by becoming the seekers of truth and the ones who will spread it. In these times of foolishness, where people defend the ones who are actually corrupting us using twisted facts, I shall be a Rizal who will use words of truth using my beloved language to fight these lies. Pen and paper, tongue and voice, just like Rizal and his movement, we will move forward. My skills and knowledge are my weapons against the new Spaniards who seek to control the Filipinos by denying us education and knowledge.

Rizal will never be forgotten. The dead will never come back to life, but as the youth with pure hearts to serve, we can revive Rizal. Standing between these mirrors, I see that I am Rizal's reflection. Rizal inspired nationalism, and everything he did was for the country – a relevant truth today. With my hands, I will inspire and encourage Filipinos to serve and fight for the Philippines. With my voice, I can revive the thirst for reform our past Filipinos felt to the present citizens now.

↗️ Are you guilty?
↗️ No storm can bring me down
↗️ Let's talk about three things
↗️ Whether we are blood relatives or not
↗️ From the end of each chapter, I hope you'll find me

Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Special Note:

This is original content.

8
$ 7.35
$ 7.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is great way og awakening the youth. Sana lang mabasa tu ng lahat ng mga kabataan. Pero may part din sakin na naguguilty 😅.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's okay to feel that way po hehe. What is important is we do our part. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuuee ahh 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely correct, it's my first time encountering this type of article. It's a message that Youth must read, sadly Youth nowadays are more focused on socmed, posting their my days, their outfit of the day, the food their eat but neglecting different issues that can affect future generation, how bad technology brings to this generation. Despite of this negativities, there are still Youth who's awaken from reality and fighting for what is right. Yes it's true that we are the future who gonna change into a better place.❤❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Most of the articles you may read from my profile are like this. I hope you like the style.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally an article in English. Lol 😂 But a worth reading article. I feel sad for people specially the young ones who show off. They literally don't know what will happen to them in future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, sorry for having Filipino articles recently. Well, this month is Philippines' language month, so you won't blame me for that. Anyways, I hope you are enjoying with the English ones. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana mabasa to ng mga kabataan sa socmed na puro pa cool lang haha, sa nakikita kong kabataan ngayon sa socmed ay ewan ko nalang😅🤦‍♀️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely po. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago