The responsibilities of being the firstborn child

29 52
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

February 16, 2022

Hello everyone, I've been not so active yesterday on both platforms but I'm productive on my school works. I finish answering all the units on module 1 and now I'm on module 2 unit 4 already.

I wake up early as usual, and when my baby sleeps again I am not already sleepy so I spend this morning visiting my noise and reading and commenting on articles here. I have so many articles to read in my notifications, need to clear it again.


How many siblings do you have? What is your birth order among your siblings?

Before, when people asked me my birth order among my siblings I always answered them I am the first child, well this is partly true since on my mother's side we are three siblings and I am the oldest but when you include the siblings I have on my father's first wife I become in the middle or third child since I have two older half-sisters. Why did I answer before that I am the first child? Because I didn't grow up with them, since they are in the province and I am only four years old when we moved here to Manila. But things changed when my mother died, my older sister went here to take care of us, we're close even though we don't have the same mother since my mother treated them well and loved them before. Our neighbours, as well as my friend, are shocked when they saw her and know that she was my older sister, they thought I'm the first child.

But still, I considered myself as the first child to my two younger sisters, pureblood related sisters wherein we have the same mom and dad.

When I was young, I didn't know the big responsibilities that I will be going to face now, I'm into playing games with my friends but when I grew up things changed and I realized how important my role is.

They are my whole sisters, they are such young girls before but now they have all grown up. Second to me is turning 16 years old next month and the youngest is 12 years old. We all look young here haha.

Look, my sister will going to be taller than me. She's the one I mentioned before who loves cats and didn't want to go outside, she prefers to stay home and her friends just visit her in the house. She is also a very shy girl and doesn't want to upload her pretty selfies on her FB haha. Before a barely talk with us but now we're very close. Well, she and our youngest sometimes fight. They are like cats and dogs. She's active at their church now with her friends.

And this is our youngest, she's a bit maldita but now that she's growing I can say that she's becoming a kind girl. Unlike her ate, she loves going outside and playing with her friends but now she can't go outside because of pandemics.

Being a firstborn child...

It isn't easy.

You need to be strong for them. When our mother died, I think I failed this one because they saw me break down even though I tried to be strong in front of them. I still comfort them, they are so young when our mother died. Aside from my father, I should give make them strong too. I promise my mother to take care of them and give them a good life.

You need to be a role model. In everything I did in school I make sure I do my best. I always make sure not to have failing grades and study hard so that my sisters will influence me to study hard also, I need to serve as their inspiration. I make sure also that I am acting right and have good manners.

You need to make sure they will have a good future. Since I am the firstborn child, I need to study hard and finish college so that I will have good work. By this, I can give them a better future. Although, I am exhausted and stressed in doing school works, quitting never crossed my mind. I always think that I am the firstborn child so I can't afford to stop.

You need to make sure they do good in their studies. This one is hard especially I am also a student and have tasks to accomplish but I don't want them to have failing grades so I check them out. And these few days, I received a message from my youngest sister's teachers saying she has pending modules a lot. I told her to do her pending activities and I also help her answer. Sometimes I am the one who attends her class in the messenger since they wake up late hays. Our father doesn't know about what's their status in their studies so I am the one who's stressed out so much when they have blank grades and I am the one coordinating with their teachers on what are the things they need to have grades. Good thing their teachers are kind and just required them to pass their missing modules.

You need to make sure they are in good condition. Even though I am not living with them I always make sure they have good to eat or if they need something, I messaged them always.


Those are some of the responsibilities of being a firstborn child. It isn't easy but you need to do it for the sake of your siblings because you want to give them a better future. It doesn't matter if I have my own family now, my responsibilities to them won't change. When I graduate soon and find a job, I'll help my father send them to a good school. All I want is to give them a good life, I want them to achieve what they want in life.

And of course, I am not only doing these because it's my responsibility but because I love them and want them to be the best version of their lives.

To all firstborn children out there, fight and don't give up especially in life. Someday we will be able to see the fruits of the hardships we went through.

I salute all of you and I just want to say I'm proud of you!

12
$ 5.59
$ 5.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 6
Sponsors of Loveleng18
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Loveleng18
2 years ago

Comments

I admire your love and concern for your siblings. God bless you more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are what my elder sister is doing. She is the first born and trying to be a good role model to us. She is always strong and would always encourage us to do better in our academics. She will also make sure we are in a good condition. It isn´t easy being the first child among siblings. I pray that God help you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hats off sa lahat ng panganay nahandang isakripisyo ang lahat para sa pamilya. I am not the first born, pero parang ako yung panganay since I am the providing for the family. I can't blame my older sister since she already have her family. Laban lang sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Proud of you sis, atleast nakakatulong ka sa family mo. Ya fighting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the first born in my family, so my Mom depends on me with regards to our household. I'm in charge of the groceries, cooking and cleaning. And I run errands for my Mom, like buying her medicines and withdrawing her pension, and sending updated documents to where she is receiving her pension. Sometimes it's hard but I have to do those things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

relate ako dun sa pagiging first born, malaki kasi ang expectation sayo dahil nga sa panganay ka..

Nakakatuwa na close din kayosa half sisters nyo, maganda un ganun, happy family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, kaya nakakapressure din po. Opo close po kami hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow I can relate with you Sis as I'm the first born child from my father's side. The pressure and responsibilities the first born child gets is totally unimaginable but I can say I'm lucky enough as I got a little sister who always diminish my burdens and responsibilities by doing most of my work. You're really a great sister and role model so your siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow glad that you're little sister is helping you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being the eldest daughter or aon, there is so much expectation on that because you're being bombarded with responsibilities especially taking care of your younger sister. Just keep strong and everything will be okay. I appreciate you for being responsible to your siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really salute all the first born because I know they really feel the pressure of everywhere they were willing to do their best just for the goodness of their sibling. That was I feel with my brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman sis hirap as only child, yu g responsibilities kjnakain ako araw-araw. Jusko gusto kong umiyak nalang kapag gamon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap din nga yung only child lang wala kang katulong o mapag sasabihan ng mga gusto mo o problem mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko narin sumuko sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So from your mother's side you are the firstborn, and I am glad the way you are a role model for your two sisters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's correct farah :) thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate. Not easy, sometimes toxic. But that's life.. No choice but to lift the burdens lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really don't have a choice ate. Kaya lang hoping it's worth it someday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate Langga. If you are a first born child, you need to be strong and be a role model to them. I am the oldest sis that's why I need to show them being a strong person. I want them to be motivated and inspired because if you them that you are weak they will be affected too.

I love your pictures with your sisters langga. You're so sweet. 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fighting ate hehe. Thank you po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Langga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great sis. While taking care of them always remember to take it easy on you. Don't be too hard of yourself and don't put too much pressure on yourself. Look after them because you love them, not because you felt obliged because you are the eldest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po. But sometimes the pressure is there when I think too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a firstborn hold lots of responsibilities at home, being first born yoy are required to help the family and your siblings, your like a bread winner of the family. I'm glad that I'm the youngest but it's hard since I'm the one who do lots of task isndiw the house and it's understandable for me cause we are only three inside the house and they are doing their own work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you need to be a breadwinner. Well, if you company in your house are all working you really don't have a choice hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first child and the only child, these duo actually know the pressures of family. This is high responsible duty work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's correct uncle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago