Memories of Farm Life

26 50
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Memories

If there is anything that brings joy in the life of a person, that would be making a living and working for his passion. Through this, work won't be another mundane job of everyday, work becomes pleasing, inspiring, and something that brings joy into someone's life. That simply describes the life my dad threads to follow through the years, but this has never been of rainbows and butterflies, I'm sure I have heard enough of regrets and disappointments.

He was a public school teacher in Bukidnon for some years, later, after I was born, he gave up his teaching career to put up a farming business. This was the passion that he wishes to pursue, thus bravely he started a farm. Perhaps by chance, getting his assignment in Bukidnon for his first teaching job, became a spark of hope to start farming, considering that this province is also known to be the food basket of the Philippines because of vast agricultural areas.

And, this was the beginning of my memories with the farm life.

Since then, farming and vegetable gardens have always been a part of us. Though I studied primary school in Cagayan de Oro City, my summers and school breaks were all spent in Bukidnon. When I was younger, I can remember helping my dad carry gallons of water from a nearby stream to water his garden. Later, after the day, my little brother and I will go home riding a cart maneuvered by the cow. These memories have been an exciting experience I look forward to when I was a wee bit younger. Everything was like a playground for me that time, and I think there is nothing I care in the world than to enjoy each day happy and free. Yes! Childhood days were just so wonderful.

However, as I mature, I began to hate farm life. I was ashamed to admit to my friends in school that my father is a farmer. I began to hate school breaks because it entails helping and getting dirty. My tasks on the farm grew harder too, I remember sorting sizes of potatoes and wrapping cabbages with newspaper before packing it in a box, cleaning and brushing the soil from carrots and radishes, and help cover the tomatoes with a piece of paper. That instant in my life, the farm has been like a horrific school break for me, but my mom would nag us if we will not help, certainly because she can save with the manpower if we're there to help.

Another thing I would shrug doing was cooking in the dirty kitchen. In the city during school days we can easily cook with the rice cooker and the gas stove, but on the farm we have to use the traditional way of cooking- chop some wood, let it dry in the sun, make a fire and all. Ugh! All that tedious process makes me want to cry.

I admit, I was once a stubborn child before. However, I never show to my parents that I hate the farm that time, so I guess I'm not that horrible child after all, yet never mature as I thought. Right now, as I jog my memory back to the farm, I can only laugh about them, and never regretted any single day I spent my life back then.

Nowadays, I am proud of myself that I could cook and prepare food the hard way, and experienced the life that had given us a better way of understanding life and family itself.

Farm life is hard, but it is always refreshing to work closely with nature. The memories and experiences will never be futile as well because all that are what we call the basics of living.

Anyway, just something from the memory lane. This article was inspired from a contest giveaway @Dr.Zak initiated from his article that you can read here.

Thanks for reading guys!

Photos were all taken way back when the lens of my DSLR got dusty and you might think those are UFO's taken accidentally, lol!


Lead Image and all photos by me. Just some random photos I took from my last visit in Bukidnon pre-pandemic.

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

05/10/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel

17
$ 14.37
$ 14.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago
Topics: Random, Memories

Comments

One of the greatest story you can treasure hanggang pagtanda, na everytime you go to this place there's a flashback in your head na eto pala ako dati and I will never forget it. Farm life is a peaceful life na kahit na napakasimple ng buhay dito masasabe mo na it's enough at makakasurvive ka. Sarap balikan ng ganyan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a lovely story about the life in the farm, simple yet so full of wonders. Well, actually I am looking for a lot outside the city where I can have a small house and a garden.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow i wonder how's the farm today?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wala na sis, pag graduate sa amo youngest and that time senior citizen na pud sya plus na mild stroke pa jud mao ng pauli na jud sila duha sa akong mama dire sa Iligan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I had some of your experience as a child. We did carry galloons of water in the province because there was no water pipe at home and everyone needs to fall in line, and water is a main need of our body. We don't want to be stingy and thirsty 😂.

Masaya magpahinga sa farm lalo na at napapagod ka sa city life. Kahit nasaan ang tao, basta gusto nya kikita yan. Farm man o city.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis, my dad was able to raise all five of us with it. Kaya talaga pag may tyaga...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maraming pong kabataan ngayon ang hindi nakaexperience ng buhay probinsya o buhay sa farm kaya naman po masasabi ko na treasure yung experience kapag naranasan mo pong mabuhay sa mga lugar na wala halos gadget at medyo hindi gumagamit ng technology.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can very much relate to you. My dad is a licensed Engineer working in a known company and he gave up his city life and started farming with my grandparent's land. Like you, I hated weekends and holidays because I need to help on the farm. I hated how my nails get dirty with soil. I hated the smell of the farm animals we raised. When I started working and living in the city, I missed the life I had on the farm. I just appreciated how wonderful it feels like to have such a beautiful view every morning seeing the green fields, the sunflowers my mother sowed, and the noise of the farm animals. I'm very much thankful for everything I was able to experience because of my father's farm.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww same story! Farm life is amazing indeed and we are blessed that we are able to experience it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang sakin, may bakery non si Mommy ee. Di ko naman nihate syempre yong pagkakaroon ng bakery ay ano ko lang is yong need ko din tumulong sa pag papack ng papay at pagpspatas. Minsan ako pa ang magatinda sa tindahan lalo kapag naga deliver sila. Yun ung ataw ko na part kasi gusto ko lang before is makipag laro ng makipag laro haha. At now na wala na kaming bakery, nakakamiss din pala 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nkaka miss nga sis, matatawa nlng tau now kc ang bilis lang pala gawin nung mga bagay2x na ayaw natin gawin dati haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Grabe ang passion nya nagive up nya yung teaching career nya. Ang ganda ng life sa bukid. Worry-free plus hindi complex.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Palagi rin nila pinag aawayan yan dati ng mama at papa ko, lalo na pag ang price ng gulay mababa during harvest time, nku!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kahit ako man beb proud kaayo ko sa akong kinabuhi sa bukid back when I was stll in my elementary and junior days

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dba noh? Mka mingaw jud bya sya ayy..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I've read your article. If you don't have joy in your mind when you go to do some work, you can't do it properly if you don't have your own feeling in that work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for dropping by!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dooocc gusto sab kaayu ko mag tanum2 jud btaw ay pero wa jud koy green thumb tawun. Makalingaw kaau hinumdumon atung childhood days hihi. walay problema tawun. Dula2 lang. Ana ra way stress hays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako pud kaha dili green thumb, trying hard pud kaau ko..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pangarap ng papa ko magkabakery kaso hindi natupad kaya pa extra² si papa sa ante ko tapos ako tumutulong sa pagpapack.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Buti nmn ante mo may bakery at madali lang sa papa mo ang mka extra2x

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaso nga lang ate sobrang layo nila ahhah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was a stubborn kid before too, doc. I mean ganun pa din naman until now hahaha kaso di na masyado.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah! buti naman sis haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for your participation. It is definitely good and awesome farm.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

thanks for this idea too..

$ 0.00
1 year ago