Stop, take a moment and see how far you have come

52 50
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Yesterday, I happened on a friend of my father who I have not seen in 5 years. He was so glad to see me likewise I.

We went to a nearby "joint" to sit and catch up. Our order was served. We ate and talked.

He asked about my dad and family welfare and what I have been up to.

I informed him of dad's death, the difficulties, the challenges and the responsibilities that came after that.

He sensed the sadness and disappointment in my words. And he stopped me for a bit and said to me

"Ronald... can you stop, take a moment and see how far you have come. You're a graduate, you didn't end up a dropout; you have seen your young brother through school and he is also a graduate; your other siblings are all in school and you are all in good health."

"Why not be grateful for that?"

"Some in your situation came out wrecked, others didn't make it out at all..."

I was dazed by his words.

So many words were said, inspirational, motivational, advice and all that. We later parted ways after exchanging contacts so we can keep in touch.

At night, his words kept ringing in my head. I seem to have focused more on the Troubles life has thrown my way. Forgetting to be grateful for the favours received.

The next morning mum called. She needed some morning to take care of an urgent need.

A luta continua...

At least for a moment there, I stopped and looked at life from a different perspective.

To you reading this, do you think your life is in a mess?

why don't you stop, take a moment and see how far you have come.

34
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @kFatema
$ 0.01 from @Leo_kitti
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

nice article keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did you read it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, life is always been in a mess, but I decided to free my self to all my problems in life because that's the only way I can give my self freedom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So at this moment in your life, what are you thankful for? Are you happy with what you have been able to achieve so far?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At this moment in my life, hmm I'm thankful for everything that I have right now and I'm very blessed because I have them. Yes ofcourse I am happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad to hear that.

Here we are always told "in all things, give thanks" though better said than done. Been grateful in difficulty takes a lot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Give thanks, even if it's a small thing or big.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A lot of people are in a more difficult situation. We have to be thankful in simple things we have, we wake up today, we ate are food three times or more, we have clothing, we should be grateful to have these basic needs❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right Charlotte. When I think about it, I am not doing so badly. Though I have challenges meeting the needs of my mum and siblings but at the end of the day we still come out healthy and happy. So I have to be grateful for that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed❤❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same with your journey here though. You need to keep those words around as a constant reminder to yourself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I seem to let out my frustration a lot. I will get better, with time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's fine. That's why i gave you that challenge. If you need someone just to rant to though and offer a difference in perspective then I'll be around

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know. Thank you for been you. That's me been grateful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am grateful for so many things that normally I would over look as a 'normal' happening. both parents alive. family in good health. food on the table. cloth on my back.

There are just so many things we should be grateful for but we're searching for that one big miracle

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Life, family, health and daily bread are the basic needs of man. When we have got this, I think it's worth some gratitude

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A wonderful story. That's how it made me think and gave me motivation!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So what do you really think about the subject?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the topic is great. We constantly complain, we suffer and in fact we should be grateful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thought. BTW should I add you to the list of participants?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thought. BTW should I add you to the list of participants?

I don't understand what list of participants?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never mind

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have so much to be grateful

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes after getting a lot of things in our life,we aren't greatful which is really unfair... we should always happy for our achievement.... But i am so grateful cause i think I am a happy person that i get a nice,happy family and friends

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great Never. Gratitude for little things is good. We deserve to be happy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article Sir,sometimes God take away some important thing or person for us to see how great and wonderful the life is. It teaches us lesson and appreciation for all the wonders of life though it's hard at first but after everything that happened we need to be thankful that God is with us each and everyday. We maybe don't mind everything we accomplish but it's God who works with our life just put everything to him and have faith he will do the rest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you psychie for your kind words. I believe everything happens for a reason.
I don't know much about For working with our life. We are the architect of our fortune and misfortune.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A beautiful motivational story ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Check the struggle you've overcame, check how far you've made it and be thankful for the success

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really I have overcame a lot to get where I am today. But the struggle keeps coming. Like there is no light at the end of the tunnel

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should all learn to master the art of Gratitude.
Don't be too hard on your self dear. You'll never find a rainbow if you're looking down. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I could actually place a mirror on the floor to see a reflection of the rainbow. Just kidding 😊 Advice taken

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We ponder much on what we are going through and tend to forget the breakthroughs we have had in the past

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Also we ponder more on where we want to be forgetting how far we have come and what we have been able to achieve.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are right about this....nice written article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Better Idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we tend to see the struggles and hardships life has thrown to us and forgetting the beauties after surpassing it. look around and see life in a better light, you are more fortunate than others

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. I am more fortunate than some people. Guess its time the appreciate the beauty more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its a good timing the "Man" came into your way to cheer you up and made you realize that there are still good things that happened aside from your distress.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Its not that I am not aware, just that my heart is on achieving something greater and living better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes we think we want to be better than what we are today but in fact you are already Great... I met many kind of people who thinks and desires the same with you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be honest I am not great yet. I can appreciate the little I have, but I can't place myself in that great level.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So insightful. I think this is a major point we miss in our lives. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your input.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You too

$ 0.00
3 years ago