Surrealism : Dream and Reality as One

16 145
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Have you ever heard the word surreal? If not, surreal is about being beyond reality or more than reality. In the old times, they have this expression of saying "That's surreal!", everytime they saw an unbelievable things; those things you might think that only exist in our dream world.

Surrealism, on the other hand, is the literary movement founded by Andre Breton, he formed the group of surrealist which their goal is to "to create something bizarre and disjointed, but somehow understandable".

KAZoART | Salvador Dali and Surrealism - The KAZoART Contemporary Art Blog

I want to share you this one, painting by Salvador Dali, one of the famous surrealist artist. Maybe you're familiar with him, the man with on fleek mustache. As you can see, he have here those melting clocks, also looks like a melted crescent moon with eyelashes and those big ants on the lower left side.

________________________

This surrealism is one of my most favorite trend such as the Magic Realism(I'll explain this soon too). Why? Because this talks about the dream and reality being connected as one, and other two matters which are contradict to each other, but in the surrealism it became one. In short, we are going to make our dream real.

Surrealism doesn't follow a single form or method, it has it's own set of characteristics which can help you to determine and understand what surrealism is;

Automatism

This is a technique of doing without thinking (I also mentioned this before). During the time of Andre Breton World War 1 happened, he was sent as a medic and at that time he witnessed how everyone suffer from that war, even he himself. When the war finally ended, Andre Breton think about how they can start again after all those problems, trauma and depression that the war gave to them, until he form the surrealist group and use the automatism technique.

Automatism is so easy that everyone can be an artist and writer on their own. In the form of art, automatism can be use by showing what comes into your mind the moment you hold your tools through painting or drawing. To make this clear, I will give an example; Scenario 1, you are a painter and you are going to make an art using the common style we prefer, the beautiful and perfect art, so you will make a flower, green leaves, butterfly on the side, and lastly mountain and trees at the back. Your viewer will understand that your art is all about the beauty of nature, and every subject on it are connected to each other. Scenario 2, you are a painter and you are going to use the automatism technique, the moment you hold your brush, you immediately think about a flower, while making the flower it comes to your mind to draw a hand, so instead of leaves you have those hands, then again your mind think about putting spaceship at the back, so you add it, then another burning whale at the right side of the back. At the end, your viewers will get confused on what's your drawing about, but it's not about them, but your work on how your mind create while on the process of painting.

Poetic

In writing, they follow poetic style in a way that the writer doesn't follow a structural elements of the plot; exposition, rising action, climax, falling action and Denouement. They also use imagery, those idiomatic expressions, to explain what's happening in the story, and other abstract ideas. It may not like the fictional poem which is written in lines and stanza but they interpret the story through figurative language.


Let me end the topic for todays video, I'll update the next part on the next day:)


Happy new month to everyone? How was your June and the first day of July?

As usual I'm so busy, and pardon me once again if I wasn't able to visit articles. I wish everyone a happy month of July, more blessings and earnings to come, especially to my avid viewers, likers, upvotes and commenters. Let's keep on writing!

________________________

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

My appreciation to all by subscribers, likers, upvoters and commenters. May God Bless you all! 

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

July 1, 2022

-Ling

19
$ 3.21
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @OurKitchen
$ 0.15 from @beyourself
+ 15
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sometimes, when I start to draw, I have an image in my mind... but the moment touches the paper... my hand seem to have different idea and would draw the image in a different way...

I love the concept of surealism though. Thanks for explaining what it means... I think I'd love to explore that avenue...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate authors that apply surrealism in their work. It makes their write-up beautiful. I also like the suspense that comes with it. They withhold the readers interests in the story.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for introducing the word surrealism. I can connect it with my consciousness which is also abstract. Automatism, as you write, is an easy-to-adopt way of creating any real or fictitious thing. My inner mind likes to be poetic but can somehow write prose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meaningful artwork! I love paintings, and I would also love to make my own qork, however in sad reality, I am not in favor of painting.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sis in surrealism you don't need to make your work beautiful and perfect. When you apply automatism, then just draw/paint what you want:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this Salvador Dali painting is surreal! Automatism in blogging can be likened to the Free Writing method where the writer grabs his pen and jots down whatever comes into his mind without thinking over it. By so doing, anyone can learn writing even if the person is not a writer by profession. Andre Breton must be a genius for adopting the Automatism technique meaning that anyone who experienced the war could be able to put his/her experience into art without thinking. Thanks a lot LingO1.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yey! I love your comment, seems like you found surrealism an interesting one:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

difficult to understand but can be felt, a mix of the real thing and maybe the imagination of a dream.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

In terms of art, surrealism is really difficult to understand, because it's up to the artist. While in terms of literature, I love to read it, although it's confusing at first:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this Salvador Dali painting. As you said, this painting is painted in the style of surrealism, and it is a very meaningful artwork. I think with automatism technique everyone can say their feeling easily in their paintings and poems...

$ 0.05
1 year ago

True Sis, you can even just draw random shapes and line, it's up to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this sis. May natutunan na naman akong bago sa article mo. Parang familiar ko to sis kaso parang nakalimutan ko na.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Natutunan ko to sa literature subject namin before Sis, baka dun din sa iyo:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka sis. Di ko na maalala sis. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Automatism, I want to be one. I think I could be one because once I started drawing or painting, there are lots of things that are in my mind and I just put it on my painting.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

I love drawing and painting too Sis, but I'm not into automatism technique for now, but soon I'll try it in new sketchbook :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago