History doesn’t remember the Blood, it remembers the Names

25 87

Date: 13th May, 2022. Friday

Can anyone tell me, how many people were dead in Aztecs civilization? How many Red Indian people's name do you know? Ok, at least tell me the name of the cook of King Robert Bruce. Can anyone? I don’t think so. Even I don’t know. My knowledge is not that broad to remember those names or maybe history has forgotten to mention them to us. We remembered the names, don't we? But only the necessary ones. Ever think about the bloody battles that happened from millions of years and now we only know the names of some people, just a few people.

It’s Friday and I'm not that good at this moment. Yes, I'm in sick bed. Doctor came yesterday and advised me not to move around here and there. Now I'm not that type of person who stay at one place and remain calm. No, I cannot do that. It feels awkward. I need to move out but today I have no way as my mom is there for me and there is no way to move out ignoring her red eyes. So I had decided to stay at bed while checking my phone. The first thing that came to my mind was watching movies but my mood denied. I was choosing the genres of the movies like action, drama, romantic, science fiction, political drama, comedy etc. A genre was there, historical. Then my mind says, how about researching historical fights over the decades? I felt that tickling around my mind. I just found my way to survive in this Friday lockdown at bed. Come on.

source: unsplash.com

So I had spent enough time while marching towards from one history to another one and gained some knowledge. Then I set up my own theory about it. I can explain this feelings with one specific line which will state like this way, History doesn’t remember the blood, it remembers the names. This makes a sense. In this planet earth, we are now in the year 2022. It was counted from a specific time but what about the ages which we forgot? We remember them as the numbers adding B.C. in the end. Human civilizations are too old. We are now living in the modern era but it didn’t happen in a day. We upgraded ourselves gradually. From the cave days to modern technology days, we have come a long way. But is it that simple as we are narrating it? The answer is no.

Human civilizations have upgraded themselves to a new era everytime with a revolution. Yes, that's true. Each and every revolution changed the history of this world. For an example, now May 1st is observed as 'May Day' to commemorate the supreme sacrifices of the martyrs of labourers union who demanded rightful things. They shed blood and we got the historical day which not only signifies the sacrifice but also changed the history. That revolution forced the history to recreate something new in human civilizations. We achieved 8hours working day with some other facilities. That revolution of 1886 is remembered by it’s name and reason. History remembered those names.

Not only that, if we judge, research or read the history, we will witness that history was always created with revolution, successful or non successful but it was written with blood. The ongoing Ukraine-Russia war will be inducted in the history. I don’t know what will be the outcome of this war but we all know that the history is changing and it's writing it the blood of innocent people. After 100 years or more, it will be included in the historical chapter. Some students will write thesis on it, they will be honoured with Ph.d or what but history will be remembered by the names connected with it. No one will hear or know the names burried under it.

source: unsplash.com

In the end, we all feel wonderful and even motivated with the heroism of a king, a prince, an emperor or a great leader but how many of us feel that we are talking about a journey which roads were wet and the colour was red? We really don't care, right? Because we only remember the names. History never writes the value of blood.

Pictures from unsplash.com

Thanks for being with me.

©Lucifer01

39
$ 8.48
$ 7.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Esp130
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 33
Sponsors of Lucifer01
empty
empty
empty

Comments

History is such a great thing, studying it could give us answers to the questions we have in mind. It's a wonder that we have been experiencing the good things brought to us through the experiences of certain people in the history of the world.

Hope you are doing well now, my friend. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm better now. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you are feeling better by now my friend?

hmm history remembers names. My my .. when I was younger I love remembering the names that graced our country's history. Not long after that young version of myself starts forgetting a lot .. i think history is traumatic.. ahhahahahaha

not all of course but I think we choose to remember the names of those who were most talked about with grandeur or extreme fear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely right dear. We only talk about them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am always familiar with the saying "history always repeats itself" just like the election here in Philippines, we have elected a president who came from a family that bought a lot of sufferings from the people. I just hope that the world would become beautiful..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard that too. Let's hope that he may uphold the honour of Philippines.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Speaking of history of mankind, there is only one that makes all people in the world, in the past, present and future to have our sins forgiven . By His sacrifice, shedding His precious blood , and death on the cross He was able to pay the penalty of our sins . He was able to reconcile us back to God. He is Jesus Christ, the Saviour of mankind .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, no one will remember the blood of those that died in it, they can only remember what caused it and a lot of families will be in mourning for losing their loved ones to the revolution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Lucifer, stay at bed and rest. I hope you get well soon. That's true unfortunately, history only remembers some names of all people who were in bloody battles. But never writes about the value of innocent people blood. I hope that the outcome of any war and revolution will not be the shedding of people's blood.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear. You always cared about me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone won't be remembered, only the popular and powerful ones from the history.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is another saying history always tells about the winners. History is also written by the winners.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that the effort and sacrifices are not remembered but the names of people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true. Only the most important names are remembered and celebrated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the sad part about historical writings. Only some elite gets to be remembered, while the rest remain as nothing but blood spilled for the cause

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true but to me, I think history only remembers the bloodshed during the crises but forgets the names of the people involved

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you, dear cousin. No one really remembers a slave or a soldier who did something bravely for the sake of his town or country but the leader. Hey, how are you doing? What are the findings?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you get well soon, and for sure history doesn't remember everything except the things that really matter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with your statement. Indeed, only the names are never forgotten. Sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I guess so. Only the King's and the leaders of the war were written even in the Bible. Only the golds that were lost but not the homes and lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A toxic reality. Red Indians were killed by an American king. America was not discovered it was occupied. They killed thousands of innocent people with swords and victims did Know how to use a sword.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have numerous significant events in the history and only few people are rememberer each event. However, we may forget them, but the heroism and invention they made will always remain in human history.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Almighty knows everything. One day the whole world will forget us too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true no one remembers the honourable killing during these wars

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the bad side of it. History only remembers the selected name.

$ 0.00
1 year ago