Throwback : School Flag Ceremony

19 60
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

My father told me about a funny experience he had at flag ceremony when he was in elementary. According to his story, he together and his two friends are in the line when one of their terror teachers went to the flag pole to make an announcements. One of his friend is having a good time impersonating the teacher while having some announcements. My father and his other friend can't stop themselves until they burst out laughing. Everyone is staring at them, and in the end, the teacher punished them to stay in the field, in the heat of the sun until dismissal.

Unsplash - by Austin Pacheco

Having naughty friends can sometimes be dangerous, but it can also lead to hilarious and unforgettable moments.

By doing so, I'd like to share four of my favorite memories from my elementary days: the school flag ceremony.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my generous sponsors. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Unforgettable Moments During Flag Ceremony

Image source : https://images.app.goo.gl/odEM39j3dSS3S8cc9
  1. Late Comers

Although I tried my best not to be late at school, there are still instances that I arrived late. Our prefect of discipline command every late commers to pick up some plastics before entering the gate, so I did. When we entered the campus we need to pull out grasses while the flag ceremony is on going.

I was late one day, but luckily I had one of my bestfriends with me. But before that, my father scolded my younger brother, which caused him to cry until we arrived at school. I can't hold back my tears any longer, and it burst out while I'm pulling out the grasses. They are asking what happened to me, and I remember telling them "I feel so pity to my younger brother, for sure he is crying in his classroom." Lol! But because my younger brother was a cry baby at the time, it became our daily scenario.

This is a punishment, but we do it with enjoyment. There are some scouts, who keep an eye on us while we are pulling out grasses. The students who collected a lot of grasses may return to the classroom. It became a competition for us, we even stole other groups' grasses, as they are also doing the same to ours. Then sometimes it leads to a real fight.

  1. Morning Exercise

This is the most anticipated part of the ceremony for all of us. The songs It's Raining Men by The Weather Girls and 5, 6, 7, 8 by Steps were used. This is the only question from our teacher to which we can respond, "One more!" There are various types of dancers.

We have the shy type, which are mostly the boys in our batch; I'm not sure why they act so shy while dancing when they are so active inside the classroom; and the arisgada, these are the dancerists of all. To push their best like they are competing with other sections.

What type I am? It depends on my mood

  1. Flag Ceremony Leaders

Our section was tasked with leading the flag ceremony that day. As officers in the classroom, we are expected to represent our section. Imagine singing "Ako ay Pilipino" in front of teachers and students from Kindergarten to Grade 6. Because the song was sung in slow motion, the two minutes felt like an hour to me. By the way, I'm not very good at singing, but as a primary student, all you can say is "yes Ma'am."

  1. Announcement

We have these announcements where we can say "yeehey!" Of course, this is the one where the announcement is all about upcoming activities or accomplishments at our school. While we can say "tama na Ma'am" when the announcement is taking too long, especially when it's the principal scolding us. This become worst when you are late, carrying heavy bags full of books while forcing yourself to stand straight.

________________________

Word of the day

Arisgada - the term we used to call a person who are willing to prove what he/she got.

Lead image was edited using Canva

****

How was your day lovely readers?

I suppose to make some article about Manny Pacquiao's pride for the Philippines, but after the fight and felt sad about the result. And now my minds are blank. Lol! But still I'm so proud of him just like most Filipinos.

I do hope everyone having a good day.

Stay safe and GOD Bless!

August 22, 2021

-Ling

7
$ 2.26
$ 1.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Teka naalala ko nung elementary ako na late ako tapus pinagbunot kami ng damo haha halos ilang piraso lang nabunot ko nun naka pasok na ako haha suwerte ko

Tas ngayong highschool naman na late ako haha pina flag ceremony kami ulit na mga late 😂 pero ang flag ceremony lang namin is monday at namalasan nung monday ako na late jusme.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naiimagine ko situation mo, sobrang awkward lalo na pag sapilitan ang pag lead e. Minsan pa utakan lang din para makalusot agad. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman sure ako nasa late comers ako na belong haha! Kahit nasa tapat lang talaga bahay namin sa skwelahan.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Isa sa best friend ko Sis, always late kahit sya may pinakamalapit na bahay sa amin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung morning exercise iniiwasan ko nun eh 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Excited kami dito, pangbawas time sa first class XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember now what we happened if we were late. I guess we paid a fine or probably clean something. Sometimes I am too late because by then the flag ceremony is over lol! I have led the flag ceremony a few times too.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My teacher that time also implement giving fine, and it was so helpful, more savings for class. Lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan nà ganyan din kami nun sis. Lalo na pag late.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Public schools madalas ganito Sis:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

totoo yan sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Npaisip tuloy ako sa hs days ko. I am one of the late comers too! Lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Boys talaga madalas late comers e:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasi matagal matulog eh. Nag aaral pa tuwing gabi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just reminded me my school days. Wow!!! Those days were the best days of our lives. Thanks dear.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to ask Arisgada and then the meaning you gave in the end na pala. Sino nanalo sa grass pulling?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes Sis:D Syempre, me and my friendship, di magpapatalo hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, competitive pala sis ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago