K-Drama’s Zombie Evolution

27 49
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

The zombies' biological conception and the eventual apocalypse has been a trending genre on TV and movies around the world, and obviously most people like this kind of variety. I don’t know how this can be entertaining because mostly it always contains violent scenes, but I keep giving such popular themes the benefit of the doubt and end up watching it. Thus, I got this funny realization about how the zombies evolved, especially on K-dramas. 

As I jogged my memory, I think the first movie I came across watching zombies is “The Resident Evil.” I can no longer identify which part of the film series because when I started Netflix, it already had several films. Well, I don’t want to dig about the story of how the Umbrella Corporation started the mess and how cool Alice was in the movie. But, definitely, the zombies here are just the casual zombies we knew - corpses that can move and get fed from human flesh, however not capable of reason and logical thought. 

The Korean Drama that I first watched was “Train to Busan.” But, I’m not fond of horror films so I never completed watching it. Honestly, it just stirs my curiosity because it became popular in the Philippines at that time. The zombies in this film were indeed just the usual zombies we know from the definition.

Then, “All of us are Dead” made waves and I got hooked watching it when my nephews and niece were binge watching it on Netflix. I have actually written an article about it, because the side stories of the characters in the film were life anecdotes that we can actually learn something about friendships, family, etc.

Believe it or not, there is something special with some of the zombies in the series. They are no longer typical zombies, they can actually think and reason. Moreover, they can fake themselves as normal humans! The teens in the film jokingly call them - “hambie” half human, half zombie. The interesting element from the hambie is that they can be really annoying villains because they exhibit great power that could outwit the humans.

This afternoon, I saw “Carter” on Netflix as one of the most popular recent films, so I watched it. I didn’t read the description, and later on realized that it’s a zombie film. Surprisingly, the zombies here are also capable of choosing a weapon to devour its human target. Wow! The smart undead can really end the human race if we are not as skilled as Carter, hehe!

If you haven't seen it yet, this trailer I got from YouTube might stir your imagination.

Just a quick review of the movie, I would rate it 6/10. It's an action packed drama and the plot can be really good, apparently not a horror film. However, violence is just overrated, and some of the fighting scenes look unrealistic in my opinion especially on the last part of the movie with the helicopter and train scene. The swinging made me think that these guys might be acrobats, lol! So, I give it a 6. It's an adrenaline ride from start to finish, so you'll still enjoy definitely.

The evolution of zombies can go crazy and overwhelming all because of man’s creativity for the sake of art. I don’t how we handle it, but oftentimes this creates fear and hearsay, like when the pandemic came and the vaccines became mandatory in some countries, the zombie story became a trend.

Let's not hope for a zombie or a hambie, and hope all these will stay as fiction in our lifetime.

Thanks for reading guys and a have an awesome weekend!


Lead Image and first photo from Pixabay

Trailer from YouTube (not mine)

All Original Content (unless specified otherwise)

08/13/2022

©️ LykeLyca


Write articles and join us! Click read.cash

Make some noise by writing short posts. Click noise.cash

Join us on #Club1BCH Discord Channel


13
$ 3.26
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 7
Avatar for LykeLyca
1 year ago

Comments

Mukang magandang panuorin po eto . Medyo fan ako ng mga zombies movies po eh kasi may thrill.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Di ko tinapos un Carter. OA sa akin hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah! Totoo yan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ewan ko nalang pag nakakita ako ng zombie in real life, mamatay ata ako in less than an hour, lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah! Ako rin cguro..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this reminded me of the quote:

Fictional good is boring and flat while fictional evil is varied, intriguing, attractive, and full of charm. - Simone Weill

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sisssss, I'm guilty... thanks for reminding me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami na nga pong uri ng zombie ngayon hahahha. Pero natawa din po ako noong pinangalan ng chubby guy ng hambie yung mga zombie na kakilala nila. Watch ko po itong carter, naghahanap din po kasi ako ng mapapanood ngayon eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ewan bakit nag ka ganun naging hambie, parang nkakatawa tuloy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kataka taka nga po eh hindi sila naapektuhan ng husto dahil nilabanan daw po ng katawan at immune system nila. Medyo unbelievable po hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di jud ko fan ug mga horror beb oi...last series sad nuon nga ako na tan awan nga murag oa kaayo kay katong girl from nowhere kay tungod ra sad sa akong mga pag umangkon...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nah ako gani mka tan-aw pud tungod sa mga pag umangkon ra pud haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wasn't really a fan of zombie series not until I saw " Train to Busan" it was scary at first, i had to view it again. After all the fighting just two people survived. You mentioned "All of us are Dead" that movie made my day, I really learnt alot from the movie. I can't wait to see "Carter" .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Zombie films are really scary, but "All of us are dead" have side stories about life and its nice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku Madam hindi talaga ako makapanuod ng mga ganito. Hindi ako makakatulog sa gabi pero yung Train to Busan more on nanggigil ako kaya carry ko yun!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahha! Wag mo nmn e internalize madam..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Macheck ko nga madam. D ko pa napanood yung carter. Resident evil din ata pinaka una napanood ko bout zombies.. I like all the series..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay di ko napanood lahat ng resident evil na series.. Ung pinaka una lang cguro...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiness lang napanuod ko nung January. Thrill pero scary pag nangyari sa totoong buhay

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay totoo yan, dapat hanggang pelikula lang mga yan haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Zoombies series here were very famous at start. But till now we are not able to see these sorts of movies due to restrictions on cable operators.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh sad, if Netflix is available in your country you'll see lots of this kind of film.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Umbrella Corporation developed the T-Virus a cure to Progeria (at least in the movie version) and other deseases including cancer. It was a miracle drug at first However, those who received the treatment later on became zombies. Alice is a ... OK let me stop myself here. hehehe I'm a zombie movie buff ever since I saw Greg Romero's Night of the Living Dead. I watched the whole 11 Seasons of The Walking Dead heheh.

Thanks for reminding me of All Of Us Are Dead. I will watch it after I finished watching The Strain (a vampire themed series) 😁😁😁 I saw the Carter title but did not watch it. Now that I know it's a zombie flick, I will go get a pack of chips tomorrow and watch it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hala grabe 11 seasons na pala ang walking dead?! I think I have watched one episode of it only, hehe! Carter is more of an action film, konte lang scenes na may zombies but I'm sure you'll enjoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung Carter may plano ako panoorin ma'am lyca. Parang maganda nakita ko yung trailer niyan sa Facebook ma'am lyca. Yung sa zombies naman the best talaga yung "Train to Busan" kaso na sad lang ako sa ending ma'am.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Uu sad nga ang ending noh, itong Carter din medyo sad kc hanging ang ending.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba ma'am. Hehe papanoorin ko parin ma'am. Oo nasad ako sa ending ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago