What other moms said

27 28
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

As a first time mom, I have a lot of questions to other moms because I want to learn everything about taking care of a baby. I heard various ways and practices but I asked my baby's pedia first if this or that is okay to my baby. I had enough during my pregnancy when I didn't followed my ob-gyne's advice because I followed what my boyfriend's mom and aunties said. Because of that, my baby had a low birth weight. If only I went home and be with my own family, then I would not be too stressed and I would not limit my food intake because I'm sure that my grandma will let me have healthy foods and she'll advice to buy those vitamins prescribed by my ob-gyne. But nevermind. It's already done. I already promised to myself that if I ever give birth again, I will follow everything that will make me and the baby healthy.

I know every mom takes care of their baby uniquely, I mean they have their own ways that are different to other moms. Some of them are reasonable and some of them are so impractical for me but I did not tell them what I think about it tho. I respect what they believe is right for their baby so they should also respect mine. I will write here some of the advice or practices that some moms told me to follow but I didn't. I am not saying they're wrong. I just think that it's not necessary. After all, it's my baby so my rules will be followed. I already told some moms that they can advice what to do but they shouldn't force me to do what I think is not necessary.

What I will write here is just my preferences and I am not saying these are wrong. I just chose not to follow for I have my own reasons.

What other moms said:

"Give my baby some water because she's taking vitamins"

It's a big NO for me. I researched and asked a midwife about it and she told me I shouldn't give my baby some water for she's below 6 months old and her kidney is very young, very fragile. If she drinks water, she would also intake sodium that's present in water and her kidney will have a hard time straining it. She also said that my baby might be confused between the water's taste and my breastmilk and there might be a tendency that she won't like my breastmilk anymore. Actually, there are still some reasons she told me but I forgot the details so I will not include them to avoid giving false information.

"Use baby wipes already. My babies used them and they all grew up healthy"

Clea used baby wipes when she's two-day old but when the nurses see me using it, they advised me to use cotton soaked with water to avoid harmful chemicals that might be in the baby wipes. Clea's pedia also told me to stop using baby wipes for it might cause Urinary Tract Infection especially that Clea is a girl and girl's reproductive system is open compared to boys. My boyfriend's mom consistently tells me to use wipes and she even bought one pack. She's so persistent and she wants me to follow her ways like she's right in everything. Sorry to say this but I hate her for being to bossy and for being ms. Know-It-All. That's also the reason why I went home because I can't stand with her presence. I told her many times not to kiss my daughter but she keeps on doing it. I am the mother and I don't kiss my own baby so she can't respect that.

"Apply Aceite de Manzanilla on my baby's head"

A lot of moms do this, even my own mom. I remember she used to apply on my brother's tummy, feet and head every afternoon. I asked my baby's pedia about this and she told me she have nothing against it but it's not necessary. Applying oil to baby's head would cause heat and it may cause discomfort especially that Clea sweats a lot on his head even though her hair is not thick. Imagine the heat she will feel if I apply Manzanilla oil on his head. She won't be comfortable sleeping anymore. I also hate it when my boyfriend's mom again would just go directly in our room when she will hear Clea cry. It's fine with me if she'll help us to calm Clea but she will keep on blaming us especially me. I know Clea is crying because I never heard her burp that time and maybe she felt uneasy because it's warm in our room. But my boyfriend's mom will touch Clea's head and she will told us that Clea is not feeling well so she will apply Manzanilla oil (a lot of it) on Clea's head and let her wear caps or anything that will cover Clea's head. As a result, Clea won't stop crying because she's uncomfortable of the oil on her head. Sorry for talking about my mother in law wanna be. Lol. I just don't like her ways.

"You shouldn't bathe your baby during Fridays"

I know most of you know the reason why and some of you follow this too and I respect that. It's just different for me because I do bathe Clea everyday except if she's sick. It's just days so why do I need something to associate with it?

What's your say about this?

These are only few, guys and I am not yet done with this. Clea is awake now and she's crying, I think she's calling me. Haha! Gotta travel again to the next town where there's an internet connection to upload this.


Thank you fam for supporting me. I may not be able to respond immediately but I promise I'll make it up when I have the time. Thanks to my sponsors and to those people who upvote my posts. You guys are big help.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Ciao! ❤️

11
$ 5.47
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 6
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Why shouldn't you bathe a baby on a Friday?

Thanks for sharing your updates! Keep well xxx

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother knows best and whatever you think is best for Clea, yun yung sundin mo sis. We have differet ways to raise our child and eevryone should respect that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo. Kaya hate ko talaga pag may nagdikta saken kahit alam nyang ayaw ko sundin kase hindi fit sa anak ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bago to sa akin Sis I thought water only consist hydrogen and oxygen. But then follow mo yung mas expert especially doctors and legit sites, huwag ka ng makinig sa mga feeling bossy kapakanan ng baby mo nakasalalay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that's why minsan inaaway ko na kase tigas ng ulo eh. Gusto talaga nila sundin ko sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a wise mom. And yes you're right sis, Clea is your baby and you know what's best for her so it's all up to you on how you're going to take good care of her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, sis. Yeah, and I will what I think is right for her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kinikinita ko sarili ko sayo. Nakikipag away pako Kay mama non Kasi gusto nya painunin si anak ng tubig haha. Sabi ko maiintoxicate tapos nakakatawa kasi Yung pedia nya nirecommend din yon kakaloka. Same sa Manzanilla diko din pinagamit anak ko nun. Sa baby wipes okay lang Kasi boy naman sya pero girl si baby Kaya bulak nalang Kasi nakaka uti daw yn e

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nakakarelate kadin pala ms. Yen? Hahaha! Grabe naman yung pedia nya ah, bat di nya alam na di pa good sa baby under 6 months yung water. Jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa ako baby sis labi na sa twins, cotton balls nga gibutangan ug tubig pud ang akong ilimpyo nila para safe ug makatipid Sab...Kanang Dili pwede mag bath sa Friday, na apply nako na sa ako panganay pero sa twins ug sa bunso bisan Friday, nagligo ko nila

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao jod mamsh. Tipid unja safe pod. Mao lge mamsh oy, depende ragud na nato. Naa may tuo2 lge sa una nga impractical na karon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinuod jud na sis. Diri sa area namu, bisan ikapila pa Gani ligoon ng bata. Sauna muingon sila nga di dapat kay nahanginan daw pero karon nausab na labi na nga pandemic dapat mas secure ang health sa bata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a words saying, "Mothers knows best" than anyone else and I believe that when we will gonna talk about Kids, alam ko na mas may alam pa ang mga magulang kesa sa iba. Pero sa iba lang kasi minsan, May mga magulang din kasi na nagmamarunong at ipipilit ang gusto nila ag di nakikinig sa iba.

What you did is right, as an parent mas kilala mo ang anak mo kesa sa iba. Hindi naman lahat ng nanay, pareparehas ang anak. Maaaring yung anak nila gusto yon, gusto ng ganyan pero yung si Baby mo hindi. Pwedeng mai apply sa iba na hindi pwede sa anak mo. Ganon. May kanya kanya din kasing paniniwala e.

Sometimes, may paniniwala din ako sa mga matatanda sa mga kasabihan nila satin. Pero minsan may thoughts din ako na, hindi katulad ng dati at ngayon parehas lang. Maaaring pwede sakanila noon, pwede din na hindi na katulad ng ngayon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, sis. Tama lahat ng sinabi mo. Iba iba kami ng baby kaya for sure iba iba rin preferences nila. I am the mom and I know what's best for my baby kaya naiirita ako sa iba pag iniinsist nila na sundin ko sila kasi may mga anak na silang malalaki na feeling nila perfect na sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We want what's the best for our kids so trust the experts. The last one just got me laughing :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All of them got me laughing 🤣 yeah, that's why i trust clea's pedia more than anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always wise to research and do some readings. Good job mommy!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yass! I don't wanna get wrong when it comes to my baby. Thanks, Lyca. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always find half of the advices other Moms gave was either unnecessary or superstitious.. you are already doing a good job in taking care of the baby. Just listen to yourpediatrician until Clea reaches 2.. once she is 2 plus, you can start experimenting on things :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, thanks sis. I don't wanna get wrong when it comes to my baby. True, when clea's not a baby anymore, then I think I can experiment on my own rather than listening to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako, sukad pagkataw ni inday, wipes naman akong gamit mem. Pero kadtong alcohol free nga baby wipes among gamit. Pwera buyag, wala man pud nagkarashes si inday ug wala pud siya nagka UTI. About sa Manzanilla, gagamit pud ko ana mem until ninggamay ang bubun ni inday.hihi Depende ra guru na sa bata.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aw o mem. Wa jod nay problema ug magka lahi2 tag gamiton kay depende rajods bata. Sungot rajod ning uban nga pugson tag pasunod nila ja murag kita na nuoy dautan kay di nato inganaon ato anak parehas gibuhat nila sa ila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa din talaga gets yung baby cousin ko din di pinapaliguan every Friday ano po ba meron dun at ayaw nila paliguan ang baby.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dito samen sa bisaya mamsh is mas prone daw sa sakit ang bata kapag pinapaliguan kada friday 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy ganun po pala iyon kaya pala ayaw ni tita paliguan babay cousin ko kahit anong pilit ko na paliguan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well! I don’t know much about this but will tell you when I have a baby but before baby I think I need to get married. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Let's cheers to that, Niazi. Thanks for the sponsorship renewal 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago