Stop being shocked by repeated behavior

34 156
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

If you let people do things you don't like and just pretending you're fine with it, then prepare for the worse that they have become.

For instance, you don't like making fun of the way you dress but because you wanted to make friends, you tolerate the bad behavior and pretend that you're cool with it. Well, there's nothing wrong it with it somehow but if it keeps going everyday, would you be just used to it or would become more and more annoyed? But you can't say anything because you want belongingness.

Same as in relationships, if you let your partner hit you once, or maybe twice, then don't expect that he/she will not do it again. Because you let him/her, stop being shocked by repeated behavior.

https://unsplash.com/photos/GUmRXc-vOxw

They said, "You deserve what you tolerate".

So be careful of the things that you tolerate. You might not handle them.


Hello lovely people! How have you been? How's your Tuesday went? Whatever it is, I'm hoping for the best always. I was planning to take a rest today since my stomach is aching just yesterday night and until now. I don't want to drink meds either so I just took some rest and drink plenty of water. Do you have any home remedy suggestion for an upset stomach? Please let me know. Anyway, let's keep this going.

Growing up, I used to think that letting people in your circle will always be good for you. Why? Because they will be considered as friends or more who are there for you. In order to avoid isolation, I tried to search for people who I can be with.

My classmates

I remember when I was in High School, like I was just Freshman then, I really wanted to have friends just like what I did in my elementary. I was quite down that time because I thought no one would befriend me since I don't have the gadgets while they have. I was thinking how to keep up with them. So I borrowed my neighbor's phone and brought it to school. That's the first step that I gained friends. One of my classmates asked me if what's the brand of that phone and how much does it cost. So I just make up everything seem believable. I gained friends because I now have a gadget like them. They also started to ask about our house, the cost of my bag, the brand of shoes and everything and I just answered them with lies. I lied to them that what I have are also expensive. And because I tolerated their behavior, I cannot complain anymore if I don't like them or not. It was me who let them do that to me. If only I was honest with myself, then I shouldn't be lying, faking everything about me. So I decided to distance myself from them.

My friends

As I grow older, I valued honesty. Regardless if I gain friends or not, I will not fake who I am. Fortunately, I found friends who I am happy with. They don't care about social status. What they are after of is the true you and your presence. I felt belongingness with them. One time, there's this act that I don't like. It doesn't mean I don't like them for that, I was just a bit annoyed because whenever there's something funny, they would spank your head. (yung kaibigan mong mapanakit pag tumatawa, yun yun eh) I just smiled and pretended I'm fine with it. So everytime they're happy or something's very funny, it's expected that I or someone in the circle would get a spank in the head. It's annoying! But again, I did not complain so they think that's okay.

My family

I don't like seeing my family pity me. I mean I want them to think that I'm always okay and happy. I also thought that I will be.

When I was in elementary since high school, I was an honor student. My grandma always told me to be serious in my study because she wants me to be at the top consistently. Little did I know that I am making my grandma expect that everything she said is fine for me since I didn't say a thing. I want to make them proud of me so I did my best though I really didn't want to be an honor student for I don't like to be ranked or labeled. That would just cause high expectations.

In college, it's the same again. They want me to have that flying colors when I graduate. No one asked if I can do it or I if I like it in the first place. They are used to before so again, they think it's okay. Until one day, I became so tired of everything, of the pressure and the weight they put in me. I vent out everything especially to my grandma. I let them realize that they should let me do things my own since I am already in the right age. I was just so tired of being controlled.

That was the first time my grandma cried heavily for she was shock that I will talk back. I just realized that they have expected too much in me just because I let them be. I should have spoken at first.

My neighborhood

Of course, di mawawala ang mga chismosang kapitbahay. I don't know but there are just neighbors who really crossed their boundaries. Like they feel they know more how to deal with your life than you. I respect my neighbors especially the old one so whenever they would badmouth about our family, I will just be silent. Not until one time, one of our neighbors scolded us just because me and my friends are laughing. She told us that we are disturbing others who are sleeping. And I was like omg, it's just 6 pm! I learned my lesson to speak up so I answered her and told her this, "If you don't want noise or any disturbance, why won't you live in a forest?" She keeps on shouting but then we didn't give a d*mn.


These are just some of the instances that I ever tolerated and I feel bad because I should not be doing that in the first place. Whenever we don't like something, speak up so you can be understood. If you don't want the behavior then do something to stop it, not to avoid it. If you would not, then don't be surprised with repeated behavior.

You deserve what you tolerate.


Thanks for reading! Sorry for the unorganized thoughts for I am not feeling well today and my head is somewhat heavy. I can't think of something beautiful to write. ๐Ÿ˜

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

I want to thank my sponsors for always supporting. Very much blessed! And to my readers and to those who gave me the chance to know their thoughts as well. I would like to see you again in the comment section.

I would also like to ask for your help dearest! Please help me welcome my sister. She's new here and I'm still guiding her. I'm sure you would also contribute to her learnings to be productive in the platform. This would be of big help. Her username is @Niknik and you might want to read her very first article. Click here.

Thank you very much! ๐Ÿค—

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl

Ciao! โค๏ธ

11
$ 12.06
$ 11.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 8
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

We don't want to be a people pleaser but we can get along. We have to compromise for the benefit of the whole. Learn to keep the peace. We are all equal so we should treat each other equally.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I couldn't agree more to this. You are correct. Our peace is so important therefore we should surround ourselves with people who can give us that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There you go :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to the neighbors, we will first mention the gossips haha ๐Ÿ˜… โ€‹โ€‹.. The tendency is to dive into the lives of others

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. ๐Ÿคฃ I think whenever we have to name someone na pakialamera, sasabihin talaga natin eh kapit bahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes , if you don't like something, speak up, don't let things fester.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is the thing I haven't realized at first. But now, I'm sure I'm not the same as before. I will speak for what is right and for my peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, no more I should haves... just say it na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa susunod po. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be original be blunt.. โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You hit it! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same as you I am type of a person who choose to be silent๐Ÿ˜… but one day I heard from our kapitbahay na my mother have lots of bills to pay. So ako to si anak I will never be silent anymore ๐Ÿ˜ how they chismis all the time? bat need pa nila pakialaman buhay namin? Mind your own business mga chismosa kong neighbors ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜’

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Korek! Relate din ako dyan, tine. Kasi dati marami rin loans nanay ko. Mga kapit-bahay naman na meron din loans nangingialam kasi daw andaming utang ni nanay. Pakealam nila di naman kami nanghihingi ng pera sa kanila. Tama lang yung ginawa mo para matauhan sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga po. ganyan talaga ugali nila mga walang magawa hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During that time I was so happy. Coz you already said what you really felt. I know it na in the first place I just dont tell. Coz I want you to be the one who will say it into nanay's face..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Charrrrr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pasaylo.a natakdan nkung jerlyn man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sijay pasuwata sa story ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

certified guilty. I always tolerated simple gestures not knowing it would turn worst and I can't attain to keep it anymore and by the time I say my outburst they would tell me I've changed because of this and that.

maybe it's the best time to do the right thing and time to say no or say your concerns for them to know that you're unhappy with their decisions or what

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very good decision, dear. Now is the time to think about yourself first and how would that contribute to your peace. Choose your peace. Keep going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks beb..you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You inspired me especially with the statement "you deserved what you tolerated". You are right. People will always take you for granted if you do not stop an habit they are used to for you. So in order to stop this, we need to stop everything we don't want to tolerate.

Thanks for this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome dear! Glad that my somewhat unorganized-thoughts inspired you. ๐Ÿ˜ And yes, if you will not make it a halt, then they will just continue the bad habit towards you and we don't want that. So as early as you can, stop the behavior.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True kaayo ang, "You deserve what you tolerate."

Kapoy deal sa tawo nga dili willing mag change. Personally, I do not tolerate gyud kay akoy ma stress. Naa lang koy mga close friends ingani labi nas ilaha boyfriends. Wala koy right mag apilยฒ but as a friend concern lagi tahay. But mao lagi to, di man gihapon kitay makabuot. Ilaha man gihapon desisyon masunod. But unta maka realize lang nga dili tanan dapat itolerate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mao jod mamsh. Taod2 pa pod ko karealize ana. Bahalag mogamay atong amigo bsta laman kay di ta kapoyon ug pakisama sa tao na di willing mag bag o. Well about sa lovelife, unta ingana ko nimo ka brave nga motambag jod. Kay ako diko kasulti ana sa ahong barkada man kay naingan nako sa una nga di kuno ko makasabot not unless akoy naas ila posisyon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first mamsh kay di gyud ko mag apilยฒ, pero kapuyan ko magsige ug maoy, maluoy ko. Maong ditsuon nalang gyid nako. Para man sad nila.

Hinuon sad mamsh uy, naa say mga close minded sad. Malain nila pagsabor gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tolerate someone. If they said something that I don't like or something offensive to me I will frankly say that I don't like it that they must be careful about what words will come out of their mouth. Because they will just do it oftentimes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad to know that. โ˜บ๏ธ I wish I was like that at the very beginning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we can speak our minds when our silence is being abused, but that doesn't mean we have to be rude while doing so. If nothing happens, then I think it's time to let go :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. But in my case, I was just so afraid to speak. I don't know but I feel like if I complain, they would just think of me being rude or something. Glad I learned how to deal with those bad behaviors now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all get through that stage and we learn through it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"You deserve what you tolerate".

I totally agree with this. We should learn how to say no and build boundaries. If you let it happened once, it will surely continue and eventually become worst if you wouldn't do something to make it stop.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly mamsh. Kung masuko man sila, at least misulti ratas tinuod diba

$ 0.00
2 years ago