Tactlessly Right or Wrong?

15 40
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

T-shirts with silly messages on them have become enormously popular. This afternoon, in our stroll in the mall with my sister, I find this print on the shirt of a woman perhaps in her forties - I'M PREGNANT!

My sister laughed and said that perhaps she should be wearing a shirt like that when she moved back to Manila for work, just to avoid friends from asking her why she gained weight and her baby fats don’t seem to disappear, lol! Yah, right! I think that would really save time and effort explaining over and over again what happened to her during the employment break.

For all we know, some people are just so keen and fond of body shaming.

Now, I remembered a friend who had this post on her Facebook- "The Meanest Thing I Have Ever Said To A Woman" - in that post she told her friend if her daughter will be a big sister soon, and her friend replied "No, I’m not pregnant,” while looking at her belly, explaining why she gained weight and looked that way. 

Oh well! People can be so tactless sometimes. How often do we comment on someone about being so skinny, or so fat, disproportionate, ugly, haggard, messed up, so vain and obsessed, and etc.

Some can be so enormously rude, I can remember when I was graduating from high school, my mom and I  bumped into someone she knew during the graduation ceremony, and that woman commented that I’m so skinny and that my mom should have me checked by a doctor. I can no longer remember how my mom responded, but I’m sure about how I felt. 

Indeed, remarks like that can be so depressing. I felt ashamed and anxious, and have been asking myself why? Am I abnormal at  my age?

Though my mom reassured me that I should just ignore it, and somehow my innocent mind can brush it aside. But, at the back of my mind, it consumes my self- esteem.

Fast forward, after passing the board exam, and finally bid farewell to those never ending sleepless study nights, reviews and reading day in and day out. I made a goal to gain weight and to look fit. Indeed, I achieved that in some months of eating, and more eating haha! Just kidding. Guess I gained weight by eating right, sleeping enough and exercising regularly. 

Anyhow, I don’t know why some love body shaming. Though, we can use it as a driving force to correct and improve ourselves, but, I think it’s not appropriate to be so insensitive with our words. Some people, especially kids and teenagers might take it differently and might cost someone else's life.

Tactlessly, right or wrong. Any word we utter can make or break a person. It totally depends on the one receiving it, however, to avoid hurting anyone we can at least tailor our words with grace… and with love.

"The tongue has the power of life and death,

    and those who love it will eat its fruit." - Proverbs 18: 21

Leaving you with that Bible verse.

Tame your tongue and be a blessing instead.


Been so busy for the past days, catching up...

Thanks for reading!


Lead Image and second photo from Lazada

First Photo from Pixabay - edited (Free to use, No attribution required)

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

01/22/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Follow me in Twitter @LycaLyke

Start mining, trading/ copy trading in Bityard

16
$ 7.84
$ 7.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 9
Avatar for LykeLyca
2 years ago

Comments

I used to have a shirt that says In school, I learned GOODER English!

Anyway, true, the tongue is deadlier than a sword if abused. and wrongly used.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of tactless, yes marami talagang taong ganyan. Like kanina may matanda na lumapit sa baby ko at sabi pa naman wag na kayo bumalik don (sa bahay ng grandparents ko) dito nalang kayo (bahay ng parents ng boyfriend ko) dahil maganda dito. Sasagutin ko na sana na bakit panget ba samen? Eh ano naman maliit bahay namin peaceful naman at masarap pa palagi ulam namin ,🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron pa nga Sis na pag nagsuot ka ng damit na may nakalagay "I'm beautiful " sasabihing ang feeling, pero pag nabully mag cocomfort at sasabihing "you're beautiful " chaka hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, we need to be very careful when mentioning weight to a woman, the safest way is not to mention it at all!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had a friend who before greeting my wife said "you are fat", that friend was overweight. After many visits with the same greeting, that day I went forward to greet her and gave her the same syrup, I told her "What happened to you, you are very fat", she never greeted me the same way again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times it has happened to me that someone comments on whether I am too thin or that I have gained weight. I never liked that. There is some bad impression left after such words, although I try to ignore it. Now it doesn't happen often because I guess I have achieved adequate weight 😀, but I used to be very annoyed because of those words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it is best to be kind in words.... i had been tactless sometime in my life but it is my prayer that I'd choose kindness and be quiet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should be mindful on the words we throw in every person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people who are really keen to their body shape and when it gone wrong because of uncontrolled behavior in eating. They tend to be bully and that's really hurt . We should watch our mouth what ever words outbound to us be responsible for our words to describe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we should be careful on what we say because it affects a lot to the person. We should be mindful. Think before we speak. Be sensitive.

Honestly ma'am Lyca I hate those people who say a foul words. Sometimes for them it was a joke but for me it's really hurt. Words is a powerful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen T-shirts around here with very strange memes, especially young people love controversy. Hehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as always we just speak up without thinking. thought that it was ok. sometimes it is better not to speak at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May tao tlga na matalas ang dila😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to think before we speak up 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

body shaming and hurtful remarks is all shade wrong... Its so sad that some people are have a shallow mindset that they can't even think for a minute of being in Someone else's shoes and how hurt they feel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago