The Christmas Tamagochi Story

25 42
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

I can still recall growing up in a tough environment, when peer pressure dictated my behavior and even my clothes. I wanted so badly to be considered cool to my classmates and friends that I begged my parents to buy me an expensive keychain - the Tamagochi Pet, it’s an egg-shaped digital keychain that houses a virtual pet. Well, not only that, I wanted those cool Converse sneakers too.

Tomasz Sienicki [user <http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/>, via Wikimedia Common

We’re not a rich family, but being the eldest I was sent to this exclusive for girls private school in my elementary days, perhaps my parents only wanted the best for me. That school was thought to be the best maybe. Hence, my parents could only afford to pay the tuition fee and other important miscellaneous stuff. No more, no less. Thus, being a child, I also envy classmates who seemed to have all the excess in life. Having things that they wanted, unlike me that I could only get the things that I needed. 

I was in Sixth grade when the Tamagochi Pet fever became a trend, and I so love checking on it. Both of my seatmates have one, during the “ber months” I guess, only four in the class owned one. This handheld toy inspired me to study diligently, thinking that my mom would buy me one with my good grades. But, none. Christmas came and I was pressuring my dad to buy me Tamagochi. I was thinking that perhaps everyone in the class will be playing one after the Holiday break. 

One day, I got a phone call from my best friend that her mom will be going to Manila for a business trip and promised to buy her a Tamagochi. I got elated and told my dad if it’s possible for us to give the money to my friend's mom so she can buy mine too. My dad said yes, but apparently my mom didn’t, and I went hysterical for it. My stubborn self ran away from home.

We have two jeepneys that were for hire that time, and on that night before I left home, I snuck off into the driver’s pocket to rob her of the rent they would give to my parents for that day. With the money, got a good amount enough to hand to my friend’s mom for the Tamagochi. 

I walked my way to the house of my best friend. When I arrived, I saw robbers wearing clown masks leaving the house, I got terrified and ran. However, it was too late, the robbers noticed my presence and chased me everywhere I went. I hid myself in a box piled with tomatoes and waited for the day to arrive. Unfortunately, the break of day didn’t come so soon. The criminals spotted me in my hiding, and I have to keep running again. I got tired and weary when my mom called and I woke up from that terrifying nightmare.

Oh! Thank God it was just a dream.

Since then I have never pressured my parents for that Tamagochi toy. Though my mom still insisted on making a deal with me, perhaps for the sake of learning my lesson.

She told me, "I'll give you all the money I make next week. You'll be incharge of the family finances - buying the groceries and paying the bills. Whatever you have left over you can spend on whatever you want."

I thought, that was really an awesome deal.

My mom goes with me to buy the groceries, and I was shocked to see how expensive the things that we normally needs at home. I was thinking that the New Year's Eve is just around the corner, and would love to pick more stuffs for our dinner table, but no. I can't spend more. And, then began going through the bills, of course I ran completely out of money long before everything was paid.

Then I realized my mother, she must be a financial genius - just to keep food on our table and decent clothes for all of us.

If I insisted with the Tamagochi pet, perhaps we would be living in darkness for a month - no power and electricity. I took a hard look at my behavior and wondered how could I be so selfish.

The holiday break was over. And, the Tamagochi has been still residing at the back of my mind, what if I'm the only one who don't have one?

Back in school after the holidays, nothing changed. Most of us don't have Tamagochi.

I realized that, perhaps none of us wanted to exchange our lives in a comfortable home with anything lucrative yet temporary. The experience made a lasting impact that made a big difference in my life

This article is for the #ChristmasChallenge2021 by @TengoLoTodo with the special requirement of @Eylz2021 for the creative READ image. The photo was an image of my laptop wallpaper.


Lead image edited by me (via Canva)

First photo with attribution

Second photo by me

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

12/21/2021

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me in Twitter @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard




10
$ 6.08
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

Merry Christmas po🎄☃️🥳 Sorry late na po ng bati. Hindi ko na po naabutan yung Tamagochi na toy po na yan pero narinig ko na din po yan noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked how your mother handled the situation, great teaching. The Tamagochi here were not as impactful, because of the maintenance that had to be done on them, it was like having a pet and not everyone would take care of it. I have a recipe that you will like: https://read.cash/@Frankmart/living-christmas-7a082e75

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a terrible dream but it left a priceless lesson you learned afterall... Your mom had a great strategy in teaching you what you need to learn. Now q lng naintindihan how parents provide their children with everything they need even with just a little

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was no longer in school when Tamagotchi came out but I remember my nephew desperately wanted one. I like your READ pic :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember buying one of those for my son. But he couldn't keep that thing alive and got frustrated. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! He kept forgetting about his pet..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko na naabutan to doc. Tamagotchi hmmm. Anyways hahah ahalos lagi akong behind sa mga trend nuon eh hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baby pa cguro ka ana na time sis, haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murag ana jud dokiii

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it was called tamagotchi? 🤣 Wait wait, I spend my 20 years in this world thinking about that thing because I want it HAHAHAH. This is the only time that I figure out what is it called because of this article HAHAHAAH

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yah! it's an obsession before.. now, we can have it in our phones..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is almost as if the Tamagochi is a cursed and you were not meant to have one. I had one and it died 🤣🤣🤣 I love the READ picture :) Thank you for entering #ChristmasChallenge2021

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Nah, it was just expensive I guess, lol! Thank you too, challenges/ prompts are good to compose when I'm digging my mind what to write...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe well I am glad you dug your mind and found some gems ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dreams would somehow change someone haha, that was a creepy one. Congrats on your entry po

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck in the contest my dear friend. I love your laptop. 👌. Nice history 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! just my insanity in my childhood days.. Thanks, David!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting story. Well written. I was wondering about this story.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very nice story ate, hope na manalo ka sa contest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahahaha buti na lang sis panaginip lang pala yun, aliw naman din kasi talaga laruin yang tamagochi na yan eh... pero wait.. requirement lang yun ni Ed sis lol nag donate lang ako ng pang prize hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahw! Thank you, anyways pasensya na sa tag haha! Uu nkakaaliw sya talaga lalo na sa time na un..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a nice story sis. Haha..naremember ko rin yan.. Tamagochi pla name nyAn 😅 d ko na maalala... Bilib dn ako kay mother panu nya npapagkasya yung pera pra samin lahat.. Narealize ko lng yan nung nagwork na ko, lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uu diba, nkaka bilib talaga paano mag budget, lalo na if marami kayo sa family. super hirap pagkasyahin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago