I Don't Exercise But I Bike! ๐Ÿ˜†

33 85
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Yes folks, I do not exercise at all. Ever since I graduated from college I've never exercised at all. ๐Ÿ˜‚

I've experienced playing a lot of sports in my entire school life. Since grade school we had various sports through Physical Education subjects. Some of the things I learned were calisthenics, softball, volleyball, badminton, swimming and dancing. No I did not join basketball and never tried volleyball again. Of course I didn't really enjoy sports but it's good to learn about the various physical activities we can do.

After college, bye bye physical activity. ๐Ÿ˜† Okay okay, I used to walk a lot before the pandemic happened. I had to travel on foot all the time because Ortigas and Makati are walkable cities/areas. I used to work in those areas so after I get off a bus I'd start walking. Meaning there are no buses, tricycles or jeepneys plying the interior roads and such. What else will you do but use your feet right? ๐Ÿ˜

โ™ฆย Walking a Lot Made Me Lose Weight

Actually a decade or so ago I gained a bit of weight. Can't say how many pounds because I rarely weigh myself. I'm not weight conscious at all because my metabolism is fast. Let's just say I don't get fat at all. ๐Ÿ˜‚

One time I became chubby but that was because I wasn't doing any exercise at all. Oh wait, even during my last year in college my face was kinda round too. ๐Ÿ˜‚ If you see my grad pic you will wonder where all of that roundness went. I saw it recently and I was like, was that me? ๐Ÿ˜‚

So anyway as I was saying. I lost weight by walking every night and every morning! All thanks to my night shift BPO job in Ortigas (Pasig/Mandaluyong City). I would walk from Ortigas MRT station to Hanston Building or another building I used to work in.

Image via Google Map

Imagine doing that 5 days a week for a year or more, let's see if you don't lose any weight at all. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Or heck, how about 6 days if you do overtime on Sat or Sun Eventually the body would get used to it anyway. What's 1 kilometer if you walk that distance everyday, right? Oh wait that doesn't include going up and down the MRT stairs once I got off the bus.

Of course I usually go to Ortigas by bus because there's no traffic late in the evening. Riding a taxi is expensive but convenient so sometimes when I would almost be late then I'd take the taxi. If not then usually it's just the bus to work.

To go to work from the bus stop, I go up the two or three flights of MRT stairs, cross the bridge and then go down the other side before walking 1 kms+ to Hanston Building. ๐Ÿ˜‚ My exercise would already be complete, cardio ftw! By the time I arrive at the office I would have a light sweat going on. Thank God for cool evenings. ๐Ÿ˜…

How did I know I lost weight? Easy, my pants became a bit loose. Still fits but had to wear a belt so it won't fall low haha.

This went on for several years so I didn't really need to do any exercise at all. No special diet or whatever. Walking was already part of my daily fitness routine.

I don't remember when I also decided to reduce my rice intake. ๐Ÿค” That also added to my weight loss I'm sure. I used to eat a lot of rice you know. Hehe. Like if I didn't eat 2 servings of rice (sometimes more) I wouldn't feel full at all.

Anyway let's get on with the cycling thing...

โ™ฆย My Bicycle is My Best Friend Now ๐Ÿ˜

All thanks to the pandemic I was finally able to buy my very own bicycle! Did you know I never had one before 2020?

When I was a kid my brothers had bicycles so I would just borrow one of them. Then whenever my cousin and I would decide to explore the town we'd just bike all over the place. ๐Ÿ˜„ But of course that was only during my elementary days.

In high school my cousin went to Manila so no more biking for me. Awww. It's not my favorite thing to do anyway so no worries. ๐Ÿ˜… Maybe that's why I also got chubby before HS graduation. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Fast forward to 2020 and the lockdowns happened. Oh no! No more vehicles to use to go to the grocery and such! Ooof. We had to walk more than 1 kilometer to get to the nearest mini supermarket. Omg. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

Imagine carrying heavy bags when walking home. Oh my. So I decided to buy a folding bike and then sold it and bought a better one. A bicycle became such a necessity I even used it to go to work last year. That's almost 18 kms back and forth! ๐Ÿ˜ญ Good thing we rarely went to the office otherwise I might have become all skin and bones? ๐Ÿคฃ

On the other hand, my sibling didn't want to use my bike so I was the only one using it. Well that's what went on until the community quarantines finally became more lax. Finally tricycles were available again later in the year but I still used my bike most of the time.

So again, no need to exercise anymore! Hahaha. Since I don't want to walk to far places and I prefer to save fare money, I just ride my bike wherever I need to go. My exercise would be done for the day or the week just by cycling! Hurray!

No I do not go out to do leisure trips nor do I deliberately bike to exercise every other day. No I also don't have any schedule at all. Only when someone orders the products I sell would I go out to get the items. (Everything is preordered and I don't stock products at home.) Or if I have to buy the weekly/bi-weekly grocery I'd go on my bicycle too.

Today's picked up products! Got these from the head office and delivered it via instant delivery service. Hehe.

Why spend money on fare when I can use any fat in my body as fuel to bike somewhere right? ๐Ÿ˜† I will definitely not get obese at all with the amount of sweat coming out of my body. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Last year I was always sweaty and tired whenever I got home. Since I became used to it finally I am only sweaty after biking. Hahaha. Of course I can still get tired but it depends.

I used to also get muscle aches for days! Oh the pain of delayed onset muscle soreness. I've never experienced much of it before. It would take 2-3 days or more after biking before I felt okay again. That's until I thought of using our liniment oil.

Silly me I was suffering from leg pains for days when I could use our Escential Liniment Oil. ๐Ÿ˜‚ I mean, why didn't I think of using this product before? ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™€๏ธ I bought one so I could try our product back in late 2019 but never even used it. If I didn't get bothered by the pain I might not have thought of using it at all. Haha.

Heaven sent product that makes me smell like Sampaguita! ๐Ÿ’•

Imagine my surprise when I used it after biking one day last year, the next day I felt no muscle pain at all! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ I mean, WTF!? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Should have used it more often when I started cycling!

Since I "discovered" this is effective I don't need to worry about aches and pains anymore. If ever I accidentally overexert myself I just use this product and voila! Haha. I love it. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Oh wait there's one worry I still need to take care of. I've yet to buy a bike horn. I need a loud one so if someone would attempt to sideswipe me when turning right on the bike lane with no signal I would honk until everyone near or around me was deaf. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Better than having road rage eh? ๐Ÿ˜

There will always be rude or uncaring drivers out there. This is why I also avoid cycling on major roads and anywhere too far anymore. Better to be safe than sorry.

Still, don't you think it's good to stay active especially since we are always indoors because of the never ending quarantines? Not sure how long this will last so we should keep our body in good shape. It's also best to have a healthy blood circulation you know. This is why I am happy that I have a bicycle for "regular" exercise. ๐Ÿ˜

If I lived near the beach maybe I would be swimming all the time but since I am too far then cycling is the next best thing. How about you, what's your physical activity since the pandemic started? Do you bike for leisure or physical fitness? Are you doing any exercise or just stay at home and lie in bed all day? Hehehe.

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image via Unsplash.

Articles where I mentioned I used a bicycle:

Not a member of read.cash yet?ย Come join us! Let's microblog onย noise.cashย too!

13
$ 4.71
$ 4.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 4
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

Very subtle promotion... good job! And on biking for health, as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha well everyone actually promotes things everyday just by writing about them. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Thank you for sharing it. Now I've found a good way to lose weight without spending time in the gym ๐Ÿ˜ I don't work out too because I'm too lazy even do simple workouts at home. I sometimes walk from work to home after the shift but now I'll try to extend my time walking. I'm planning to go back on cycling as well ๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe good luck and take it easy. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe good luck and take it easy. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Riding 18 km is serious biking! I don't exercise and constantly blame my high metabolism which prevents me from putting on weight. But after the lockdown, I'm afraid I may develop a paunch. So maybe time to buy a bicycle!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right? For a beginner it is really too much. Haha. Good luck on your plans then. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanna lose weight too. Kike in a gym or something. Badly need some motivation to pursue it. Masmasarap kumain. Huhuhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true. Kain tulog is life. ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not into exercising as well. I planned before but that remained as a plan until now. Glad that you do cycling. It's very much lovely than doing nothing, like me. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe maybe you will exercise soon. I wouldn't be exercising too if I didn't have a bike.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon, if the spirit of laziness leaves my body lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered when I was still practicing a bike. I'm so nervous and I'm so scared๐Ÿ˜„ I think I have to practice more maam Lucy..๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hehe. You should experience getting skinned knees and such and then you will be braver to bike. Hehehe. Otherwise if you are able to not get wounded from learning how to bike then kudos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the one I'm scared to be wounded but thanks God nothing happens. Thank you Lucy..โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto ung family goal namin sis once lumaki na si matti, we will bike together...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww ganda nman nyang goal n yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to bike but I don't have a bike lol. Since I started working in BPO, I don't remember myself doing any exercises haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe that's normal I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same as you, walking was my exercise dati when I was still working. I had to take both lrt 1 & 2 kaya sagana ako sa lakad. Now paghahabol na lang sa anak yung exercise ko Haha. Natrauma na ako sa bike nung bumangga ako dati sa nakapark na tricycle. If you bike at night, you need to have those reflector thingies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay wow ang haba rin nun sa lrt haha. Mas matindi naman yung paghabol sa anak kakapagod yan uy pag malikot d b.

Meron ako umiilaw sa likod ng bike and may reflector sa harap pero I don't bike at night because it's dangerous. I make it a point that I am at home at sunset or at least right after sunset.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo naiisecure na din ako sa katawan ko kaya medyo napapadalas na din pagbibike ko. Btw, ilang weeks or months bago nyo po napansin na effective yung biking sainyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Di ko na pinansin yung sa biking. Last year nung malayo bina-bike ko lagi akong gutom. Hahaha. Kaya tinigil ko na magbike dahil grabe yung gutom ko lagi ako kumakain. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think what you are trying to say is that you don't do workouts, like jumping jacks, push ups etc. Because for me biking is also a great way to exercise๐Ÿ˜‡. Because of this pandemic a lot of people fall in love with bike. They prefer it than those other workout.

Godbless๐Ÿ˜‡. Drive safe always๐Ÿ˜‡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the joke is not obvious in my title apparently. Hehehe. And yes I don't like to do any kind of physical activity (exercise) unless I have to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walking alone is a great exercise to be honest. Biking is such a very healthy way of exercising. Its like your almost working all your body muscles when biking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed. Good thing I have a bike now since last yr.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am more of a sport person. And to be honest, I don't know how to bike. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh so what kind of sport do you play aside from basketball? Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Biking is an exercise. I biked every day when I was in Taiwan while eating a lot there. I never gained but I became fitter. I need to request a bike from my husband here in France. I gave away my bike in the PH to my cousin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go go gooo! New bike for you! ๐Ÿ‘

As for my title, I guess it doesn't look like the "joke" I intended it to be. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure biking counts as exercise haha. I cycle 25 km a day for work and back and I definitely feel like I exercise haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed, I just don't bike to exercise though. Hahaha. But still it counts as an exercise so yay!

Wow, I cannot do the 25 km a day yet. Oh I don't think I'd like to but maybe someday? Haha. You must be used to it by now. How long have you been doing it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago