Dance with my Father (version of Celine Dion)

49 202
Avatar for Mark012207
3 years ago

Tuesday - September 15, 2020

It's really hard to lose someone special, someone, you truly love. It causes extreme pain, endless nights of crying, and feelings of discouragement. The rotation of your world seems to prevent it. It's such as you can now not live all of your dreams.

As I sang this song I couldn't help but cry because every lyric of it I remember my uncle who passed on to the great beyond and stood sort of a second father to us because our real father was abroad who sacrificed for ten years in order to finish our study.

I choose this song because I miss my father to dance with me again.

I dedicate it to the 2 men in my life. My uncle stood as a father on any event of my life, and to my father who we had not been with for ten years just to give us a good life.

The lyrics are:

Back when I was a child
Before Life removed all the innocence
MyΒ fatherΒ would lift me high
And dance with my mother and me and then
Spin me around till I fell asleep
Then up the stairs, she would carry me
And I knew for sure
I was loved

If I could get another chance
Another walk, another dance with him
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
How I'd love, love, love to dance with my father again.

I remember when I was a child, my real father danced for me just to sleep. I felt of these things when my father was separated from us and when my uncle died almost two years ago. That was the foremost painful moment that happened to me and my family. I do know this sort of feeling will happen but I don't expect it to happen so quickly, I keep asking myself why he left us like that instantly. I actually think he might get bored with taking care of folks.

I miss seeing them, hugging and kissing the 2 men in my life. Though I can see my real father thru video call, it is still different when you see them in person and touch them.

When I and my mother would disagree
To get my way I would run from her to him
He'd make me laugh just to comfort me, yeah, yeah
Then finally make me do just what my mama say
Later that night when I was asleep
He left a dollar under my sheet
Never dreamed that he
Would be gone from me
If I could steal one final glance
One final step, one final dance with him
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
'Cause I'd love, love, love to dance with my father again.
Sometimes I'd listen outside her door
And I'd hear how momma would cry for him
I pray for her even more than me
I pray for her even more than me

I remember not only the painful incontrovertible fact that my uncle and my father were far from us but also the moments they were here by our side. Happy memories with them are my treasure. They always give me the strength to attain my goals because all those goals are my commitment to them.

I promised myself when my uncle passed away that all the things I could not say to my uncle, all the love I did not feel, I would feel for my father when he came home. I also promised then that once I graduate and find employment I will be able to send my father home to rest here in our house and make new memories due to the ten years we've got not been with him. Now that I've got finished my studies and located employment, he can not go home again because of the COVID that is happening in the world. That's why, I appreciate that even if you only talk in a video call, first let him know the love he is looking for in a child.

IΒ know I'm prayin' for much too much
But could You send back the only man she loved

I know You don't do it usually
But dear Lord, she's dyin' to dance with my father again
Every night I fall asleep
And this is all I ever dream

There is only 1 wish to GOD - to be with them again for a minimum of quarter-hour. I just want to hug, kiss, and to DANCE WITH MY FATHER AGAIN.

So my advice to the kids who are here, as long as your parents are still alive and still by your side, make them feel love even in small or simple things because life is brief so you'll eventually feel guilty I feel it now. When your parents leave you, do not be angry with them because regardless of what they are doing, they're still your parents, maybe they need reasons why they put up with you not being with them just to offer you everything you wish. Make the foremost of some time and feel your love for them.

This is my entry for the @Jdine search for Singing Author Finals!

Thank you for listening and reading my article. I hope you inspire and learn for my short sad story. And sorry my voice because I used to be crying there while singing it.

I would like to thank the judges too. To give their time to listen, read, and judge our singing entry. @wakeupkitty and @heartbeat1515 .

Thank you also to the event host @Jdine who made the effort to make this event successful and to be fair. I appreciate everything you do and this certificate. You bring out each other's talent and also their confidence.

Again Listen, close your eyes, and feel the story of the song.

Thank you to all Fathers in the World!

50
$ 7.59
$ 6.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Jdine
$ 0.25 from @cryptopanda15
+ 2
Sponsors of Mark012207
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mark012207
3 years ago

Comments

Done giving the prize! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks sissy😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an underrated sad song! I heard it years ago, but I never really hear people talk about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i love your message here sis. And same with you, i also cried hearing this song, not because i have no father to dance with but since i was young, I was longing for my father's love. I wanted him to dance and play with me when i was still young. We grew up having no father beside us coz he's always away. And everytime he visited home, i never remember him playing with me. The first time i heard this song, I felt so emotional. I hated my father for so long, but as I grew up, i realized that it's not good to hold this emotion as he is getting old already. I might regret many things in the future if I won't learn how to forgive him. So even how many mistakes he have done, I learned how to forget those mistakes and I learned to let go of my grudge against him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm happy when I read your story because you realized that whatever mistake he did, you always forgive him. Always remember sis that your father has a reason why he does that. Talk to him sis why he did that mistake. And don't forget to make them feel the love that they deserve. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‡πŸ₯° Be strong sis πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Why most entries are emotional songs. 😭 but thank you for chosing this. I actually missed hearing this song.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this song. I dedicate this song to my father. πŸ’œ it's in acapella noh? you sound a bit like @avie018. 😊 I just felt like it's lacking on emotions (just a bit) you know when they say that you can feel the emotions when the singer sings... But your voice is okay. it's not bad. Your writing on the other hand, gives the emotions I was looking for in your singing. Good job!!! πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sis for that kind of comment and for appreciating. Salamat sa opportunity na ito alam mo naman na sa una mahiyain pa ako pero dahil sa contest na ito onting nawawala ang aking hiya πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. Thank you sis for all the effort I know na hindi ito madaling gawin pero sa sipag mo naging success ang contest na ito and congratulation din sayo sis. πŸ‘πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not a Celine Dion fan which means I do not know what the original song sounds like. I will search it and listen to it. Just by reading the context I expected something better more joyful. To me this sounds rather depressing and your two fathers deserved something better.

Your text is good! Well written and it all fits. I agree your voice improved and while listening I wonder if you take or shouldn't take singing lessons. πŸ‘πŸ€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sis you like it and thank you for your compliment. I'm not take singing lessons in my whole life sis. πŸ˜… Singing is my habit only sis when I'm bored in houseπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, be bored enough and keep practising you seem to improve fast. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Thank you sis for believing in meπŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Father is a best friend of ones son.One son should care of his parents. They are best person in the world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Miss my Dad :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where he is?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He passed away when I was a child :(

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I'm sorry to hear that. We need to be strong. I know we can do it. Don't forget to smile again πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Yes we can ☺ I remember him every time I heard this song thanks for sharing this one πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Treasure every moment with your parents. Enjoy every seconds with them because time is valuable. It is limited. Once it was used, we can't go back and it can't be reclaimed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sis. That's true. That's why I felt guilty πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When i played this songs it reminds me my father. I did not used to dance with my father eversince until the day that he'd gone. Parents should be love until you are with them. Thanks for sharing ur article. Really touching..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for appreciating and sharing your thoughts about it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered my Grandfather who passed away. This song really kills our heart for those who has a father or Grandfather or even a father figure who used to spend your life with. But as saying goes time healed all wounds.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Be strong sis. I know it really hurts and not easy but we need to accept it. πŸ˜‡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is really emotional, hard luck for your lost ... Parent are the most important people in our life, we should all love and appreciate them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for appreciating it. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find this song sad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Very sad πŸ˜₯ Especially the story of the song πŸ˜₯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice chose song this song touches the heart especially for those who miss their father, and I am one of them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your compliment sis. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck po n that's a good song po, sna isa po kau sa mpili po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sis. Sana nga sis πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a big improvement compared to your first entry. Great write.

Now I can hear the lyrics clearly sang by you. Great song choice. There is a bit off chord at the end but overall this is better than before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you sis. I'll follow your suggestion that's why I'm improving sis. I didn't control my emotion while singing it. 😊πŸ˜₯ Thank you for appreciating it sisπŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Emotion is good and thanks to you for your effort. Good luck. I will be announcing the result of my judging soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sis. Thank you again sis for advising me always in my entry beforeπŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem at all. I enjoy engaging especially with those who reply. I believe @wakeupkitty is the same excluding scam and spam.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an underrated sad song! I heard it years ago, but I never really hear people talk about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you like it πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, my heart is crying. I miss my Papa so much too. I just hope I didn't grow up fast and still be with his side..(Papa's Girl, LMAO but it's ok. he's happy now with his new family in Mindanao. Thank God! Someone made him so happy!

Love it, sis! Good luck to both of us!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, sis. Always be happy sis ok.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should all take care of our parents while they are still alive and cherish every moment we have for them. We should all thank them for the sacrifices they had for us just to have a good life.❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true sis. πŸ₯° thank you for appreciating it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome dear ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck on the finals! πŸ˜˜πŸ€

I get emotional listening to this song.. I used to be close to my father.. Now I don't know if we're still close πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always show love to him, sis.

$ 0.00
3 years ago