The Typhoon That Kept Us Missing

32 43
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Hello guys! I don’t know how to start, I’m just so happy today in the crypto realm! -

This was my original intro before the internet and our mobile network went berserk for almost 18 hours today due to Typhoon Odette. I finished writing at around 1 AM Friday and also lost internet connectivity around that time before publishing. So, I guess I just have to revise this one, and will be sharing my happy day in the cryptoverse in the next article. 

You must’ve heard the bad news of another typhoon bringing havoc in the Philippines, particularly in Northern Mindanao and Southern Visayas. Thursday, I’m blessed to have my day off, but somehow I’m sad for my colleagues and some friends who have worked that day. Though the rain and the wind  wasn’t that heavy and extreme, it has been raining non stop for several hours thus flooding was persistent in the lowlands. My colleagues at work have to endure getting stuck in the city for hours while waiting for a ride to their respective homes in the afternoon, some parts of the city were flooded and public jeepneys were stuck too.

Last night, while writing this article, we had a blackout. Thankfully, we were reminded beforehand to get ready, so my powerbank was fully charged the other night. At least I was able to do something productive while the power was down. I am just hoping that the 4G connection won’t be affected so I could still do some online stuff. Oh, well, that doesn’t last long enough, perhaps when the typhoon made a landfall in Cebu City, our internet connection plummets as well. The mobile networks were gone too, it was like 18 hours of disconnection from the world, no internet, no calls, no text messages, and the landline phone isn’t working up until now.  

This evening (Friday) the mobile network was slowly restored, though still so slow, so far we can receive calls now, and the internet as well. 

When I opened my cousin’s group chat on Messenger, we were so shocked to know that some of my relative’s houses in Bohol were badly affected by the storm. The kitchen was destroyed when a tree fell off of the roof. My aunt’s house is already old, thus the roof was blown away by the wind. Unfortunately, we still can’t contact them until now. The story was just relayed by my cousin living in Manila when he still managed to call them before the mobile network was gone. 

My heart cries for all the homeless families too in the province of Surigao, this was the first landfall of the typhoon as it entered the Philippines. Then, run all over Northern Mindanao and Southern Luzon thus, affecting a lot of provinces and cities, including Cagayan de Oro, Cebu City, Bohol and Southern Leyte. I’m still not certain about Bukidnon and here in Iligan City, news has been very limited because of the damage this typhoon brings. Our only access to the news right now was from my sister living in La Union.

I thank God that we’re okay here- my family, our home, and our little community were all spared from the wrath of this natural disaster by God’s grace. 

May our good Lord bless the Philippines and rise strongly from this adversity. God bless us all.


Thank you for reading!

I'm still not certain if I could publish this one, but if I did, that means our internet is better, lol!


Photo by me

All Original Content


16
$ 10.44
$ 9.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 8
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

It is difficult to endure these natural adversities, especially at this time of year, I am sorry for what many families are going through. I pray for their safety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so sad to see my fellow filipinos suffering in this times of typhoon.. I hope po that makabangon na muli ang mga nasalanta ng bagyo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Didto samin ate buong araw walang internet connection. Grabe si Odette pero buti narin walang buhay na nawala yun ang pinakamasakit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Asa gani inyo sis? Halos tanan yata Mindanao and Visayas walay signal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you are well friend. Saving the dannified part. God help them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All well by God's grace. thanks my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana everyone is okay and when signal connection is okay, your relatives will update u na okay sila khit na my mga nilipad na bubong bsta ang importante is okay silang lahat.. stay safe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uu nga importante safe, mapapalitan nmn ung bubong pero magastos nga lang talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to hear the destruction people are facing there due to strong wind and rain. I pray Almighty help them to get rid of it. But the good thing is that everyone is safe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are some deaths recorded actually, but not much.. Thank you..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven’t heard from my sister yet in Cebu...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope they're all okay sis.. Grabe daw ang damage sa Cebu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nikontak na akong sis. Ok ra sya. Thank goodness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have relatives in Bohol and I still can't contact them 💔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nagka signal rin sila kanina lang bumalik.. sana okay lang sila madam..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congrats! 😂 Napublish mo mare! Hahaha! Di namin masyado feel dito sa Cavite, stay safe pa din sa inyo. Puro about bagyo na nababasa kong articles these days. Grabe si Odette, bida bida. Mag papasko nalang eh 😒

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! uu nga na publish din sa wakas! Dito sya sa Mindanao at Visayas dumaan kc sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ramdam ko Yung bagyo dahil sa mga articles ng Tiga Visayas at Mindanao. I hope Wala na si Odette and keep safe kayo dyan..

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nkalabas na rin sya sa wakas.. Dami kc nya landfall kya dami apektado

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nlng at safe po relatives nyo.. Hayss malapit na decembe saka pa mga sakuna hayss..

Let's pray po palagi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uu nga kaloka tong mga bagyo kung kelan magpapasko saka pa malakas..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti nalang bumalik ate, pero I think smart hindi pa din bumabalik. I pray for the safetiness of everybody.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang PLDT ngayon lang nkabalik, 2 days din walang connection. Pero ang globe at dito nkabalik din almost 18 hours..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending some love and prayers, doctora!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am Lyca ito talaga main problem ko kaya hindi ako active dito masyado kasi wala ako sa isip. Nasa family ko yung isip ko dahil hindi ko sila ma contact.😭 Isa sa lugar namin nag landfall ang bagyo sa Liloan Southern Leyte.😭 Di mo alam gagawin mo na yung pamilya mo nasa malayo tas nasa ibang lugar ka. Di ka mapakali.😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala! Omg! Narinig ko nga sa balita sis, di mo pa rin sila ma contact? Sana okay lang sila dun, by God's grace..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang sila ma'am. Thank you God. Save sila dun.🙏🙏🙏😭 Parang mabaliw na ako sa kakaisip.😭 Thank you God okay lang family ko.🙏😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine how tough must have felt when the Internet connection went off. Just 10 minutes without Internet and I'm already losing my mind almost like I got disconnected from the world.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We're so busy eating, haha! But, kinda lost not to hear what happened to other areas tho..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dude what happened in Philippines?.. already I had read article about Typhoon. May God saved you from this condition. Take good strategies like electricity saving. Good to see you published article showing your good health and happy mood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a disaster for some. Hopefully, we will recover the soonest time. As for me, I try to get up and publish one, hehe! Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago