Takers Find It Harder To Give?

21 59
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

People who are used to being given things find it harder to give, do you agree? Some weeks ago there was a personality test read cash members were taking and it indicated if a person is more generous or a taker and such. Well my results showed I am balanced haha. However in my mind I find it harder to give sometimes.

People cannot give what we do not have. I cannot force myself to give something I don't have but there are times that it can happen when we find a way to have something to give.

Why am I talking about this topic now? Well in the boarding house I live in since last week, it looks like there is no KKB (kanya-kanyang baon or bring your own food/potluck), meaning everything is shared. Anyone will contribute for everyone's consumption. Oh my. I am more used to KKB already because that is the setup at home ever since my sibling and I got into an argument over food expenses/money.

Everything at this place is communal. Everyone can clean the house and wash the dishes or do chores anytime. No one is assigned to do anything. It's up to you if you'd like to contribute to the house maintenance/food/water, etc. The good thing here is the electricity and water is already paid. The only concern is the consumption of goods.

Now I'm thinking this might be a bit of a "communist" setup. Everything is ours and nothing is yours alone. πŸ˜… But then again you can still have things of your own as long as you tell others that it's only yours.

Now comes the dilemma. Maybe I am not much of a sharer since I got used to the KKB system. We are independent people and so I was not expecting any communal thing here. I think this is the kind of setup in this new career I am getting into. Not sure if it's only local or if it happens internationally too.

So we have a workmate who has a 2-3 liter water bottle. After 1-2 days the water jug becomes empty. We are 8 people living in a two unit house. There is a separate water jug in the other unit. Now the water ran out last night so I got some at the other unit. I asked the regular workers here on where to buy and how much is the water and is there a delivery service. One guy said yes there's somewhere to buy water and it is P25 per blue jug ($0.50). The rest of the questions never got answered.

Now these people are quite sensitive imho. They are also "backstabbers" or talk about you behind your back which they have been transparent about since the second day I got here. This is why I am kinda tentative on my actions around them. It's like every little thing you will do and not do can be judged and talked about. Such is life but it is not what I am used to doing.

I would have liked to offer to pay for the water but then again they are sensitive to being told what to do. πŸ˜‚ I guess I am still such a newbie in the group. πŸ˜† Even if I am older than most of them I don't want to order them around and such. (Geez, the mob mentality is just not nice haha.) Actually I don't try to tell anyone what to do because they know more about kiving here than me.

So far they all seem to be givers so perhaps it is time for me to be more like them too. But I have only given what I could. Like, I don't cook at all and I've also been transparent about it. What I do instead is I wash dishes and clean our room and public areas. Of course they also do it from time to time. Hopefully they notice my helpful actions too aside from being critical of me. Since I'm the new one it's like everyone is watching me. Hahaha. Oh well.

Anyway good thing one of the water jugs has a phone number of the water station. I was able to call them for pick up and delivery. Hehehe. Two water jugs paid by me! πŸ˜† Easy peasy. πŸ˜† So far so good.

After eating breakfast we will go and get a barangay clearance to finally get a work ID. It's my rest day too so I will try to find a beach to swim in. 😁

So what do you think, better to be a balanced giver and taker right? πŸ˜„

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images are from Unsplash.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

8
$ 5.68
$ 5.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 3
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Oh. You know People give borrow to the rich people and Don't borrow that things to the poor. If you have a car you can ask for a car to the neighbour he can't refuse you. If you can't have any car your neighbour will refuse you by making any excuses. Do Patience and all things will set soon and take care of yourself. Don't pay heed on the talks that are talking behind you. Make your self strong enough so that thy keep quiet behind you. It takes time Have a happy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Indeed it is better to just focus on the work and the future. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a giver, infact I love giving, its only when I am in certain situations I dont give or I am trying to avoid some things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fantastic then. That's good to know. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not easy to give when we have little, it is important that you contribute what you can. As you are new, they will be watching you until you can fully integrate, that happens because of fear of change, but everything comes in its time. Happy day to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah they are watching my every move haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku hayaan na yang mga backstabbers sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, dedma ko nga lang sila. Baka naman nakakahalata na sila haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguyy.. Medyo na-guilty nang konti sa sinabi mo sa article mo sis.. Hehe.. (Pasensiya naman XD) ... "Give-and-Take" naman kasi yun. Pero mas mainam yung Give ka lang nang Give, without expecting something in return. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saang part sis? Haha. Pag nag-give nmn ako tlgang wlang expect n kapalit. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you asking me? You already know my answer. HAHAHA :-D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha yes you mentioned in noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im more of a giver, but talking about reality ,it should be give and take, but to avoid disappointment, just give what we can give not expecting for more hahhaha, aja.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, if more people are givers then it would definitely be a much better world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely correct, but yeah we can only just dream for this, far from reality to happen, but we can try to do our best in every way still.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always better to give than receive, right? As for gossipers, I couldn't live among that many people. No way, Jose!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe they are like that so I can't really do much since they already know they are like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep being balance is much better but i'm more of a giver than a taker πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Balance in life is always the best. Although, I tend to be more of a giver.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Givers are always blessed more I think. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago