And then there was light

33 49
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

After more than 3 months of living without an electricity, at last, our electricity has been fixed and restored yesterday. It delighted us knowing that we can now watch on Television, can play music on speakers/radio, do the laundry using a washing machine (aww, I miss using our washing machine) and we can charge our phones anytime we want. Life is now back to normal. The internet connection is in and electricity has come. I thought I would be so happy about it but I was surprised that I am not.

Yesterday, I heard our neighbor's television with the news on. This neighbor was the one who let us connect on their generator for free during night time so Clea won't have a dark night at home. A candle light is also not safe to use especially that we have a cat who's fond of running around. We are just so lucky that we have this kind neighbor who let us connect for almost three months. Because of them, it seemed like there's no brown out at home.

Not having an electricity for a long time made me feel like I am used to it that I am not longing for electricity to come back anymore. Perhaps it's also because of our neighbor's generator. It's also an advantage because my grandma won't have to pay for electric bill every month especially that the bill per kilowatthour (kWh) has increased. One kWh is one kilowatt generated or consumed for one hour. But, it's also not good if we are using generator all the time because the petrol's price increased as well. Man, I think there's nothing cheap or affordable in this world today. Even the cheapest piece of fried chicken costs almost a dollar.

This morning, I don't know what got into me but, I suddenly miss our life without the electricity. I miss the noisy sound of our neighbor's generator that lessen the sound of silence at night. I also miss the excitement we have waiting for our neighbor to start their generator so we can charge our phones. Moreover, the bond among all the people here is somewhat weaken because they are now staying at home, enjoying every gadgets/appliances they miss using instead of gathering around along the street or by the shore talking non-stop. In short, I miss the fun I saw every night even without electricity.

Another thing that I missed are my sisters' presence. Every night, we talked about anything while we are playing with Clea. My sister, who's now a graduating student left home because she's now in her On the Job Training. She needs to be there in the office early in the morning so she decided to rent a boarding house. I miss her because she loves Clea. She was the one who comes over when Clea is crying hard even though I am calming her. She also takes care of Clea whenever I and my partner buy something to the next town.

The other sister, the youngest, well she's living with my great grandma that's why she's not here all the time. She also had a boyfriend near from their home that's why she's not going anywhere most of the time. Lol.

I miss the two of them. I miss teasing them. We are united more than ever and I think our bond became stronger because we don't have an electricity. Haha! We don't have something else to do but to face each other.

This goes to show that we can still be happy at life even without those things we used to have. Happiness does not rely on things we possess. It's in us. We bring our own happiness. We can be happy if we choose to be one. Life is short so don't miss any day not being happy.

And that's my story about electricity. Crazy me. Lol.

How's your Monday grind, guys?

I can't believe it's almost April. Another month, another goal. Cheers!


Thank you fam for supporting me. I may not be able to respond immediately but I promise I'll make it up when I have the time. Thanks to my sponsors and to those people who upvote my posts. You guys are big help.

Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty

Ciao! ❤️

16
$ 4.41
$ 4.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Dreamboy
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 9
Sponsors of Marinov
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marinov
2 years ago

Comments

Your story is so nostalgic that it makes me want to lose electricity lol... The bad thing about electricity is that it is linked to technology that creates many distractions for people like television and the Internet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah! Yeah, for sure you would eventually love living without the electricity even just a week as long as you are with family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy to know it that you are so close with your sis dear. I also miss my sis when I stay in city.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we were so close ☺️ awee, province is great but life in. The city is fun too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. I miss my sisters too and nakakalungkot yung maghihiwalay hiwalay na kasi magsarisarili nang pamilya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, sis. Pero yan talaga buhay eh. Kung pwede nga lang mag sama2 kami sa isang compound lang kahit may sarili na kaming bahay at pamilya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once had this argument with a friend that we can all be happy without all our modern inventions but he wouldn't budge. Before now you would have agreed with him, but now you know

$ 0.01
2 years ago

laban lang maam, haha kami ani naai kuryente sig blackout haha.

taga asa diay mo dapit maam?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, laban lang jod. Kanos a pata kadaog ani. Diri mis southern Leyte. Kamo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yess fighting lang ta kanunay hahaha.

taga leyte mi maam, sa Mahaplag. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mazo man!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I remember tong wala pa nibalik ang kurente aftr bagyo sige langmi playtime sa ako anak everytime mo uli ko and then chicka with parents...same situation man sad gihapon karun even though na balik na ang kurente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Majo diay mommykim. Kami kay atubang namans celpon. Lahi rajod tong way kuryente nga kami kami ra mag atubang kay way laing lingaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeeey! Sa waakaaasss may ilaw na rin. Di namo mag antos sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

O sis oy. Kapoy na paypay ni clea 🥺🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! Yay, back to normal na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah congratulations sis hahahahahah we can now enjoy and satisfied ourselves with our gadgets

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha pagread cash na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay maayu kay nabalik najud ang kuryente diha mamsh ,di namo mag antos og tipid sa battery sa phone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

O mamsh hehehe maka electric fan najod ming clea 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can live even without electricity. But we need it to make our work easier and faster.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Definitely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww reading this made me emotional 🥺 i miss my sister too who works far from home and also my other 2 sisters have their own fam now that's why our house is silent most of the time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awee, so sorry to hear that. I'm sure you'll be reunited soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am travelling back to Cebu City today sis and I am gonna miss my home again. Yung mga tita talaga ng mga babies yung napaka maalaga at caring hihi , like me. Char!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kumusta travel sis? Hehe! Mao jod no? Lahi rajod mag alaga mga titas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having a stable power supply is very important but where I am it isn't stable. We've had to resort to using generators that will contribute to climate change.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Where are you located at, by the way?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life changing talaga ano pag walang kuryente,parang kakaiba ang routine,salamat naman kasi may lights na kayo .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, sis. Iba talaga ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okd syabate may electricty ns, nakakalu gkot lang balik realidad na ung iba sa loob nanaman ng bahay

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes be. Nakakalungkot ng konti hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago