When Other People Make You Doubt Yourself...

Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Last night we gathered around our supervisor's house visitor. This other supervisor came by to check on the place and see if it's okay. I'm thinking she will move in at the other boarding house unit once my workmates leave for another house. They will be leaving in a few days so this place will become purely for on the job trainees.

And of course since there's a visitor they were talking for an hour or so. That's what I noticed around here. They just keep on talking and gathering all the time. πŸ€” I don't like to talk too much so I didn't join them and just stayed in the upstairs room until their topic became about trainees. Well guess what, she requested to see me so I went to the dining area where they were talking.

Bla bla bla we went. And of course since I'm the newbie she also told me stories of various things in her department. She said she's also a property agent like me but since the pandemic she decided to change career. Oh so at least we have something in common unlike the people I work with. Haha. Everything was going well until they all started saying that my personality needs to change when working in this career. πŸ€” Mkay.

Yeah, I already figured as much. Not being talkative comes off as being shy and "weak" but actually I just don't do small talk. πŸ˜€ I just prefer to be quiet most of the time especially if I can't relate to what they are talking about. So there we were, the visitor was sharing stories of how it will be during certain events, bla bla bla. And of course they all were implying that I won't be able to do it if I am like myself. Uhmmm. This made me doubt myself temporarily. It kinda made me feel like and think I must be in the wrong industry. I even wrote about it too! Hah. People's opinions can really mess with our heads sometimes.

I did tell them that I am nervous and such since I have never experienced working in this industry before. I have zero experience whatsoever apart from the 5 day training I had in May. Good thing they do understand and know that everyone starts from scratch. Told them perhaps I will be able to get the hang of everything once I gain more experience. Also for sure I will be able to adapt my personality to this industry depending on the circumstances soon.

Ah the insecurities of being new. Haha. Long time no feel. πŸ˜‚ However I do have a certain edge based on their stories. They kept saying everyone spoke English so they were having "nose bleeds" (difficulty) when talking to people. Well then I'll fit right in thanks to my several years of BPO work experience. πŸ˜† (Sosyalan pala at Inglishan ha, sige lang, mamaniin ko yan. πŸ˜‚ Kung gusto nila lagyan ko pa ng accent. πŸ˜‚)

I'm just not a talker unless I need to. I would rather reserve my energy for the real work to come. At least based on their stories I already have an idea of the things I should do. Even though I am nervous since I will have my first event soon, I will try my best when I am finally in the thick of it. I've yet to experience the main events where I can really test my skills in this new career. That's all I'm really waiting for actually. Seems like all the stress is there so bring it on. πŸ’ͺ

This morning after some thinking, I remembered the things I could do that my workmates don't know yet. It gave me back my confidence to continue on this on the job training (OJT). It is really important that we know ourselves, if not then listening to other people's opinion of us will make us believe them. Remember that other people do not always know who we are. Unless they are your parents or siblings and other family members, other people don't know your quirks and abilities. What others see is not always our entire self. When we know ourselves then we have a strength that no one can break down.

Actually my "hidden skills" will surely be put to the test when needed. It is just waiting to come out. πŸ˜† For sure they can see some potential in me even if it's small hehe. πŸ˜… It just needs to be enhanced and developed further.

If there is an ultimate newbie I am feeling like that's me right now. Hahaha. Everyone around me knows the ins and outs of everything. Oh just wait 'til I get all the experience I need. If only it can happen in an instant. πŸ˜…

Hopefully after this 2nd rest day I will be able to show some of my work skills. 2nd week of on the job training starts tomorrow! πŸ’ͺ Lezgow!

I still have a lot to learn. Really hope they will allow me to go to the upcoming event this weekend. Pls pls pls, this is what I am here to do, gain experience in work events. Hopefully I finally get to go on a lot of these. Gimme gimme. Haha. Gimme a chance even if I'm a newbie! πŸ˜ƒ That's all I'm asking for. πŸ™ I need to learn so my expensive OJT payment doesn't go to waste. πŸ˜†

What do you think will happen to me on this 2nd week? Hehe.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images are from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

13
$ 9.09
$ 9.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jinifer
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
+ 1
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

I feel you po. We deserve it that's way nakuha tayo sa trabaho. Don't mind them nlang po. Just give your best and God is with you always😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen, tama kayo diyan. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do not judge a book by the flap, they do not know you, they only get ideas about you, the worst thing is to say that you are not good for that job, if you are there it is because you deserve it, you do not have to prove anything to them, prove it to yourself. You don't have to stun your clients by talking about vanities, you must be sure that what you are learning you are going to put it into practice. They are afraid of you, because they know you are going to surpass them all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww thanks for the support. Yes I will do my best here. I am just waiting for them to give me a chance. As much as I'd like to do it if the other manager won't allow it then I can't go to the event.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nalang ako mag wowork, ayaw ko makipag usap or tumawa pagbm wala namang nakakatawa kahit pa customer yan. Anhahahaha, ang abno ko ano? Lagi kong dahilan kay mommy noong pinag wowork nya ako sa Munisipyo ee ayaw ko mag work kasi maraming tao πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ganyan tlga pag introvert. πŸ˜… Kakaloka naman kasi pag wlang kwenta kwentuhan. Pag minsan meron naman kaso wla tlga d ko bet sumali sa usapan nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha bukod sa diko din bet sumali ay nashashy din ako ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayun lng din. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same hereee, not interacting that much is also one of the things that I need to set aside or let go LOL. Nong nag work ako sa hotel, kuya said that I need to at least smile and interact with the guest kasi para lang daw along mannequin na naka tayo tas walang imik LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ayun need tlga mapraktis yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy...Bet ko yang attitude mo na ganyan sis. Magkakasundo tayo. Ayaw ko din kasi yung may pinag-uusapan na tao, lalo na yung halos bukambibig na, tas you know na, buhay nila yun eh..

Pero, honestly, may mga times din naman na nakiki-osyoso ako, lalo na kung curious talaga.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku ayun n nga, panay Aljur at Kylie kung hindi ibang tao ang pinaguusapan. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Viral din naman kasi sila ngayon sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onga pero yung halos araw-araw naku sobra n haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mismo... Sobra pa sa sobra sis..Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If they pay you to talk I am sure you'd talk and talk and talk. HAHAHA πŸ˜… My classmates, co-workers, employers and lawyer know my abilities more than my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha of course I would but since I am not paid then I will just do what I can. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always good to take criticism positively, but remember that not all advice will be helpful. You are positive about yourself and that matters a lot. Be yourself, be willing to improve yourself where needed, but don't change just because someone else speaks strongly about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. We need to accept criticisms in a good way. There are grains of truth too even if we don't like it. Hehe. We can improve and adapt in our own way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the part where you said you are nit a atalke until you deemed t necessary hahah. Relate tayo jan. Apir!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apir hehe. Kasi naman eh. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am like you, I don't talk so much with others especially if the topic is talking about other people 🀦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, it is not productive at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago